Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Dnes si představíme základní rum firmy Brugal, který je vyrobený z rumů starých 2-5 let a pochází z Dominikánské republiky. Patří mezi nejlevnější Karibské rumy, v Německu jsem ho pořídil za 14 €.
Alkohol: 38 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Čokoláda, karamel a trochu těkavosti ředidla, což asi zní divně a odpudivě, ale vůně je to veskrze příjemná, jen, vzhledem ke svému mládí pochopitelně, neuhlazená až trochu drsná, ale v mezích slušnosti. (83 b)
Chuť: Žádná uhlazenost, snad jen první 2 vteřiny na jazyku se zdá jemný, ale pak se jeho nevyzrálost projeví lehkým škrábáním na patře. Trochu do čokolády a kůže. (75 b)
Shrnutí: Asi nejlevnější rum z Karibiku, který jsem kdy koupil, a na běžné popíjení není špatný. Víc mi tedy voní než chutná, ale vzhledem k ceně to je odpovídající. S ohledem na poměr výkon/cena mohu doporučit k vyzkoušení. Určitě mnohem lepší volba než středoevropská "rumová" produkce.
Body: 79

Posted over 1 year ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Strong and overated for its famous. The alcohol is ruling the aromas and the finish

Posted over 1 year ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

An all around good rum. Decent on the rocks, good mixer, but not quite what I would want to sip neat.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andreas from Germany with 1 rating

A bit fruity and sweet... bla bla bla God damn app that forces me to add min 50 characters to just add this rum to my list

Posted over 1 year ago by Jorhater from Spain with 6 ratings

Doloroso, necesario mezclar con coca cola, precio elevado en comparación con otros rones de la misma calidad

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

Between the alcohol, the American whiskey barrel that It's been in, and a dry Pine wood taste on the tip of your tongue when you first taste it it doesn't go much further than that. If you're looking for mixing rum that is not sweet and might appeal to a American bourbon or whiskey drinker and that's not going to cost you and arm and an leg, but still has heritage. You found it.

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Harsh and with a weird, artificial and disturbing cherry background flavor.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dani Casc from Spain with 5 ratings

Alright for mixing. There are better options in the same price range, but it doesn't suck.

Bought for 13€ in Spain.

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

while not winning any awards for me, this one has better character than some rums twice the price. Very young and woody, but still a great mixer for fruity cocktails or even a rum and coke. A bit acidic, but worth what you will be paying.
A good cheap caribbean rum !

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

sometimes i am in perfect agreement with the bell curve on rum reviews. sometimes i am way out of whack. this is one of those. i found it beguilingly good. at first i thought it would be harsh based on the color in the glass, and the bottle price suggested as much too. ya, it's not a heavy ass rum, it's rather light. smooth not too harsh. minimal but pleasant after taste. i think you could introduce someone who "doesn't drink straight rum" with this and surprise them, that ya, maybe they do!

Posted over 1 year ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

I'll admit the reason I picked this up is because I liked the marketing pitch with the net over the bottle. The rum itself wasn't bad, but I could pick up the bourbon and whiskey notes from the barrel aging process. Unfortunately I'm not a whiskey/ bourbon fan.

Posted over 1 year ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I really gave this one a try as a sipper but it just didn't win me over. I found it a bit too sweet and underwhelming in its taste profile. However, once added to a rum and coke it wasn't too bad. I'll use the rest of the bottle for this or use for mixes but definitely not as a sipper.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Rhum sec et astringent. Il est préférable d'attendre 10 minutes pour que l'alcool s'évapore un peu pour goûter les saveurs difficiles à goûter. C'est un rhum pour boire avec du coke.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Carl from United States with 22 ratings

Not bad for a island generic. Very sippable on a hot day. Versatile because you can mix or sip.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Picked up on a lightning deal on Amazon for £17 usually priced at £21. Have tried and rated the Brugal 1888 so was keen to sample others in the range.

I find it comparable to the rums you can find at the supermarket nothing special really. Definitely a mixer rum but for the price you cant really complain I don't think I'll buy it again but it's not undrinkable by any means!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

Ok rum to mix but not very special. There are better options

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Bit harsh maybe. Not a sipper thoigh. Like the string around the bottle though.

Posted about 2 years ago by Keith Mozena from United States with 1 rating

Love how smooth this is for a daily drinking rum. This works really well as an alternative to a spiced rum.

Posted about 2 years ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

As most of the other reviews...its ok. Not bad but far from blowing me away

Posted about 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

Save yourself the trouble; this is no sipping rum. And if you're buying to mix it, try something else for $4-5 dollars more.

Posted about 2 years ago by The Hovis from United States with 12 ratings

I like Brugal & I drink what I like rather than what I am told I should like. The elevation of fine sipping rums in opposition to malt whiskeys seems to be gathering pace but is an elitist movement. For those who simply wish to drink & enjoy (not to impress & boast) with or without a mixer, Brugal is a very decent rum at a decent price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Put it in cocktails, mix it with cola. Don't bother sipping neat; it's not good enough. Cheap as chips. Grab one for $8 when you're in the Dominican.

Posted over 2 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 1 rating

Beautiful rum for cuba libre... Tried many rums: flor de cana, El dorado, zacapa, Ron barcelo (I think), Bacardi gold and 8, cruzan gold and single barrel. Real smooth and full of flavor, not to mention a great price

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 11 ratings

Definate mixer. Tried to sip this one and ended up almost sick half way thru the bottle. Still kicks Bacardi butt

Posted over 2 years ago by belgiumtom from Belgium with 9 ratings

The rum is OK but i don't like the chemical after-taste