Posting your rating...
Malteco 10-Year rum

Malteco 10-Year

Guatemala | Aged

6.5/10
83 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
30
28
15

Rate Malteco 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

83 Malteco 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This really tastes young. It does not taste like a 10 year old until it finishes. It does have a surprisingly smooth flavorful finish. A little too sweet for me also. I tried an airport bottle. If this rum really costs under $15 for a full size bottle it is a great value.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 126 ratings

Havde ikke de helt store forventninger, da købt 4 forskellige i en samlepakke, men var faktisk rigtig god.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 23 ratings

This rum is mostly characterized by two notes - sweetness (molasses) and vanilla. The lack of any oak or "dark" notes makes is a bit too simply sweet for my taste, even if it's a decent sipper. Turns out it's actually a good mixer as well. While it's not a bad rum at all, you can get much more interesting stuff for the 35 € I paid for this.

Small img 20210110 133330 01

Posted 9 months ago by Martin from Slovakia with 22 ratings

Excellent rum, bought for 19 eur, l fond t drink anything better at this price. I recommend

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Hesel from Denmark with 66 ratings

Enough flavor to compete with sweet coke.

Not for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Very easy going and by no means a complex affair but perhaps a good starter rum. To sweet for my liking though.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 75 ratings

Expanding my view to Panama with both the 10yo and 15yo Malteco in front of me (both in 50ml tasters) I must say I am positively surprised. Ok, too much sugar for my taste but this 10 year old is showing some character as well.

A typical nose with a little vanilla and a strange mix of floral notes/rotten wood (in a good way!) that I haven't smelled before. On the palate this carries on with a bit of chocolate/coffee bitterness which really helps to balance the added sugar. The base of this rum is really decent, way better than the English Harbour 5yo I had the other day, and it goes down easily. I don't see the alcohol burn some reviewers mention but it does let you know it is 40%, just as it should.

Though the 15yo is a bit better in every way (but also much alike) pricewise my nod goes to the 10yo. This can be bought for €20,= over here and I think that is a bargain for the quality of this rum. The 15yo can not justify its higher pricetag (here between €30,= and €40,= online) as it simply adds too little. Too sweet for my taste but if you like them a little sweeter (without becoming a liquid bonbon) this is a must-try!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 354 ratings

vůně nasládlá, dominantní chuť karamel, vanilka, chuť sladká, nenadchne, neurazí

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 325 ratings

This rum is limited to the essentials. It's not complex and a little bit artificial.
The profile is vanilla with sweetness, a little bit like Plantation XO but much simpler.
It's an inexpensive rum for people who want it simple and sweet.
However, does not quite suit my taste, I lack additional flavors.

I get vanilla with sweetness, some caramel and some wood in the nose.
The taste starts also with vanilla, caramel, the sweetness is rising, then spice and wood at the end.
Not very spicy and quite mild rum.
I would rate it with 50 points.

Nose: sweetness, caramel and vanilla, wood
Flavor: vanilla, caramel, intensifying sweetness, spice, wood

I find it mild and intense in taste, but too simple.

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 1/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 1/5
Value (18€): 2/5
Experience level: just beginners

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Root-theory from Poland with 56 ratings

Zapach: Kompot ze śliwek, wanilia, kawa, karmel, nugat oraz beczka.

Smak: Karmel, wanilia, czekolada, suszone owoce, melasa oraz beczka. W smaku jest lekko słodka i dobrze pijalna mimo wyraznego rozgrzewania od alkoholu

W smaku jest naprawdę porządnie - taki rum który można stawiać za przykład rumu starzonego.Patrząc na stosunek cena/jakość (około 80-100pln w Czechach) to kurcze - muszę przyznać że pozytywnie odbieram ten rum. Szczególnie cieszy informacja o gwarantowanych 10 latach oraz mały bonusik w mocy - 40,5%.

Ocena: 76/100