Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Ive tried bugal on several occasions. I try all my rum straight. This is not a rum I’d ever consume meat or on the rocks. Very hot ethanol forward. Ok in a cocktail but for cocktails I’d either choose a great rum or use a Bacardi white or gold.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a decent light caramel scent, although there was also a faint chemically smell to it as well. It has a gorgeous golden colour with a nice red tinge... Sipping it revealed a harsh chemical burn, absent of flavour... I tried it with coconut water... It had a slight nutty/woody taste. OK to drink once I added Coke Life to the mix, but over all was very disappointing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

Correct rum, not to much sweet or Tasty. Good for mixing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This is without question the absolute worst rum that I have ever tried. It smells like rubbing alcohol mixed with caramel and tastes even worse. Nothing can be done to improve it. I guess that I will keep the rest of the bottle handy for neighbors who like to mooch booze from me every now and then. What they don't know won't hurt me. I would not even use this crap as cleaning fluid.

Update two weeks later: I gave the entire bottle to my most mooching neighbor and even warned her about the smell and taste. When I told her that I paid about $22 with tax, she looked at the fancy bottle and thought that I was being extremely generous. A week later, I asked how she liked it and she said that it took her five days to finish off the bottle with coke and ice. She only drinks to calm her nerves. She noted no foul smell and tastes at all. I feel so very fortunate to have been born with finely tuned taste buds unlike hers. I then asked about side effects. What she described best fits the name of a drink that another friend who knows all about fine spirits came up with: the Colonic Tonic!

This rum by far is the absolute worst that I have ever had, maybe even making anything made by Bacardi or Captain Morgan as something to be savored. Maybe I got a very bad bottle, but never again for Brugal and I.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rachel from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Great mixer rum. Not one for sipping. Faint vanilla taste which works well with coke and in cocktails.

Posted over 2 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

The fewer words the better . This Rum reminds me of petroleum. I drank it neat with a splash and I almost gave up drinking rum. I place this and Bacardi on the very bottom of my list. No more please!

Posted over 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Pokud se na tento rum podíváme za jakou cenu se dá pořídit. Musím uznat, ze se dá pít. Spíše bych ho viděl jako výrazný doplněk míchaného drinku. Každý levnejší rum se potřebuje po otevření vydýchat. Když to vydržíte, pijete ho na víc krát zjemní, ale pálené dubové sudy zůstanou.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I bought the half gallon (1.75ml) for $22.99 last week because why not. This is a product that has been on my to drink list for some time now and at that deal I thought what the heck. I wouldn't bother sipping this one because it doesn't have much to offer and is very very very simple. For this price and quality you should throw it in a cocktail that dosn't hold a lot of added flavor and let this drink just come to life. Something like a Brugal martini, or with some club soda.

Posted over 2 years ago by Eusebio De Moya from Dominican Republic with 4 ratings

This si one of my favorite rum in my state because is swet to drink and easy to mix

Posted over 2 years ago by Passie from Netherlands with 46 ratings

Tried it with coke, taste and smell is sharper but interesting smooth in the mix.

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un buen ron para disfrutarlo con un coca cola y hielo!
Siempre una buena elección que no defrauda.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 50 ratings

Not expensive, nothing special, just a decent rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Brugal XV, Dry Spiced, Extra Viejo and Anejo back-to-back and I have to say they are all quite horrendous. The XV and Dry Spiced have a nice dark color, whereas the Extra Viejo and Anejo are quite weak on color. The Anejo has a super strong alcohol smell, taste and burn to it. The worst of these Brugal so-called-rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by Frank from United States with 18 ratings

It makes a great mixer and I am a fan of Brugal rums, but this one is on their lower end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ronald from Netherlands with 18 ratings

It's just a straight up rum you can mix with a coke nothing more nothing less

Posted over 2 years ago by Captain Cinnamon from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Tasted surprisingly well, considering how cheap it was.

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 12 ratings

At this you definitely have to try it, the taste and smell is sharper but interesting. price 14 eur

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert edmunds from Canada with 2 ratings

Smooth sweet taste of the islands,easy to find in Canada. Good price

Posted over 2 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

nothing special, but solid, sweet, nice rum and cheap

Posted over 2 years ago by Jurgen from Netherlands with 7 ratings

This was my first ever. I liked it with coke, to sip i did not like it.

But it did get me interested in rum, so now i am looking to find a rum with more flavour and slight more sweetness.
Hope rumratings will help
Me discover that.

Regards from The Netherlands

Posted over 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

I'll give it 5 because its not the best tasting rum ever but I think is not that bad either, for the price its ok.

Posted over 2 years ago by Carl Howell from United States with 3 ratings

Brugal Anejo is on the sweet side with a medium body a great minerality to it that I like. I used it in a Rum punch and it was a big hit.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Sampled Brugal Anejo and found it quite boring as a sipper. Might be a good option for mixing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Philip from Canada with 22 ratings

cheap and good for mixing. nothing exceptional here.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 36 ratings

Good for the price. Smooth and flat, no real depth to it but it's really good cocktail base.