Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Dnes si představíme základní rum firmy Brugal, který je vyrobený z rumů starých 2-5 let a pochází z Dominikánské republiky. Patří mezi nejlevnější Karibské rumy, v Německu jsem ho pořídil za 14 €.
Alkohol: 38 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Čokoláda, karamel a trochu těkavosti ředidla, což asi zní divně a odpudivě, ale vůně je to veskrze příjemná, jen, vzhledem ke svému mládí pochopitelně, neuhlazená až trochu drsná, ale v mezích slušnosti. (83 b)
Chuť: Žádná uhlazenost, snad jen první 2 vteřiny na jazyku se zdá jemný, ale pak se jeho nevyzrálost projeví lehkým škrábáním na patře. Trochu do čokolády a kůže. (75 b)
Shrnutí: Asi nejlevnější rum z Karibiku, který jsem kdy koupil, a na běžné popíjení není špatný. Víc mi tedy voní než chutná, ale vzhledem k ceně to je odpovídající. S ohledem na poměr výkon/cena mohu doporučit k vyzkoušení. Určitě mnohem lepší volba než středoevropská "rumová" produkce.
Body: 79

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

commentaire a venir

Posted over 4 years ago by Alex from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Your review – you could include things like color, aroma, body, taste, finish, spice, smoothness… really anything you want! You can also share an optional picture of the drink (or better still - you enjoying it!) by attaching a photo below.

Posted over 4 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Parfait en Cuba libre, sur une plage, devant le soleil couchant !

Posted over 4 years ago by Jelle from Belgium with 3 ratings

Not my favorite but it will do if there's nothing more decent to drink.

Posted over 4 years ago by brandon from Greece with 6 ratings

It tastes like shit.Even with Cola is terrible.Drink another rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This is best tohether with Coke! if is used for spping I suggest to let it brief for at least 15 minutes, it becomes better then.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This rum has a distinct woodiness to its aroma in the bottle. I came to that conclusion before reading the label and discovering it to have been aged in oak casks. Upon further research I discovered the oak barrels used to contain bourbon. That explains not only the aroma but also its mellowness. This is a fine sipping rum with bare hints of sweetness and a complex flavor that does remind me of Kentucky bourbon. Some may prefer this as a sipping rum but IMHO it's best in cola.

One point...fishnets on a woman...sexy. Fishnets on a bottle of rum....weird. :-)

Posted over 4 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Immanquable et classique. Reste meilleur melangé ou sur glace.

Posted over 4 years ago by Danny from Belgium with 18 ratings

Agréable à souhait. Se laisse déguster sec ou avec glace.

Posted over 4 years ago by Richard from Canada with 9 ratings

I'm not sure if I've ever had a Dominican rum before, but the first impression is very favourable. The exact lable isn't the same as those shown, what I bought is Brugal Anejo Superior.

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Not sweet, strong alcoholic smell. Therefore better with cola

Posted over 4 years ago by Andrea D'DeRum from Italy with 10 ratings

Beh... è un Brugal giovane, che c'é da aspettarsi?
Secco.
Alcolico.
Forte.
Bruciante (per i non allenati).
Rum non proprio da degustare. Senza segreti. Da "shot".
E questo, a mio avviso, è il suo punto forte: la semplicità.
Quando si ha voglia di bere qualcosa di diretto, senza viaggi mentali, solo uno schiaffone che ti svegli e ti faccia tornar "Uomo"...... Brugal.
Rum sincero.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

Low on the sweetness scale. So low it almost doesn't taste like a rum. The best way I can describe the taste is dry. Like a Riesling.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Super Rum für Mixgetränke und für Cuba libre. Sollte man immer im Haus haben

Posted over 4 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

I like woody and dark profile of taste. This is serious rum with high leathery accents. It is strong and rich in flavour but not too harsh in mouth. Good value for nice price.

Posted almost 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

Basic fruity cocktail rum, strong chemical/alcohol smell & taste. You might as well be drinking cheap vodka

Posted almost 5 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

Bottle at BCLCB is slightly different shape and is labeled Superior.
Nice dark amber colour, okey flavour, on sweet side. I enjoy it neat but adds a great deal to a Hurricane as well

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 7 gpl. A middle of the road rum. Strong oak taste tempered with a bit of caramel, and is probably in the 5 grams per litre mark for sugar, which I would class as a dry rum. Works well as a cocktail rum, but not so good as a sipping rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Tastes of strong Oak (which I really like!) extremely good in diet coke, very woodsy.
A step up from appleton estate v/x rum and around similar prices so get this one! Smells very similar to Ron Abuelo Anejo. I enjoy this one.

Posted about 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

In Germany this brand is pushing more and more into normal supermarkets, sold for a similar price range, like Bacardi and Havanna white or 3yo. In this price range it is probably the best u can get. It is surprisingly smooth for around 10 € and better than Brugal white, which is sold for the same price too.

Posted about 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 10 ratings

This is a great rum for mixed drinks . Not bad on it own

Posted about 5 years ago by Rumguru from Switzerland with 10 ratings

I'm not a guy who likes to drink rum with cola, but you can't drink brugal añejo in a different way. this rum is good for a college party where the main goal is to get drunk.

Posted over 5 years ago by Marax from Netherlands with 41 ratings

The Brugal basic. This is really good with coke. On it's own you will want it on the rocks. Very medium taste

Posted over 5 years ago by Ksilver from Canada with 14 ratings

I tried this straight and was very disappointment with the taste and smoothness.

Other than the initial alcohol burn I couldn't really put my finger on any particular flavour. May be useful as a mixer, but certainly not worth drinking straight.