Posting your rating...
Malteco 10-Year rum

Rate Malteco 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


63 Malteco 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Aroma is not so interesting but fine. Taste is smooth and the finish ok. This rum is good and easy drinkable. You dont feel alcohol.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Od značky Malteco jsme si již představili její 15y, dnes je na řadě o pět let mladší zástupce této Guatemalské firmy.
Alkohol: 40,5 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Vanilka, lakovost, trocha kůže, oproti 15y chybí káva. Vůně je ještě nezkrocená, celkem ostrá a hrubá, což nemusí být bráno jako mínus. (84 b)
Chuť: Chuť působí zraleji, než aroma, ostrost alkoholu sice trochu vyčnívá, ale jinak je na jazyku sametově uhlazená, nijak moc sladká. Vanilka dominuje. (84 b)
Shrnutí: Určitá ostrost a neotesanost se mi na tomto rumu líbí, není nudný, dostává tím šmrnc. Za cenu do pětiset korun je to slušný nákup. Malteco 15y je dál, voní i chutná lépe, a cenový skok je u něj přiměřený. Pokud chcete ušetřit, můžete s klidem zkusit 10y, pokud chcete vyšší level, připlatíte si dvě stovky. Zakoupený jsem měl tentokrát vzorek z baru Dno pytle 2. 15y verzi mám přechutnanou lépe, měl jsem celou lahev.
Body: 84

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

A little bit sweeter rum with vanilla taste. One of the most favourite. Highly recommended and better than 15Y.

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 117 ratings

Ron has nice color after caramel, its nice smell is perfect. Taste is young but gentle.

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Sweet nose with brown sugar, caramel and subtle notes of nougat and a bit of oak. Sipping the rum reveals a medium body with sweet caramel and a very discreet and short spicy finish. Very easy going and by no means a complex affair but perhaps a good starter rum. To sweet for my liking though.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The taste is young. From a mateco point of view. Compatring it to the 15 years old it tastes most from alkohol and some vanilla. The taste is ok but far from good. The bottle has a nice finish, the color is also fine. But it lacks from the diversity of tastes.

Posted 29 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 36 ratings

Expanding my view to Panama with both the 10yo and 15yo Malteco in front of me (both in 50ml tasters) I must say I am positively surprised. Ok, too much sugar for my taste but this 10 year old is showing some character as well.

A typical nose with a little vanilla and a strange mix of floral notes/rotten wood (in a good way!) that I haven't smelled before. On the palate this carries on with a bit of chocolate/coffee bitterness which really helps to balance the added sugar. The base of this rum is really decent, way better than the English Harbour 5yo I had the other day, and it goes down easily. I don't see the alcohol burn some reviewers mention but it does let you know it is 40%, just as it should.

Though the 15yo is a bit better in every way (but also much alike) pricewise my nod goes to the 10yo. This can be bought for €20,= over here and I think that is a bargain for the quality of this rum. The 15yo can not justify its higher pricetag (here between €30,= and €40,= online) as it simply adds too little. Too sweet for my taste but if you like them a little sweeter (without becoming a liquid bonbon) this is a must-try!

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

vůně nasládlá, ovoce, karamel, vanilka, chuť sladká, příjemné překvapení v této cenové relaci

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

This rum is limited to the essentials.
It's not complex.
I smell: sweetness, caramel and vanilla, wood
Flavor: vanilla, caramel, intensifying sweetness, spice, wood

I find it mild and intense in taste, but too simple.

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 1/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

A simple and inexpensive rum for people who want it simple.
However, does not quite suit my taste, I lack additional fruit flavors.

Posted 6 months ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

Zapach: Kompot ze śliwek, wanilia, kawa, karmel, nugat oraz beczka.

Smak: Karmel, wanilia, czekolada, suszone owoce, melasa oraz beczka. W smaku jest lekko słodka i dobrze pijalna mimo wyraznego rozgrzewania od alkoholu

W smaku jest naprawdę porządnie - taki rum który można stawiać za przykład rumu starzonego.Patrząc na stosunek cena/jakość (około 80-100pln w Czechach) to kurcze - muszę przyznać że pozytywnie odbieram ten rum. Szczególnie cieszy informacja o gwarantowanych 10 latach oraz mały bonusik w mocy - 40,5%.

Ocena: 76/100

Posted 6 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Rum from Panama have a special place in my heart, so I was excited to try this Malteco 10, but sadly I found it to be very underwhelming.

Nose: Very sweet smell of vanilla, chocolate, caramel, raisins and coconut
Taste: Vanilla, butterscotch, honey, raisins and molasses with a short and sweet aftertaste
Overall: This rum is nothing special on its own, but does work well as a mixer. It is very sweet and should probably get a 5/10, but the low price and value for money bumps it up to a 6/10.

Posted 9 months ago by Haggmeister from Sweden with 6 ratings

Simple rum with vanilla taste. Would work better with chocolare cakes

Posted about 1 year ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

In aromatic You can find chocolate and tobaco, in taste then vanilla and dry fruit.

Posted about 1 year ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

I really liked this one. Malteco has a great taste, very rich body, strong aromas. For sure, there are better rums out there, but they all are older. Malteco 10 ist only ten years old and therefore has an outstanding value, it is a real bargain! I also liked the lean smooth an heavy bottle. I am very interested in tasting the more matured Malteco rums.
(Malteco 10, bought 13.12.2018, 18.90€, Germany)

Posted about 1 year ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

The 15 year old is slighty better, more mature. But this one isn't bad at all either.
The nose has hardly any alcohol and a nice sweet smell of vanilla. When a sip is taken there's some alcohol burn at the end, but not in a bad way. It has a good balance. Just the right amount of sweetness for my taste. I'll probably get this one more often.

Posted over 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Určite sa ním nedá nič pokaziť, ale staršie ročníky sú staršie ročníky.

Posted over 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Je zde výrazná lihovost, ale po pár štamprlích tomu člověk příjde na chuť.

Posted over 1 year ago by Seiko from Germany with 3 ratings

Great with Coke, but not so good as a sipper. Good Rum for the money.

Posted over 1 year ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

Deep caramel, milk chocolate, elegantly spicy, medium sweet. My favorite rum up to 30€,

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Sweet but not overly done. Lacks complexity in the aftertaste.

Posted about 2 years ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Ostrejsi chut, prijemna vune, cenove dostupny a dobry rum

Posted about 2 years ago by Radomir Jelinek from Slovakia with 3 ratings

Slightly sweet and smoked taste with bitter and vanilla aftertaste.
Gentle not so alcoholic taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 105 ratings

Nose: oak, with pretty much character for a 10-year old.
Palate: smooth, warm, slightly woody taste. Not very aromatic, but hey, it's ok for his age.
P.S: no alcoholic taste at all.

Posted over 2 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

Sweet rum and a bit harsh.
As a sipper it's nothing special, i liked it more with root beer (took away it's harshness)

Posted over 2 years ago by Epos from Germany with 11 ratings

Ich trinken den Malteco 10 sehr gern mit Cola! Entfaltet das typische Malteco Aroma und schmeckt einfach super! Nicht so ein Spiced Kram, sind ehrlicher guter rumgeschmack in der Mische! Pur geht er auch gut, aber da sind die älteren Maltecos doch schon ne klasse besser!