Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10
305 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
10
40
80
122
42
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

305 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

A lot of people are rating this high then me. So I need to try again to see what I am missing. This had oak, grass and earthy tones.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Peter841 from Slovakia with 9 ratings

Its one of less typical tasting rums. Dark and rich colour suggests sweetness but it is really dry. Aroma reminds me of rasins and caramel. The only taste I am able to name is that of well aged alcohol store in wooden barells. Overall its nice colour and smell in combination with neutral taste make it ideal for drinkers of cognac and whiskey but not for rum lovers who would like to see rum-like taste.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by gloamingdan from Hungary with 8 ratings

I'm generally not a huge fan of Brugal rums, but decided to buy a bottle of one of the more expensive ones to see what it can offer. I'm quite impressed with this rum, but it's definitely not a drinking rum. It bares the signature Brugal taste, but has way more depth and elegance. The colour and the smell is fantastic, but the taste itself is somewhat behind. Not too spicy, quite smokey, it's a great rum for sitting down and relaxing / thinking over stuff. It lacks true character so if your looking for a really memorable or unique taste this is not your rum. I still have the original bottle and taste it from time-to-time in small quantities. A nice addition to any collection, but nothing too crazy.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Razhy from Belgium with 22 ratings

I get a light caramel smell with lots of wood, tastes more like whiskey then Rum to me. Not bad flavour wise but i prefer leyenda every day.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by oedelpino from United States with 30 ratings

Great nose on a reddish bronze rum - oak, fruit and spice. On the palate, every bit as lovely. Oak out front in the palate with caramel, light fruit and spice joining in. Almost too easy to drink. At this price point, this is a steal.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

This one is a little deceptive, since on the nose you think you are about to taste something sweeter than it is. I got oak, a bit of caramel and fruit and molasses on the nose. I didn't get any caramel on the taste, but the other flavours were there.
On the tongue, I got a bit of a harsher alcohol taste than I was expecting and a medium dryness - there is some sweetness but it's more on the aftertaste, which is interesting. I think it may benefit from opening up in the glass a little, as it was one that I found got more and more enjoyable as I got down the glass. An initial almost harshness mellowed out to a rounder and deeper flavour. The rum has a very good and very strong aftertaste - a warming subtle hint of stewed fruit and the lingering flavour of enjoyable oaky molasses.
It's almost as if the rum does a round trip - smelling rounder and sweeter, feeling dryer and stronger on the tongue and then lingering as a rounded and sweeter aftertaste.
Got to be a winner!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

This is young drink, not so rich and heavy but soft

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

Rich molasses, vanilla, wood, tobacco, and slightly fruity notes. This one is wonderful in cocktails as well. I've used it for several "Smuggler's Cove" specs and it does wonders and adds a lovely depth.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 10 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 315 ratings

While flying through Madrid I found myself in the duty free liquor store early one morning and found a Brugal display bar sampling all their wares. Purchased an 1888 and have had it several times since. Nice upscale rum likely a 7 but found memories give it an 8.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by abrarey from United States with 38 ratings

I was a bit skeptic about buying this rum, glad that I did. Excellent Spanish style rum.
The Sherry cask really enhance this spirit and add some sweet notes to the rum that otherwise might be too woody and plain.
My favorite Spanish style rum so far.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by keithfoster00 from Canada with 7 ratings

Smooth drinking affordable rum. Vanilla flavour with no burn