Posting your rating...
Malteco 10-Year rum
Malteco 10-Year rum

Malteco 10-Year

Guatemala | Aged

6.6/10 (64 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
22
20
14

Rate Malteco 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


64 Malteco 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9dd3124ef03cf6997545b601067a259e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

I basically enjoy this rum, but more for straight drinking or cocktails than sipping. The smell is strong sweet chocolate with weird odour of... leather, the taste is more on the sugary sweet side, bit edgy and harsh. Not suer excited with this one, but the product speaks quality, but the smell and taste is somehow torn between sweet rums and basic aged ones. But not either. In this its price category it is not my first nor second choice.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Od značky Malteco jsme si již představili její 15y, dnes je na řadě o pět let mladší zástupce této Guatemalské firmy.
Alkohol: 40,5 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Vanilka, lakovost, trocha kůže, oproti 15y chybí káva. Vůně je ještě nezkrocená, celkem ostrá a hrubá, což nemusí být bráno jako mínus. (84 b)
Chuť: Chuť působí zraleji, než aroma, ostrost alkoholu sice trochu vyčnívá, ale jinak je na jazyku sametově uhlazená, nijak moc sladká. Vanilka dominuje. (84 b)
Shrnutí: Určitá ostrost a neotesanost se mi na tomto rumu líbí, není nudný, dostává tím šmrnc. Za cenu do pětiset korun je to slušný nákup. Malteco 15y je dál, voní i chutná lépe, a cenový skok je u něj přiměřený. Pokud chcete ušetřit, můžete s klidem zkusit 10y, pokud chcete vyšší level, připlatíte si dvě stovky. Zakoupený jsem měl tentokrát vzorek z baru Dno pytle 2. 15y verzi mám přechutnanou lépe, měl jsem celou lahev.
Body: 84

181de0b0131a43f8150e1092e288a27d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

A little bit sweeter rum with vanilla taste. One of the most favourite. Highly recommended and better than 15Y.

9c0a83a5f16f565409736a6f08e6be4f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Ron has nice color after caramel, its nice smell is perfect. Taste is young but gentle.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

Sweet nose with brown sugar, caramel and subtle notes of nougat and a bit of oak. Sipping the rum reveals a medium body with sweet caramel and a very discreet and short spicy finish. Very easy going and by no means a complex affair but perhaps a good starter rum. To sweet for my liking though.

80be7e9723e9073a50ab23f7ec9ae43d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The taste is young. From a mateco point of view. Compatring it to the 15 years old it tastes most from alkohol and some vanilla. The taste is ok but far from good. The bottle has a nice finish, the color is also fine. But it lacks from the diversity of tastes.

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 18 days ago by Tomy from Romania with 418 ratings

Very easy going and by no means a complex affair but perhaps a good starter rum. To sweet for my liking though.

031c1c2b99f70b2a2db23160950a0574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 45 ratings

Expanding my view to Panama with both the 10yo and 15yo Malteco in front of me (both in 50ml tasters) I must say I am positively surprised. Ok, too much sugar for my taste but this 10 year old is showing some character as well.

A typical nose with a little vanilla and a strange mix of floral notes/rotten wood (in a good way!) that I haven't smelled before. On the palate this carries on with a bit of chocolate/coffee bitterness which really helps to balance the added sugar. The base of this rum is really decent, way better than the English Harbour 5yo I had the other day, and it goes down easily. I don't see the alcohol burn some reviewers mention but it does let you know it is 40%, just as it should.

Though the 15yo is a bit better in every way (but also much alike) pricewise my nod goes to the 10yo. This can be bought for €20,= over here and I think that is a bargain for the quality of this rum. The 15yo can not justify its higher pricetag (here between €30,= and €40,= online) as it simply adds too little. Too sweet for my taste but if you like them a little sweeter (without becoming a liquid bonbon) this is a must-try!

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

vůně nasládlá, ovoce, karamel, vanilka, chuť sladká, příjemné překvapení v této cenové relaci

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 155 ratings

This rum is limited to the essentials.
It's not complex.
I smell: sweetness, caramel and vanilla, wood
Flavor: vanilla, caramel, intensifying sweetness, spice, wood

I find it mild and intense in taste, but too simple.

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 1/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

A simple and inexpensive rum for people who want it simple.
However, does not quite suit my taste, I lack additional fruit flavors.

913aabbdf63f806153f00c98e233a450.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

Zapach: Kompot ze śliwek, wanilia, kawa, karmel, nugat oraz beczka.

Smak: Karmel, wanilia, czekolada, suszone owoce, melasa oraz beczka. W smaku jest lekko słodka i dobrze pijalna mimo wyraznego rozgrzewania od alkoholu

W smaku jest naprawdę porządnie - taki rum który można stawiać za przykład rumu starzonego.Patrząc na stosunek cena/jakość (około 80-100pln w Czechach) to kurcze - muszę przyznać że pozytywnie odbieram ten rum. Szczególnie cieszy informacja o gwarantowanych 10 latach oraz mały bonusik w mocy - 40,5%.

Ocena: 76/100