Posting your rating...
Malteco 15-Year rum

Malteco 15-Year

Guatemala | Aged

7.3/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
17
50
34
12
1

Rate Malteco 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Malteco 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Elbert Bakker from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Not the exquisite tastes and tones, but just a good sip without pretentions

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Ron de Guatemala Malteco 15 aňos reserva Maya, jak zní celý název tohoto rumu, je trochu záhadný a zjistit o něm víc informací je poměrně oříšek. Na lahvi stojí, že je vyroben v Guatemale pro italskou firmu Savio S.r.l. Podle německých zdrojů za tímto rumem stojí firma Licorera Quetzalteca, která vstoupila do oboru lihovarnictví v roce 1939. Ačkoliv se stala brzy proslulou svými rumy, v současnosti je společnost považována za specialistu na zrající rumy. Podnik leží v nadmořské výšce 2 333 metry; všeobecně panuje přesvědčení, že výroba ve vyšších nadmořských výškách, kde je chladněji, svědčí produkci alkoholu... Tato společnost by měla zastřešovat i značky Zacapa a Botrán.

Obsah 0,7 litru.Měl by být vyráběn přímo ze šťávy cukrové třiny, a ne z melasy. Zraje samozřejmě v dubových sudech.
Alkohol: 41,5 %
Aroma: První dojem je tak kávový, že mi hned připomněl Kahlúu. Vůně je bohatá, trochu lakově štiplavá, výrazná, plná kůže a čokolády.
Chuť: Další z řady velejemných rumů, jen lehce nasládlý, čokoládový. Stejně jako u Barcela Imperial bych vítal výraznější dochuť, ale u těchto jemných rumů jde častěji o pozvolné doznívání a vytrácení se té jemné chuti, než o bombu ve stylu Angostury.
Shrnutí: Další parádní rum, s nákupem jsem spokojen, na to, že šlo o střelbu od boku, žádné recenze jsem nenašel ani na zahraničních rumových stránkách.
Mohu s klidem doporučit.
V nabídce značky je i 10y a 20y verze.
Body: 87

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Bez výraznější vůně, klasický rum, který je dost jemný na to, aby se dobře pil a zároveň ostřejší a "ohnivější", když máte chuť na něco jiného než likerovou mňamku :) Osobně mi projevem připomíná něco mezi Matusalem 10 a 15. Je jemnější než 10 ale ohnivější než 15. A je to fajn.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

Close to the 10 year Malteco, a little less alcoholic taste even with more alcohol...caramel, cinnamon, coconut, spicy, elegant...I prefer the 10year for like 10€ less, but still a great rum. The level of Diplomatico 12 but less sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Patrik from Sweden with 5 ratings

Smooth and sweet tase just as I like it. Will buy more.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by MiroO from Slovakia with 10 ratings

Very good taste and sweetness. Good for rum beginners and for rum lovers ina general

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 35 ratings

Another Panama reiteration of Cuban style. Vanilla, oak, tobacco, present in nose and taste, with accented oak and tobacco, the aftertaste is decent and pleasant, it makes me think about having a cigar. Slightly heavier taste than Malecon 12y which has a similar price tag. Perfectly sippable for me. Excels in cuba libre too - bot so do its younger counterparts 10y and 5y afterall. I am a sucker for cuban style, so here goes score 7.

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 44 ratings

Der Malteco 15 ist ein Melasse Rum. Angeblich handelt es sich um keinen Solera. Obwohl auf dem Label Panama steht finde ich überall die Informationen das der Rum aus Guatemala stammt. Das ist alles sehr verwirrend und macht schon keinen guten Eindruck. Der Rum wird bei 40% Trinkstärke abgefüllt und enthält Zuckerkulör als Farbstoff. Da ich mir eine 5cl Flasche habe kann ich nicht viel über das Flaschen Design sagen. Mit ca. 30Euro bewegt er sich im Einsteiger Segment.

Der Rum ist in der Nase karamellig und zeigt das er von der süßen Sorte ist. Der Geruch ist gefällig. Am Gaumen kommen die süßen karamelligen und auch vanilligen Aromen zur Geltung. Etwas tropische Frucht schwingt mit. Fass Noten sond kaum erkennbar. Der Alkohol wird beim Abgang merkbar. Etwas Kakao gesellt sich dazu bevor alles schnell vergeht und eine undefinierbaren Süße hinterlässt. Er schmeckt irgendwie dann doch gesüßt.

Der Malteco 15 ist kein schlechter Rum hat aber klare Grenzen, wenn man schon hochwertigere Rums kennt. Da gibt es für etwas mehr Geld schon spannendere Rums. Aber Preis Leistung stimmt hier voll und Leute die gerne Zacapa trinken sollten sich lieber zwei Flaschen hiervon kaufen. Für Einsteiger klar zu empfehlen. Da macht man nicht falsch.

The Malteco 15 is a molasses rum. Allegedly, it is not Solera. Although there is Panama on the label I find everywhere the information that the rum comes from Guatemala. This is all very confusing and makes no good impression. The rum is bottled at 40% drinking strength and contains sugar caramel as a dye. Since I have a 5cl bottle I can not say much about the bottle design. At around 30Euros, it is in the entry-level segment.

The rum has caramel flavors in the nose and shows that it is of the sweet variety. The smell is pleasing. On the palate, the sweet caramel and also vanilly aromas come to the fore. Some tropical fruit resonates. Barrel notes are hardly noticeable. You feel tje alcohol at the time of departure. A little cocoa is added before everything passes quickly and leaves an indefinable sweetness. It tastes somehow sweetened.

The Malteco 15 is not a bad rum but has clear limits if you already know higher quality rums. For a little more money, there are already more exciting rums. But price performance is right here and people who like to drink Zacapa should rather buy two bottles of this one. Clearly recommended for beginners. You can't go wrong here.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Havenbaron from Netherlands with 5 ratings

The rum aftertaste has quite a nice kick to it. Great over ice or in the mix with ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Meget positivt overrasket over denne rom. 7,5 fra mig i vurdering. En flakse kan købes til små 300 kr., value for money here, er bestemt pengene værd.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 54 ratings

Trying out the 10yo and 15yo Malteco in 50ml tasters I am surprised I like them despite the quite present added sugar. Not overly sweet but too much for a higher score in my book. Both have enough stamina to balance the sugar by the way.

The 15yo is rather similar to the 10yo but is a little richer in scent and taste. Vanilla and a peculiar mix of floral notes combined with rotten wood (in a good way) in the nose give it a rather unique scent. On the palate there is a slight bitter (chocolate/coffee) that helps really well to compensate for the added sugar. Finish is more present with the 15yo and of the two I think this is the better one, but the difference is too small to justify their difference in price.

The 10yo is a genuine sipper for around €20 around here (and a steal at that) while they charge €30 to €40 for the 15yo. And I don't think the 15yo can make up for that; I ended with a sip of the 10yo and that still stands upright!