Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (236 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
34
62
90
36
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


236 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Bd35648283037d3826ce59ce4f4b0f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Louis Locufier from Belgium with 4 ratings

Very rich aroma of old wood's and very nice taste, same taste as the aroma.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It is EXTREMELY easy to sip glass after glass of this rum, straight up, before you realize that you're laughing and nodding in agreement with people who aren't even talking to you. It's very smooth, and even though it's not the most complex rum I've ever had, nor the tastiest, it's pleasant enough and worth repeating - very smooth. I generally prefer rums that are less subtle and more demanding, but this is a nice enough change of pace.

03a90a9fb76769443f012d487de74c62.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

I like rum for the sweetness. This is just too dry for me, reminds me of rubbing alcohol. As a mixer it is fine (however a very expensive mixer), but straight up just doesn't work for me. It is my least favorite so far of the higher-end rums.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A nice deep, dark amber color...almost a burnt orange. An aroma that isn't unpleasant. I can't put my finger on what it is however. I read somewhere that Brugal aims this rum for whiskey lovers and maybe that's why I'm not partial to it. I do not care for whiskey. Never developed a taste for the stuff. Same goes for Scotch and Bourbon (my Scottish ancestry may disown me and make me turn in my kilt). It has a major oak flavor to it that borders on unpleasant bitterness. It almost overrides a nice toffee sweetness (which is its saving grace in my humble opinion). After finding the Brugal Anejo delightful but the Brugal Extra Viejo disappointing (and that's being kind) I didn't know what to expect with the 1888. I was hoping for something spectacular but was disappointed. I had high hopes but they just weren't quite met. Honestly speaking, it's not a bad rum but for the price I would expect something much better. As it stands I cannot recommend this rum due to the quality not meriting the price it commands. There are rums of similar price that are far superior to the Brugal 1888 and even several rums less expensive that are superior to the Brugal 1888.

Can't win 'em all.

[ADDENDUM: Does play well with Coke Zero so I'm bumping it up a point.]

Caf5fa937da39b01fb105c2bd6d41501.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

I had the pleasure of trying this from my brother's collection and enjoyed it. It was not sweet like many other rums I've tried and so that gave me the opportunity to focus more on the other flavors such as the oak and banana. It seemed to be well balanced all the way through. At first seemed a little dry, but the finish ended up being pleasantly smooth.

96e9bc451b80b665b4c1df57bbee2e8d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Way better than its little brother Brugal XO/Extra Viejo. More complex, more balanced. Spicy but not too much, sweet but not too much, on the dryer side while "smooth". At 49$, good quality for the price.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

I was excited to try this based on both the price of the bottle and the current RumRatings score. But I really wasn't too impressed.

I like rums that smell and taste like rum. This has a very strong bourbon influence. Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, and toffee. Maybe a hint of sherry, tobacco and cinnamon as well. A bit too dry for my liking, this rum is just average to me.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

What a bargain this bottle is. Double aged in white oak and first fill sherry cask. It has a pure expression and according to hydrometer test's, a fairly small amount of added sugar. The nose gives away roasted coffee beans, brown sugar, leather, tobacco, oaky tannins and sherry cask. On the palate I get, once again, leather, tobacco, oak and brown sugar, but also roasted nuts and a hint of dried fig's roll's over the tongue. It has a nice body, not to sweet and slightly dry, unlike so many other overly sweet dominican rum. It has great texture in the mouth and a nice lingering, spicy little burn at the end.
It doesn't excel at any particular point, but for the money, it's just a great no nonsense sipper, perfectly enjoyed in the sun.

7e27fb38eade778773c28d51984d950a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

I've tried almost their entire catalog, and the reviews for most of their line are spot on. They're average. The 7.6 rating this got gave me hope. Unfortunately it was misplaced hope. It's got very little to comment on aside from being harsh, and not very rum like. It reminds me too much of a bourbon. I drink rum for rum, not for wannabe spirits.

5f8159f179b5d1a4dd878775ce1e89e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Have to say got to try this rum from a buddy who paid $100 for the bottle we both do not sip rum so we mixed with coke the rum in our words has a very earthy taste maybe it's the sherry casks or the tobacco coming through or the dryness of the rum but for our money not one we'd revisit anytime soon

954a95a2744349b3eda2ae8602a96e90.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc from Canada with 4 ratings

What I like about the whole Brugal lineup is that they are drier than the average rum.1888 takes a dry Rum and finishes it in Macallan Sherry Casks. The result is a well balanced Rum that I could Sip on all night!