Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Añejo

Dominican Republic | Gold

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

5.5/10
279 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
12
27
69
79
52
18
6
2

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

279 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by RonBalon from Bulgaria with 7 ratings

I expected more. It has really nice odor, but it tastes like flour or vanilla then the real rum tastes kicks in, but it is kind of strong and heavy. You can get easily get drunk with that if you are not too careful. I'm a bit disappointed, because on the same price or even lower you can get twice better Rum than that. I'm really not sure how to feel about this. It may be a great taste if your only rum so far is bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Root-theory from Poland with 56 ratings

BRUGAL ANEJO

Zapach: Melasa, karmel, skórka pomarańczy, delikatna orzechowa nuta. Zapach niezbyt skomplikowany oraz alkoholowy.

Smak: Karmel, nuta pomarańczowa, trawiasta, lekka słodycz, delikatna melasa, stara beczka. Jest płasko oraz dość alkoholowo.

Rum w odbiorze sprawia wrażenie surowego, młodego oraz niezbyt skomplikowanego. I tego należy od jego oczekiwać. W drinkach jest jak najbardziej w porządku i tam się najlepiej czuje. Do zdobycia na półkach pewnego polsko-portugalskiego dyskontu. Rum mimo dość niewielkiej ceny 50-60pln cechuje jakość - nie ma tutaj nut mało przyjemnych, nie jest odrzucający.

Po wizycie w fabryce tego rumu również doceniam fakt iż niesie ze sobą coś co odkryłem dopiero degustując dość sporo wyprodukowanych tam rumów - nawet młode nie otrząsają oraz sprawiają wrażenie dobrej bazy destylacyjnej. Z czystym sumieniem polecam jako zamiennik Havanna Club 3YO oraz Bacardi Carta Negra

Ocena: 62/100

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Cpt.J from United States with 14 ratings

If you know, you know. This isn’t my standard mixer. I’ll still sip it if it comes down to it but I’ll just stick to using it for some mixology.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 324 ratings

Tasted this on a flight in a business class.
A good rum from a multicolum distillation, complex enough for sipping, not very special.
I recommend this if you are on budget.
In my opinion it's an underestimated rum and good enough for the price.

Smell: caramel, molasses, some dry fruits, oak, vanilla
Taste: diluted start with caramel, then dry fruits, burned suggar, oak, some spice
Finish: spicy, tingels on the tongue
Aftertaste: vanilla, old cellar (you can taste some apricot, like kirk & sweeney 12, but not that intensive)

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Value (12€): 4/5

Age: 5-8 years
Country: Dominican Republic

Small screenshot 20210218 233356 whatsapp

Posted over 1 year ago by Foglialuce from Italy with 9 ratings

Lovely warm and good aroma, the taste remember coffe note at final, one of the best at this price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lorano from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Zacht, caramellig, vol en heerlijk van genoten. Gunstig geprijsd.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rumforme from Canada with 1 rating

Had this first time in Dominican. They introduced it to me 7-up & Brugal about a 50/50 mix. Very smooth. I’ve introduced this to several of my friends & has been a big hit with them all. Took about 6-7 years before I found it in Canada after our first trip, glad it’s here.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dino from Canada with 2 ratings

Used to live in DR and after many bottles of this I resorted to calling it Brutal... It was on sale today for 21$cdn and figured I'd give it another shot... horrible at best..mad I even bought it after already knowing why I would always spend the extra dollar to drink Ron Barcelo when I lived there...buyer beware

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rad from Canada with 1 rating

Good Dominican rum. Taste of wood in every sip and goes down smooth can be had straight up or on ice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Tried the Brugal XV, Dry Spiced, Extra Viejo and Anejo back-to-back and I have to say they are all quite horrendous. The XV and Dry Spiced have a nice dark color, whereas the Extra Viejo and Anejo are quite weak on color. The Anejo has a super strong alcohol smell, taste and burn to it. The worst of these Brugal so-called-rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This was harsh...so a harsh score. Not smooth at all but I suppose I like sipping rums which this isn't. Quite a thin mouthfeel with no subtlety at all.