Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year

Cuba | Aged

8.0/10
73 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
12
27
18
9

Rate Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

73 Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Sandro from Switzerland with 15 ratings

A great balanced Rum from Cuba.
Strong spicy fragrance and sweet on going. In the end a smooth sip.
Great!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Jacob from United States with 4 ratings

Very smooth with a berry (to me) aftertaste. Easy to sip, easy to love.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gegohier from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is best enjoyed with a friend. Had this one recommended by my favourite bartender in Cuba..... mmmmmm!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Plop from Belgium with 16 ratings

Se boit facilement assez doux dans la gorge il anime les papilles et le palet sans être agressif.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

This rum is best enjoyed with a friend and maybe a Cohiba. My buddy brought a bottle back from our trip to Cuba and I'm sure glad he did! Of course you never really drink it alone, Fidel entre nosotros.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 183 ratings

Purchased a bottle of Santiago de Cuba 11 yr Rum ($40 CUC) in May 2017. Bottle still intact and will update my review upon tasting.

UPDATE (2017-10-28):

I have had this bottle of Santiago de Cuba Anejo 11 year Rum in my cabinet for over 6 months and time has come to sample it. I must admit that my expectations are high, a result of reviews read on RumRatings as well as other websites. The bottle, labelling and overall presentation of this rum was enough to convince me that this rum (which is not available in my area) is a must to bring back from Cuba and a bargain price of $40.00 CUC (approximately $60.00 CAD).

After pouring and swirling about 75 ml in my sample glass, I notice the copper colour of the rum, which looks inviting. My initial nosing observation is that of disappointment as faint smells of sugar cane and spices are barely noticeable and underwhelming. I let the rum breathe for 10 minutes and the flavours are finally coming through with notes of toffee, butterscotch and oak.

The first sip was indeed enjoyable but the spiced taste was too prominent for my liking, overshadowing the flavours of toffee and caramel. This 40% ABV rum provides a light burn and the flavours remain on the tongue for several minutes.

I am indeed disapointed by this Cuban rum as it taste more like a spiced rum, therefore I am assigning a rating of “6”. In my opinion the “Santiago de Cuba 12 year” rum is a much better and balanced rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

This is a dark and sharp rum. First time I tasted it I could almost smell the cigar that should have been there

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 10 GPL. A semi sweet rum with a nice aroma of honey or caramel with some toasted, not burnt wood. A smooth tasting rum with a the sweetness of honey, oak, and the spices in this rum makes this rum taste a bit like a sweetened Scotch. Pleasant burn and no harshness. One of the better Cuban rums that I have tasted so far. Good on it's own and very good with a single ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Juan C from United States with 2 ratings

Being Cuban and visiting Santiago de Cuba has his privileges, I've tasted many Cuban and other country's Rum but I have never tasted a Rum so perfectly balance than this one. Is pure vanilla and burnt wood with a punch but it will last 3 seconds, NO alcohol after taste simply incredible highly recommended Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Deze rum scoort goed zowel bij de geoefende 'sipper' als bij de professionele 'mixer'.

Deze 11-jarige Cubaan blijkt de 'talk of the town' te zijn tijdens het Fiesta del Habano in Havana dit jaar. Dit is ook niet zo verwonderlijk daar dit een heel toegankelijke rum is.

Met zijn amber kleurtje en lichte tranen moet hij zeker niet onderdoen voor zijn oudere conculega's.
In de neus ervaren we een lichte alcoholroes met zelfs een vegetale toets. Zeker niet onaangenaam en vooral niet agressief. Zouden de trillingen van de treinen de rijping op eikenhouten vaten dan toch die magische touch geven (lees bijgeloof in Cuba).

Eens in de mond ervaar je alweer de zachtheid van deze Cubaan, die bij de eerste kennismaking toch wat karakter (ballen) mist. Dit merk je vooral bij de afdronk. Eens naar binnen weet je amper of je iets gedegusteerd hebt.
Bij een tweede slok meng je de rum met wat speeksel en plots laat hij je kennismaken met zijn zachte caramel en vanille toetsen. Maar na het slikken is hij even snel weg als gekomen.
Jammer, anders kwam hij aardig in de buurt van de 8.
Zullen we hem dan maar als 'the genie in the botlle' dopen?

Leuke foto's op mijn Instagram:
#rum_and_cigars

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

Experimente los sabores en capas ricos y suntuosos de este 11 años con notas sutiles de vainilla, madera añeja un toque dulce de miel y un excepcional final suave. Se disfruta mejor solo a temperatura ambiente acompañado por un vaso alto de agua con gas. Beba el agua primero, para apreciar los complejos sabores de este 11años que es mas que solo un numero no hay palabras el costo versus la calidad es unica lo malo es lo dificil de conseguir en la isla de cuba