Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Dnes si představíme základní rum firmy Brugal, který je vyrobený z rumů starých 2-5 let a pochází z Dominikánské republiky. Patří mezi nejlevnější Karibské rumy, v Německu jsem ho pořídil za 14 €.
Alkohol: 38 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Čokoláda, karamel a trochu těkavosti ředidla, což asi zní divně a odpudivě, ale vůně je to veskrze příjemná, jen, vzhledem ke svému mládí pochopitelně, neuhlazená až trochu drsná, ale v mezích slušnosti. (83 b)
Chuť: Žádná uhlazenost, snad jen první 2 vteřiny na jazyku se zdá jemný, ale pak se jeho nevyzrálost projeví lehkým škrábáním na patře. Trochu do čokolády a kůže. (75 b)
Shrnutí: Asi nejlevnější rum z Karibiku, který jsem kdy koupil, a na běžné popíjení není špatný. Víc mi tedy voní než chutná, ale vzhledem k ceně to je odpovídající. S ohledem na poměr výkon/cena mohu doporučit k vyzkoušení. Určitě mnohem lepší volba než středoevropská "rumová" produkce.
Body: 79

Posted 29 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 31 ratings

Hints of citrus and that quintessential island flavour that has a great aftertaste.

Posted about 2 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Every dom rep holiday involves large amounts of this. Neat or with coke always hits the spot.

Posted 2 months ago by Wilfred J Rum from Spain with 10 ratings

Típico ron para mezclar que compró cuando no puedo acceder a nada más. Me gusta bien fresquito con un toque de limón. Buenos ratos. No es un mal ron.

Posted 3 months ago by WW from Netherlands with 31 ratings

Taste unlike many other rums and not in a good way, there is some kind of herbal note i don't like.

Posted 3 months ago by abrarey from United States with 17 ratings

Nothing great in here, there are worst alternatives for the price. Not a sipper for sure but can get you really good drinks as a mixer.

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Gut und günstig. Gemischt mit Cola sehr lecker und drei Stufen über Bacardi.

Posted 4 months ago by Russ Meredith from United States with 12 ratings

No mouth burn at all. Easy to hold in the mouth before swallowing. Has a little funk edge at the very end. 3rd Tasting, It has a after taste I'm not to sure about anymore. I lowered my rating to 5. I'll try it again in a few weeks and report back

Posted 4 months ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

Maybe a slight better than the extra anejo reserva, it is a bit stronger and aggressive. But not my type, this is not what a rum should taste for me.

Posted 4 months ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Zeer matige rum. Alleen te drinken als je hem als mix gebruikt

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

could be a little less sweet, sweetness kills al other aromas in this, but it its really good for mix with juice, its reduce lime juice, nice to try

Posted 4 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

Simply because I have drank more bottles of this than any other bottle in the world. Hundreds. Thousands? Oh my..,

Posted 5 months ago by jackw625 from United States with 21 ratings

Solid mid range rum. Not great for sipping........

Posted 5 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Had a great couple of nights with this rum, lovely and smooth

Posted 6 months ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 37 ratings

Very "basic" rum smell, pehaps some butterscotch, vanilla, cinammon and cloves.
In the mouth, the rum feels very light, little watery, with some oak and sweet spice tones, and light astringency. There is a very short and minor afterburn, barely noticeable. So kinda boring, but really acceptable and cheap drink. Solid in cocktails, too, although I would say it lacks distinctive features in highball drinks such as cuba libre as it gets lost in the coke. Would be willing to buy a bottle for mixing and very ocassional sipping (maybe as a comparison to other rums). A pleasant surprise.

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Mezcla de rones que difiere de otras a nivel comercial, nada destacable.
Mejor con cocacola...

Posted 7 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Sits firmly in the category of mixer rum. Decent but not my favourite.

Posted 9 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Storsäljare i Dominikanska där den är som bordsvin och dricka precis överallt.
Kraftigt spritig men den är ung. Funkar toppen till cola och man vänjer sig otroligt snabbt att dricka den i alla situationer om man är i norra Dominikanska Republiken. Billig rom med billig smak men funkar förvånansvärt bra.

Posted 10 months ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Dry, wood taste, tobacco...
Not harsh, but not like sipping all the event. For a 5 years one soso OK.

Posted 11 months ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

I've tried Brugal on several occasions. This is not a rum I’d ever consume neat or on the rocks.
Very hot ethanol forward not a lot of flavors. Ok in a cocktail

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Chocolate milk, molasses, tobacco smokes and hazelnut, some feint and layer of pleasing citrus peels. (83/18)

P- Juicy fruit and calm oak on medium body despite under-proof, not much on offer, but manage to being pleasant. (82/17)

F- Medium, with apparent present of oak to last, clean and take this straight with no ice please. (83/18)

B/B- 82/17. As it says, 5 years in specially selected ex-bourbon American oak casks, sounds good. But as UP version for the shaker, but then, with ice again~

Weighted Rate- 70pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 1 year ago by Szczupak from Poland with 17 ratings

W smaku lekko cierpki, dla tych którzy wolą rumy słodsze ten niestety się nie nada . Cena 50-60 PLN za butelke. Uważam że czegoś mu brakuje, jednak ma swój specyficzny smak którego do tej pory nie spotkałem nigdzie indziej.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Ive tried bugal on several occasions. I try all my rum straight. This is not a rum I’d ever consume meat or on the rocks. Very hot ethanol forward. Ok in a cocktail but for cocktails I’d either choose a great rum or use a Bacardi white or gold.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ales from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Vůně po kouři. V ústech hustý jako olej. Nijak výrazná, ale příjemná chuť.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

Be weary buying a North American shelved bottled of Brugal Anjeo vs. a bottle straight from the Dominican - they are different. The Dominican brugal has a very unique, sweet and smooth flavor to add a profile to a mixed drink or rum and coke. A little brisk for a straight sip, but a delicious mix. Maybe I’m biased as I was enjoying this on a Caribbean beach, but hey... can we really complain when our glass is full of any rum?