Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (241 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
36
62
91
36
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


241 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Fab5fb1da7e3f387b1dcd0b91dc74d6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by max from Canada with 27 ratings

Brugal 1888 Gran Reserva Familiar
Origine : République Dominicaine
40 %
750ml
Nez : Vanille, caramel, cannelle
Bouche : Vanille, caramel, bois brûlé
Un goût trop simpliste pour un rhum ayant passé du temps en fût de bourbon et xérès. Les notes de xérès sont presque inexistantes. Pas mauvais mais décevant.

1cbdc6301aa8f6d82116f34d4c5f2f22.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 73 ratings

Reasonable price, good sipper. Tried it in New York. 7.5/10, rounded up to 8.

1be4adae1f2a6e785267fd6ed3745b5d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 46 ratings

This was definitely more sweet than expected but I enjoyed the smoothness of the flavor.

743c43b8811433009491c4776775a4a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Jasný rukopis, musím uznat, že verze 1888 je mnohem lepší než anjeo, ale stále je to Brugal. Už to není lak na rakve, je víc zakulacený, ale lihovost je tam stále. Dávám 7+ protože vůně je na 9 bodů.

840b5757aaeb05d667412d9399e544d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

I wasn't sure what to expect after opening the bottle and taking a sniff. It was unlike most rums that I've had. I could sense it's dryness and oak aromas and was curious as to how they would come across. Once poured and sampled. I tried this 3 different ways. Neat, chilled with a touch of water, old fashioned. I liked all three ways. The rum by itself is not overwhelming or harsh in any way. The oak cuts the sweetness without leaving it too dry. The mouthfeel reminds me of what roasting a marshmallow over an open flame smells like, except in liquid form. Very engaging, very impressed!

A27f601aba3b002cfafb2fe6c523f13d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jim from Canada with 5 ratings

Has an interesting floral notes, some sugary caramel but not much else. Short finish to boot. But easily drinkable and still enjoyable. Try it before you buy it

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

Having rated Brugal Anejo as the only rum worthy of a 1 star rating, I was curious about this one after reading so many rave reviews. Being that I do not like my rums aged in sherry or port or Madeira casks, I figured that I would not like this one. So I went to a well stocked rum bar today and ordered 5 pours of a half ounce each. This one is light years better than that awful Brugal Anejo, but the smooth taste going down is almost ruined by the sherry after taste. It is not quite enough to be annoying, but it is just not to my liking. I did finish my entire pour on this one, but it landed in the exact middle of the five rums that I tried. I won't be wasting money on an entire bottle of this one, but if you like sherry finish on your rums, then by all means go for it.

5a2d1a7f9beae1d0a7df6bda89946a9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

Extremely smooth, a bit more oaky than many of its compatriots. Was able to get 2 bottles for under $30/each (Canadian) before the LCBO went dry. At that price it was a ridiculous bargain and if/when it comes back it’ll likely cost $50 or more. And it would be worth it! One of the best sippers I’ve had the good fortune to try...

Ff1df9c1e8c20a9cb9aa35be149fdf71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Matt59 from France with 10 ratings

J'ai acheté ce rhum au duty-free lors d'une déplacement, je ne connaissais pas et je n'avais pas internet pour avoir un avis dessus. Pas du tout déçu, j'aime les rhum pas sucré et celui-ci ne l'est pas.

15c7f4c5caf9da98976ef316da0ae3ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Zane from Norway with 48 ratings

Rum oh rum! Not a fan of brugal, but 1888 definitely has its place in the rum shelf! Complex journey of tastes through the sip. First rather bity and industrial but that mixed with the sweet vanilla and bitter sugary aftertaste has something special about it.

D32d104c7cb6a8c29c13e78575447d42.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is ok.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)