Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year rum

Rate Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


60 Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by gbebe from Romania with 2 ratings

This rum will knock you down! The wooden aroma and the cognac-like old taste will rock your senses to the moon amd back!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Santiago de Cuba 11 year old rum during my last trip to Havana and the most surprising fact with the smell and taste is that it's very close to the much more expensive 20 year old Santiago de Cuba. The 11 year old has traditional Cuban flavors and some burn at the end, and in a blind test you would not be able to make a difference between the 11 and the 12 year old rums. It is a very dry rum for sure.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a deep amber colour, and a pleasant sweet smell. It is a strong rum to sip, although not too alcohol tasting. The rum has a richness to it, although I can't say that it has a specific flavour profile of anything specific. It is a little sweet and makes a rum and coke with an unusual "depth" to it - You know you're drinking rum with this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The Santiago 11 years has an elegant amber colour. With a light caramel smell, you notice a slight woody scent. The sipping is smooth with a light wood taste with a light honey finish. This rum is a must. One of my favorites.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bjørn from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Like a real cuban rum. Nice dark brown colour. Spices and sugar cane. Round complex taste. Seems much older than 11yo.

Posted 12 days ago by Tom from Panama with 3 ratings

Well balanced, with caramel notes offset by light fruity notes. Enjoy neat.

Posted about 1 month ago by TempleOfSunset from Italy with 32 ratings

This rum is exceptional for his price tag. Prominent aroma of burned oak, people of Santiago told me that it is because the barrels travels from Santiago to other cities on rails and trains, so that the casks release more aromas in the journey. Truly a wonderful choice if you are wandering those sumptuous lands... rich and well rounded, with a long lasting afterburn and a characteristic licorice and fired up flavour that you’ll hardly forget, like Cuba...

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation de Cuba à boire straigh ou avec une glace.

Posted 3 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

....but a little more of a lingering alcohol taste than l expected

Posted 5 months ago by Jeff.frances from Canada with 5 ratings

This is my everyday rum minus the everyday. Great Flavor. I prefer it on ice.

Posted 5 months ago by DimiKara from Greece with 3 ratings

At our last trip to Havana we really enjoyed this 11 years old rum. Taste is full and rich. I have to admit it is really close to Santiago de Cuba 20 years rum but the price has a significant deference. It is since then essential to our bar at home.

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Edit:
Got the pair of 12yo plus 11yo from friend of mine. Tasting them both at the time.
The differenses are subtle, still noticible. 11yo more fruity, 12yo stronger, smoky and oaky. Aftertaste feels longer for 12yo. 11 is smother and sweetier.
The similarities are obvious: both are amazing, fantastic.

Viva Cuba! Rating them both 10.

Perfect warming drink after cold Canadian day (too bad I did not order the cigar)

Posted 9 months ago by Pete034 from Australia with 20 ratings

Nice dark rum, which is my go to when I can’t find diplomatico.

Posted 9 months ago by Rhumer from Spain with 3 ratings

De entrada: no es un ron complaciente ni suave, es un ron del oriente de Cuba así que está hecho para los que más saben apreciar la intensidad de un ron. A mi me gusta especialmente precisamente por ser un ron muy tradicional, nada de los inventos esos que se ven en rones más famosos y a los que no les cabe un aditivo más.
De hecho, hice un artículo en un blog al que me invitaron y hablé precisamente del Ron santiago de Cuba, si quieren pueden verlo aquí
En resumen, un ron para los que quieran disfrutar de la escencia del ron cubano.

Posted 12 months ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

Nice a bit abvish vanilla sugar cane sweet nose. Gentle sweet start to a bit abvish body and caramel sweetness at end. Vanilla oaky roasty body and end.

Posted about 1 year ago by Erico from Peru with 8 ratings

Un ron muy suave en olfato, al pasarlo y despues de.

Posted over 1 year ago by yrytdl from Spain with 1 rating

With out doubt, one of the best rhum ambassadores from Cuba. A liquor that is an exhiliated from this modern trend that makes rhums tasting like brandys or cognacs. This is old school as it finest. If you can grab a bottle. Take care because there's a lot of copies coming out from the island.
The handicap, there's no stock of it anymore. Now you have to go for the 12 YO.

Posted over 1 year ago by Zoomer from Canada with 5 ratings

Had both the 11 year and 12 year. Hands down the 11 year rocks. I have someone bringing another bottle home next week

Posted over 1 year ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Il miglior ron cubano, rapporto qualità/prezzo eccezionali. Ron autentico, non la solita operazione di marketing

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael from Switzerland with 14 ratings

This is one of the Rums who I drink more, than it is not so Price like the other one from Santiago but the Quality and experience is (almost) the same. This is my favorite!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at the Santiago de Cuba stall at Cardiff Rum Festival.

A decent well aged Cuban rum, rich and spicy with great character.

Nose is spicy and fruity, theres exotic fruit and a touch of sherry raisin. It's smooth and incredibly sippable.

Posted about 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

I am going to stay away from tasting 13 rums at an event it is unfair to truly rate any rum. Based on a highly ruined palate this most likely is not a fair score and will need to try again. It just felt too mild. Now I try to keep my tastings to 4 maximum if I really want to be fair to the ratings.

Posted about 2 years ago by Carles Latorre from United States with 15 ratings

Discover it thanks to our guide in Cuba. it is an amzing rum, the only downsize, it is almost impossible to find it outside cuba.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill Zytkowicz from United States with 5 ratings

Lovely color with so many complex flavors. I also had Plantation 20 and Plantation Stiggins (today) to compare it too. Noses well, but tastes amazing.Molasses, dark brown sugar(almost burnt).. Delicious! Would buy a case if I could!!