Posting your rating...
Malteco 15-Year rum

Malteco 15-Year

Guatemala | Aged

7.2/10(122 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
19
50
34
12
1

Rate Malteco 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

122 Malteco 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Raphaël from France with 7 ratings

Pas beaucoup de complexité, mais assez doux et accessible.

Small 20210227 173716

Posted 7 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 84 ratings

Der Malteco 15 ist ein Melasse Rum. Angeblich handelt es sich um keinen Solera. Obwohl auf dem Label Panama steht finde ich überall die Informationen das der Rum aus Guatemala stammt. Das ist alles sehr verwirrend und macht schon keinen guten Eindruck. Der Rum wird bei 40% Trinkstärke abgefüllt und enthält Zuckerkulör als Farbstoff. Da ich mir eine 5cl Flasche habe kann ich nicht viel über das Flaschen Design sagen. Mit ca. 30Euro bewegt er sich im Einsteiger Segment.

Der Rum ist in der Nase karamellig und zeigt das er von der süßen Sorte ist. Der Geruch ist gefällig. Am Gaumen kommen die süßen karamelligen und auch vanilligen Aromen zur Geltung. Etwas tropische Frucht schwingt mit. Fass Noten sind kaum erkennbar. Der Alkohol wird beim Abgang merkbar. Etwas Kakao gesellt sich dazu bevor alles schnell vergeht und eine undefinierbaren Süße hinterlässt. Er schmeckt irgendwie dann doch gesüßt.

Der Malteco 15 ist kein schlechter Rum hat aber klare Grenzen, wenn man schon hochwertigere Rums kennt. Da gibt es für etwas mehr Geld schon spannendere Rums. Aber Preis Leistung stimmt hier voll und Leute die gerne Zacapa trinken sollten sich lieber zwei Flaschen hiervon kaufen. Für Einsteiger klar zu empfehlen. Da macht man nicht falsch.

The Malteco 15 is a molasses rum. Allegedly, it is not Solera. Although there is Panama on the label I find everywhere the information that the rum comes from Guatemala. This is all very confusing and makes no good impression. The rum is bottled at 40% drinking strength and contains sugar caramel as a dye. Since I have a 5cl bottle I can not say much about the bottle design. At around 30Euros, it is in the entry-level segment.

The rum has caramel flavors in the nose and shows that it is of the sweet variety. The smell is pleasing. On the palate, the sweet caramel and also vanilly aromas come to the fore. Some tropical fruit resonates. Barrel notes are hardly noticeable. You feel tje alcohol at the time of departure. A little cocoa is added before everything passes quickly and leaves an indefinable sweetness. It tastes somehow sweetened.

The Malteco 15 is not a bad rum but has clear limits if you already know higher quality rums. For a little more money, there are already more exciting rums. But price performance is right here and people who like to drink Zacapa should rather buy two bottles of this one. Clearly recommended for beginners. You can't go wrong here.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Havenbaron from Netherlands with 5 ratings

The rum aftertaste has quite a nice kick to it. Great over ice or in the mix with ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 125 ratings

Meget positivt overrasket over denne rom. 7,5 fra mig i vurdering. En flakse kan købes til små 300 kr., value for money here, er bestemt pengene værd.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 72 ratings

Trying out the 10yo and 15yo Malteco in 50ml tasters I am surprised I like them despite the quite present added sugar. Not overly sweet but too much for a higher score in my book. Both have enough stamina to balance the sugar by the way.

The 15yo is rather similar to the 10yo but is a little richer in scent and taste. Vanilla and a peculiar mix of floral notes combined with rotten wood (in a good way) in the nose give it a rather unique scent. On the palate there is a slight bitter (chocolate/coffee) that helps really well to compensate for the added sugar. Finish is more present with the 15yo and of the two I think this is the better one, but the difference is too small to justify their difference in price.

The 10yo is a genuine sipper for around €20 around here (and a steal at that) while they charge €30 to €40 for the 15yo. And I don't think the 15yo can make up for that; I ended with a sip of the 10yo and that still stands upright!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Vůně silná. Chuť velmi lehce nasládlý, čokoládový, pro mně málo výrazný.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Ne vous y fiez pas, le rhum Malteco 15 ans - Reserva Maya – ne puise pas les origines de son histoire au Guatemala, mais en… Italie !
En effet, Marco Savio (italien, mais était-ce utile de le préciser), à l’origine également du rhum Malecon, a donc créé le rhum Malteco. Pour ce faire, il a dû relever quelques défis pour y parvenir. Initialement produit au Guatemala, sa production a dû être relocaliser au Panama suite à la reprise de la Licoreria Quetzalteca par le groupe Diageo qui souhaitait dédier la distillerie à la production de ses 2 marques phares (Zacapa et Botran). La production du Malteco a donc déménagé à la Caribbean Spirits Panama Distillery. Son objectif était alors de conserver l’esprit et le style propre au terroir d’origine de son rhum, objectif atteint, et c’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que la bouteille porte la mention « Ron al estilo de Guatemala » (Rhum dans le style du Guatemala, la transparence visi à vis du consommateur est appréciée) .

L’originalité de ce rhum, réside avant tout dans le travail réalisé pour conserver le style « rhum du Guatemala ». De fait, la matière première utilisée pour réaliser ce dernier est le miel de canne riche sur le plan gustatif et aromatique. L’autre avantage de ce produit est sa capacité de conservation, offrant ainsi une plus grande souplesse pour organiser la distillation toute l’année. Après distillation il vieillit dans des anciens fûts de bourbon en chêne blanc américain, lui permettant de développer sa douceur est sa complexité aromatique.

Nez : gourmand et frais, on remarque des notes de miel et d’épices.

Bouche : belle attaque sucrée qui se dissipant font naître des arômes de vanille/cannelle, très gourmande.

Finale : la gourmandise est confirmée avec une jolie finale

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

Quite good, but not interesting for me, smooth, not so sweet.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 11 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 112 ratings

taste - 7/10
sweetness - 8/10
price/value rating - 8.5/10

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 1 year ago by Rinushorn from France with 85 ratings

Son vieillissement en altitude lui confère tout l'équilibre d'un rhum de 15 ans d'âge.
On apprécie pour un prix raisonnable un très bon produit.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 156 ratings

Sweet, bitter, refined taste, even a certain cheerfulness. It's strong and light, requires only a little water to wash down. But it squeezes my head a little.