Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Ive tried bugal on several occasions. I try all my rum straight. This is not a rum I’d ever consume meat or on the rocks. Very hot ethanol forward. Ok in a cocktail but for cocktails I’d either choose a great rum or use a Bacardi white or gold.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Nothing outstanding but nothing objectionable either, just a decent solid inexpensive rum. Used to be able to find it for less than $15 but seems to have crept up closer to $20.

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

This has a woody-earthy taste that wasn't bad but not for me. Will try this in mixed drinks but on its own (neat, neat with water, with ice) this was a disappointment after enjoying Brugal Expecial Extra Dry and reading ratings of this from others. Thus far, liked it best on ice.

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

This is a decent rum. A good mixer. Something to put out when company visits and you want to hold back on the good stuff.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ryan from Canada with 1 rating

This is probably one of the best priced rums around for it's great taste. It's smooth and has an nice earthy taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

sweet sugary rum ok for mixing with coke,wouldn't drink on its own though.

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

This is very nicely placed rum. Nice enough to drink neat. Cheap enough to mix for friends.

Nose: I had this on the rocks so the nose was subdued, however there was some sweetness to it.
Feel: Very accessible. No nasty burn.
Taste: Very basic (probably the only major downfall) of caramel and cracked black pepper.
Presentation: They have updated the bottle slightly in Canada however thankfully they have kept the net stocking.
Price: 28 CAD. Worth it.

I would have liked a little more complexity in the flavour but for the price point I don't think it has many competitors.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Dnes si představíme základní rum firmy Brugal, který je vyrobený z rumů starých 2-5 let a pochází z Dominikánské republiky. Patří mezi nejlevnější Karibské rumy, v Německu jsem ho pořídil za 14 €.
Alkohol: 38 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Čokoláda, karamel a trochu těkavosti ředidla, což asi zní divně a odpudivě, ale vůně je to veskrze příjemná, jen, vzhledem ke svému mládí pochopitelně, neuhlazená až trochu drsná, ale v mezích slušnosti. (83 b)
Chuť: Žádná uhlazenost, snad jen první 2 vteřiny na jazyku se zdá jemný, ale pak se jeho nevyzrálost projeví lehkým škrábáním na patře. Trochu do čokolády a kůže. (75 b)
Shrnutí: Asi nejlevnější rum z Karibiku, který jsem kdy koupil, a na běžné popíjení není špatný. Víc mi tedy voní než chutná, ale vzhledem k ceně to je odpovídající. S ohledem na poměr výkon/cena mohu doporučit k vyzkoušení. Určitě mnohem lepší volba než středoevropská "rumová" produkce.
Body: 79

Posted over 5 years ago by Thijs Vrijburg from Netherlands with 17 ratings

gedronken op de dominicaanse republiek smaakt goed

Posted over 5 years ago by Jeroen from NL with 14 ratings

Afdronk mwoa... Liever een Captain of Havana...kan niet tippen aan matusalem

Posted almost 6 years ago by Leslie1710 from Germany with 13 ratings

Mein Lieblings Alltags-Rum. Passt zu jeder Kombination und jeder Gelegenheit.
Weich und unaufdringlich verfeinert er jeden Cocktail. Immer wieder eine gute Wahl.

Posted about 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Not to my taste, almost a dry flavour that makes it unpleasant to drink straight. Maybe better with a sweet mixer.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

It´s a budget mixer, and mixes ok, but there are better options.

Posted about 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Not bad but not really worth drinking on it's own either.

Posted about 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Very good quality for it's price. This Brugal can be seen as an entry point to the world of Carribean rums, with a rich gold color and gentle taste. Goes very well with cola.

Posted about 6 years ago by Andrew Bushe from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Picked up a bottle of this from the local supermarket amongst the usuals, Cpt Morgans, Lambs etc.

For a rum from a supermarket I was quite impressed and good value for £20.00, though if you're looking for a decent sipping rum at this price then English Harbour 5 Year is a better choice.

Best enjoyed with a couple of bits of ice

Posted over 6 years ago by Gerry from Switzerland with 15 ratings

a litel bit to strong for me, but a great Rum

Posted over 6 years ago by Jan-Helge Bergesen from Norway with 10 ratings

OK in a pinch, but it's not going to be a regular in the closet though

Posted over 6 years ago by Kevin from United States with 18 ratings

The Brugal basic. This is really good with coke and a light squeeze of lime. On ot's own you will want it on the rocks. Very woosy character to it with not much else.

Posted about 7 years ago by Sly from Canada with 44 ratings

Not sweet compared to older rum but great for cuba libre

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice smooth rum

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Excellent rum when you factor the price in. Definitely sippable - smooth and sweetish. Has a smoky note that reminds you it's Dominican but it doesn't overpower the rum like Havana Club or Matusalem. When you can get this for about $20 in the US and $15 in Puerto Rico, it makes it quite a nice purchase.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I like this straight pretty well, but try the Jolly Roger for a nice mix. Mix 1 part Anejo, 1 part Banana liqeuer, and 2 parts lemon juice.

Posted over 7 years ago by Ania Be from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

very easygoing mixing rum, sweet and light in flavour.

Posted over 7 years ago by Richard Battin from United States with 3 ratings

Good on the rocks or with tonic