Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10
292 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
40
75
118
40
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

292 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by DaveW from United States with 15 ratings

Very complex rum. A very good top shelf rum. Different then a typical rum with a bourbon, sherry, scotch type taste to it. Very drinkable and very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It is EXTREMELY easy to sip glass after glass of this rum, straight up, before you realize that you're laughing and nodding in agreement with people who aren't even talking to you. It's very smooth, and even though it's not the most complex rum I've ever had, nor the tastiest, it's pleasant enough and worth repeating - very smooth. I generally prefer rums that are less subtle and more demanding, but this is a nice enough change of pace.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

I like rum for the sweetness. This is just too dry for me, reminds me of rubbing alcohol. As a mixer it is fine (however a very expensive mixer), but straight up just doesn't work for me. It is my least favorite so far of the higher-end rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 65 ratings

Way better than its little brother Brugal XO/Extra Viejo. More complex, more balanced. Spicy but not too much, sweet but not too much, on the dryer side while "smooth". At 49$, good quality for the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A nice deep, dark amber color...almost a burnt orange. An aroma that isn't unpleasant. I can't put my finger on what it is however. I read somewhere that Brugal aims this rum for whiskey lovers and maybe that's why I'm not partial to it. I do not care for whiskey. Never developed a taste for the stuff. Same goes for Scotch and Bourbon (my Scottish ancestry may disown me and make me turn in my kilt). It has a major oak flavor to it that borders on unpleasant bitterness. It almost overrides a nice toffee sweetness (which is its saving grace in my humble opinion). After finding the Brugal Anejo delightful but the Brugal Extra Viejo disappointing (and that's being kind) I didn't know what to expect with the 1888. I was hoping for something spectacular but was disappointed. I had high hopes but they just weren't quite met. Honestly speaking, it's not a bad rum but for the price I would expect something much better. As it stands I cannot recommend this rum due to the quality not meriting the price it commands. There are rums of similar price that are far superior to the Brugal 1888 and even several rums less expensive that are superior to the Brugal 1888.

Can't win 'em all.

[ADDENDUM: Does play well with Coke Zero so I'm bumping it up a point.]

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

I had the pleasure of trying this from my brother's collection and enjoyed it. It was not sweet like many other rums I've tried and so that gave me the opportunity to focus more on the other flavors such as the oak and banana. It seemed to be well balanced all the way through. At first seemed a little dry, but the finish ended up being pleasantly smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

What a bargain this bottle is. Double aged in white oak and first fill sherry cask. It has a pure expression and according to hydrometer test's, a fairly small amount of added sugar. The nose gives away roasted coffee beans, brown sugar, leather, tobacco, oaky tannins and sherry cask. On the palate I get, once again, leather, tobacco, oak and brown sugar, but also roasted nuts and a hint of dried fig's roll's over the tongue. It has a nice body, not to sweet and slightly dry, unlike so many other overly sweet dominican rum. It has great texture in the mouth and a nice lingering, spicy little burn at the end.
It doesn't excel at any particular point, but for the money, it's just a great no nonsense sipper, perfectly enjoyed in the sun.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I was excited to try this based on both the price of the bottle and the current RumRatings score. But I really wasn't too impressed.

I like rums that smell and taste like rum. This has a very strong bourbon influence. Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, and toffee. Maybe a hint of sherry, tobacco and cinnamon as well. A bit too dry for my liking, this rum is just average to me.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Nerl from Canada with 11 ratings

I really like this one. With just one large ice cube. A bit of tongue tang at the start, but a nice lingering smooth finish that begs for another sip.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by alseick from Poland with 7 ratings

It's quite similar to Brugal Anejo, just has more flavour, more chocolate, and it is smoother, which makes it more sippable, yet it has lost a bit of kick of the cheaper one.
Whisky wood, some chocolate, raisins.
Very good mixer with coke, woody (whisky type, not fresh one).

The only reason I didn't rate it higher is the price, it does not reflect the difference between super cheap Anejo and 1888, and it is above some other famous rums in Europe.

Alternative if you like woody: Flor De Cana 12 (fresh wood, universal, but much less flavour), Dictador 12YO (old furniture French polish, bold not as pleasant).
Many people recommend Barbados rums for whisky drinkers, but I find them lacking whisky woodiness (Doorly's, Mount Gay). I find Forgotten Casks to be in the middle, so you might try that one.

Notes: whisky wood, chocolate
Wood: aged whisky wood
Fruits: none
Sweet: no, slight
Kick: low
Salty: none
Flavour: medium
Aftertaste: medium
Wine: none
Funk: none

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by mulorz from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Vypít se to dá, ale není to nic pro mě. Je takový suchý, ostřejší s příchutí kávy. Spíše bych ho doporučil do míchaných drinků.