Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Ive tried bugal on several occasions. I try all my rum straight. This is not a rum I’d ever consume meat or on the rocks. Very hot ethanol forward. Ok in a cocktail but for cocktails I’d either choose a great rum or use a Bacardi white or gold.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Had this on holiday enjoyable but a little weak next time will have it straight

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

This rum is noticeably dryer and smooth. Different than what I am used to and I wouldn't necessarily call it a sipper but it's great w a splash of cola or ginger ale to add a little sweetness. I can't describe anything bad about it other than i wish it had some more sweeteness. Good smooth stuff overall. Got a liter for 27 bucks in north NJ can't complain ;) Cheers
Year later update: I've grown to love this stuff for it's easy drinkabilty. I loved a bottle of 1888 I tried and soon after realized how good the anejo was with ice or just a little added water. The rum is slightly sweet and has a little added sugar. The Brugal flavor is unique and tastes like vanilla tropical rainforest dew, however it’s one dimensional/not a complex rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

In the Chicago area I'm buying this stuff at just over $19 a bottle. I've been sipping it with just a few DROPS of water. For the price I find it an excellent value rum. I'm a bit surprised by my fellow raters to dee it cast as mediocre; again it is a value for me. The flavors won't knock your socks off, but it is smooth enough to sip.

Posted about 4 years ago by Bernie from Germany with 28 ratings

Brugal Añejo ist meines Erachtens der beste Rum für Mixgetränke. Eine Cuba-Libre schmeckt mit dem Añejo immer noch am besten

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

...because when it comes to rum it doesn't mean a darn thing! I've had rums under the "Anejo" banner that taste like gasoline and while this one is somewhat drinkable it takes $40 a bottle to get there. And, its still nothing great. It's just another Anejo and Coke waiting to happen.

Posted about 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Bit disappointed really after I'd read up on the Brugal brand.. A little harsh but it's a little immature too. Probably not the best Brugal offering but as a mixer on a night out it is recommended. Easy to live with on a night away from home. Not so sweet or strong so lasts the night out without getting you hammered. I won't search this variety again but equally if poured my way I'm happy to accept.

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement.............................

Posted about 4 years ago by Pete from United States with 13 ratings

I gave this an 7 because of the price point. I think it drinks well on the rocks and I really enjoy the overall flavor. It's just a tasty daily drinking Caribbean rum overall.

Posted about 4 years ago by cibalko from Slovakia with 13 ratings

This is definitely not a sipper for me. Typical caribbean flavours, nothing special. Little bit smoky, but too harsh for me. Also burn is rather strong. Good for mixing with drinks and coke.

Posted about 4 years ago by David from Spain with 14 ratings

It is smooth, easy to drink and really is an equilibrated rum. Nothing special about it, but still a good way to introduce yourself into rums.

Posted about 4 years ago by John Smith from Canada with 37 ratings

Realy good taste. You should try it. Don't suit everyone but I like it.

Posted about 4 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

The original bottle and nothing special inside with caramel flavor. It burns the palate, although only 76 proof. The second bottle will not buy.

Posted about 4 years ago by Maweis from Spain with 26 ratings

Solo para mezclar con refrescos, casi llega al aprobado, fuerte concentracion etilica, oculta el verdadero sabor a ron

Posted over 4 years ago by ThisLilyPetal from Canada with 11 ratings

I got this for free while on a trip to the Dominican Republic. Very harsh -- it required about 6 oz of coke before I could drink it. Had flavours of licorice that I am not a fan of. If the goal was to simply get drunk and there was nothing else to drink, then I could do it (with coke!) but otherwise, I would not buy this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Johnnys Bar from Germany with 32 ratings

Im Cuba Libre immer eine gute Wahl. Nicht zu aufdringlich aber in der Cola präsent genug.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

El color ámbar confunde. Esperaba más. Olor, sabor predomina el alcohol

Posted over 4 years ago by Etienne Malenfant from Canada with 14 ratings

Just okay. I received it as a gift in a trip in Dominican Republic. So, it's good for cola and to be mix but not more. It's bottom of the range !

Posted over 4 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

This one here really split my decisions as my preference towards this will whole heartedly be based on price. Often found cheaper than the HC7, this one competes directly against that in quality and flavour just with a slight harsher note of caramel.

Definitely worth trying as its a great dark/gold for the price but if you plan to use it for mixers ther are better options. As far as relatively 'basic' rums go, I would choose the HC7 every time over this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Classic Dominic rum for mixing drinks. Taste great with Coke.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Nothing special but very round and easy drinking
No overpowering sweetness nor alcohol.
Light attack and round spicy finish.

Pleasantly surprised !

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Great as a shot rum but pretty poor at all other aspects....

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

usually if you see any liquor from latin americas with the wording 'anejo', you would associate it with some lengthy aging sufficient to smooth out the edges of the character... but not so much in this case. or i may have had higher expectations due to the labeling...

anyways, not too shabby but there are so many other better rums at similar price points.

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

For mixing only. Nothing special for me . Average.

Posted over 4 years ago by ArteSuave from Netherlands with 20 ratings

Just your average mixing rum, nothing more nothing less