Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


235 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Excellent rum. I usually pay little mind to the packaging of spirits, I am a single malt man after all, but it is worth noting that in this instance Brugal has matched the innards to the outards perfectly. The whole presentation and tasting experience is true luxury and the deco themed bottled simply fits.
First pour this is a dry smokey rum with strong notes of raw grassy cane. It works well with the oak. Second pour the sweetness comes through more and the oak starts to give off vanilla while the nose picks up hints of Rocky Road ice cream. I like this Rum very much. Pricey but worth it when your dressing up.

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It is EXTREMELY easy to sip glass after glass of this rum, straight up, before you realize that you're laughing and nodding in agreement with people who aren't even talking to you. It's very smooth, and even though it's not the most complex rum I've ever had, nor the tastiest, it's pleasant enough and worth repeating - very smooth. I generally prefer rums that are less subtle and more demanding, but this is a nice enough change of pace.

Posted over 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

I like rum for the sweetness. This is just too dry for me, reminds me of rubbing alcohol. As a mixer it is fine (however a very expensive mixer), but straight up just doesn't work for me. It is my least favorite so far of the higher-end rums.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

I had the pleasure of trying this from my brother's collection and enjoyed it. It was not sweet like many other rums I've tried and so that gave me the opportunity to focus more on the other flavors such as the oak and banana. It seemed to be well balanced all the way through. At first seemed a little dry, but the finish ended up being pleasantly smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Way better than its little brother Brugal XO/Extra Viejo. More complex, more balanced. Spicy but not too much, sweet but not too much, on the dryer side while "smooth". At 49$, good quality for the price.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I was excited to try this based on both the price of the bottle and the current RumRatings score. But I really wasn't too impressed.

I like rums that smell and taste like rum. This has a very strong bourbon influence. Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, and toffee. Maybe a hint of sherry, tobacco and cinnamon as well. A bit too dry for my liking, this rum is just average to me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

A nice deep, dark amber color...almost a burnt orange. An aroma that isn't unpleasant. I can't put my finger on what it is however. I read somewhere that Brugal aims this rum for whiskey lovers and maybe that's why I'm not partial to it. I do not care for whiskey. Never developed a taste for the stuff. Same goes for Scotch and Bourbon (my Scottish ancestry may disown me and make me turn in my kilt). It has a major oak flavor to it that borders on unpleasant bitterness. It almost overrides a nice toffee sweetness (which is its saving grace in my humble opinion). After finding the Brugal Anejo delightful but the Brugal Extra Viejo disappointing (and that's being kind) I didn't know what to expect with the 1888. I was hoping for something spectacular but was disappointed. I had high hopes but they just weren't quite met. Honestly speaking, it's not a bad rum but for the price I would expect something much better. As it stands I cannot recommend this rum due to the quality not meriting the price it commands. There are rums of similar price that are far superior to the Brugal 1888 and even several rums less expensive that are superior to the Brugal 1888.

Can't win 'em all.

[ADDENDUM: Does play well with Coke Zero so I'm bumping it up a point.]

Posted over 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

What a bargain this bottle is. Double aged in white oak and first fill sherry cask. It has a pure expression and according to hydrometer test's, a fairly small amount of added sugar. The nose gives away roasted coffee beans, brown sugar, leather, tobacco, oaky tannins and sherry cask. On the palate I get, once again, leather, tobacco, oak and brown sugar, but also roasted nuts and a hint of dried fig's roll's over the tongue. It has a nice body, not to sweet and slightly dry, unlike so many other overly sweet dominican rum. It has great texture in the mouth and a nice lingering, spicy little burn at the end.
It doesn't excel at any particular point, but for the money, it's just a great no nonsense sipper, perfectly enjoyed in the sun.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

I've tried almost their entire catalog, and the reviews for most of their line are spot on. They're average. The 7.6 rating this got gave me hope. Unfortunately it was misplaced hope. It's got very little to comment on aside from being harsh, and not very rum like. It reminds me too much of a bourbon. I drink rum for rum, not for wannabe spirits.

Posted about 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

Have to say got to try this rum from a buddy who paid $100 for the bottle we both do not sip rum so we mixed with coke the rum in our words has a very earthy taste maybe it's the sherry casks or the tobacco coming through or the dryness of the rum but for our money not one we'd revisit anytime soon

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc from Canada with 4 ratings

What I like about the whole Brugal lineup is that they are drier than the average rum.1888 takes a dry Rum and finishes it in Macallan Sherry Casks. The result is a well balanced Rum that I could Sip on all night!

Posted almost 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

First time I had Brugal Extra Dry, I vowed never to drink a Dominican rum every again in life. I was so disappointed until I had Brugal 1888. I was at Rumfest in Miami a few years ago, when I tried Brugal 1888 for the first time. I had it on the rocks and in a simple daiquiri. Surprisingly it was delicious. It still had those extra dry notes, but it is more complex then it's mediocre / Bacardi like little brother, that white Brugal liquor. I like it in a daiquiri, but it would also be good in a mixed drink, just don't over work it.

Now for the price, it costs about $50 in New York, that's about $5-10 more than Ron Zacapa. I'm not sure if that 10-20% difference makes sense but even in Dominican Republic it is expensive. Bite the bullet, buy 1888 as soon as possible, because every time I turn around, it's winning a rum award and pushing up the price a buck or two here and there.

Posted 6 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

A bit pricier than other more complex rums or those with dimension. Good in general, but not great. Not a ton of dimension and a tad bit drier for an aged option, but works well neat or with a single cube of ice. Glad i tried it, but it is not on the go to list. ymmv

Posted about 4 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Very mature and classy rum. Hints of banana with leather greet you and iced it smoothly goes down with no burn. Very happy to have discovered this rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Nice dark colour , very astringent nose , smells like Airfix glue ? Still quite strong after 10 minutes in the glass. Fortunately its better than it smells , dry with a bit of a bite , can definitely taste caramel. A very smooth finish with very little burn. Quite a nice sipper but very good with cola , it seems to help bring more flavours out.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Some will be put off by the oak - it is prominent - or lack of 'smoothness' (aka 'distiller adds large quantities of sugars'), but this moderately priced rum borders on excellence. I suspect it is unadulterated; good. Quite distinctive with leather, tobacco and dark tea notes (pu erh-ish), some dark fruit encroaches just slightly with very dark chocolate tones...very satisfying. Considering how easily one can misspend money on 'premium' rums, this is accurately priced. A real switch-hitter from other standbys in the cabinet when you get bored. Reminds me of Appleton 12, and (less so) of Barbancourt 15.

As a scotch whisky fiend, I recommend to similarly addicted drinkers.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Is de beste brugal die ik heb gedronken .heel zachte na smaak deze mag zeker niet ontbreken in mijn collectie 👍👍👍👍. Een aanrader

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

rarely find a sipping rum that i rate under 7. and most people seem ok with this one. but the taste at star and finish don't do it for me or the guys at tasting night. just sayin'.

Posted over 4 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Brugal 1888 is Nice and smooth rum .
Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rick357 from Canada with 4 ratings

OK, good, but a bit on the 'average' side. It tries to cover all the bases yet ends up with no distinctive notes. A great sipping rum which won't upset many palates.

Like fine scotch, every fine rum going into my mouth does so without hindrance from mixes, water or ice. Neat cant be beat.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

I like this a lot. Spanish style, yes, but with the sweetness dialled down a bit, and very well rounded. The oaky falovurs are also there, in a balanced way, reminding me a bit of El Dorado 15 y. This is refined quality sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Raymond rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

This rum should be best enjoyed neat or with a small ice.

Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Bought this rum on a trip to punta cana to celebrate our anniversary. We visited the factory and left with this one.its nice not too sweet. And has a lovely golden colour Can be drunk straight or with coke. heavy glass bottle looks great in my home bar.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 3 to 5 gpl. This not an overly smooth rum but it is a strong tasting rum with aroma of spice, wood, coconut and vanilla in the glass and a nice burst of heat with a long finish. It has a touch of sweetness to counter the burning glow it has on the throat. It's a great mixing rum but I would pass on it as a sipping rum unless you like ice with your rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

This is a nice after dinner rum straight out of the bottle. Really really smooth, a bit dry, but the sweetieness is balancing out fine the dryness.