Posting your rating...
Malteco 15-Year rum

Malteco 15-Year

Guatemala | Aged

7.3/10 (120 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
18
50
34
12
1

Rate Malteco 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


120 Malteco 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Hade höga förväntningar på denna. Men var väldigt smaklös, känner lite vanilj och frukt, men ingen eftersmak, försvinner direkt i munnen. Tråkigt.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 121 ratings

Meget positivt overrasket over denne rom. 7,5 fra mig i vurdering. En flakse kan købes til små 300 kr., value for money here, er bestemt pengene værd.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

Trying out the 10yo and 15yo Malteco in 50ml tasters I am surprised I like them despite the quite present added sugar. Not overly sweet but too much for a higher score in my book. Both have enough stamina to balance the sugar by the way.

The 15yo is rather similar to the 10yo but is a little richer in scent and taste. Vanilla and a peculiar mix of floral notes combined with rotten wood (in a good way) in the nose give it a rather unique scent. On the palate there is a slight bitter (chocolate/coffee) that helps really well to compensate for the added sugar. Finish is more present with the 15yo and of the two I think this is the better one, but the difference is too small to justify their difference in price.

The 10yo is a genuine sipper for around €20 around here (and a steal at that) while they charge €30 to €40 for the 15yo. And I don't think the 15yo can make up for that; I ended with a sip of the 10yo and that still stands upright!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Vůně silná. Chuť velmi lehce nasládlý, čokoládový, pro mně málo výrazný.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Ne vous y fiez pas, le rhum Malteco 15 ans - Reserva Maya – ne puise pas les origines de son histoire au Guatemala, mais en… Italie !
En effet, Marco Savio (italien, mais était-ce utile de le préciser), à l’origine également du rhum Malecon, a donc créé le rhum Malteco. Pour ce faire, il a dû relever quelques défis pour y parvenir. Initialement produit au Guatemala, sa production a dû être relocaliser au Panama suite à la reprise de la Licoreria Quetzalteca par le groupe Diageo qui souhaitait dédier la distillerie à la production de ses 2 marques phares (Zacapa et Botran). La production du Malteco a donc déménagé à la Caribbean Spirits Panama Distillery. Son objectif était alors de conserver l’esprit et le style propre au terroir d’origine de son rhum, objectif atteint, et c’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que la bouteille porte la mention « Ron al estilo de Guatemala » (Rhum dans le style du Guatemala, la transparence visi à vis du consommateur est appréciée) .

L’originalité de ce rhum, réside avant tout dans le travail réalisé pour conserver le style « rhum du Guatemala ». De fait, la matière première utilisée pour réaliser ce dernier est le miel de canne riche sur le plan gustatif et aromatique. L’autre avantage de ce produit est sa capacité de conservation, offrant ainsi une plus grande souplesse pour organiser la distillation toute l’année. Après distillation il vieillit dans des anciens fûts de bourbon en chêne blanc américain, lui permettant de développer sa douceur est sa complexité aromatique.

Nez : gourmand et frais, on remarque des notes de miel et d’épices.

Bouche : belle attaque sucrée qui se dissipant font naître des arômes de vanille/cannelle, très gourmande.

Finale : la gourmandise est confirmée avec une jolie finale

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

Quite good, but not interesting for me, smooth, not so sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

taste - 7/10
sweetness - 8/10
price/value rating - 8.5/10

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 9 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 77 ratings

Son vieillissement en altitude lui confère tout l'équilibre d'un rhum de 15 ans d'âge.
On apprécie pour un prix raisonnable un très bon produit.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 148 ratings

Sweet, bitter, refined taste, even a certain cheerfulness. It's strong and light, requires only a little water to wash down. But it squeezes my head a little.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 132 ratings

My first experience with malteco family and very positive. It is smooth and on the sweeter side but not too much. On the nose you can feel vanilla, honey and sugar cane. In mouth flavours of vanilla, cinamon, chocolate and oak. Very good... I would rate it 7,5.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 79 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx