Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


236 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

187e7c94078e3650e0c50418d30f9cc0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Welander from Denmark with 32 ratings

Ikke den bedste i skabet. Men okay. Er lidt stærk i smagen.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

Having rated Brugal Anejo as the only rum worthy of a 1 star rating, I was curious about this one after reading so many rave reviews. Being that I do not like my rums aged in sherry or port or Madeira casks, I figured that I would not like this one. So I went to a well stocked rum bar today and ordered 5 pours of a half ounce each. This one is light years better than that awful Brugal Anejo, but the smooth taste going down is almost ruined by the sherry after taste. It is not quite enough to be annoying, but it is just not to my liking. I did finish my entire pour on this one, but it landed in the exact middle of the five rums that I tried. I won't be wasting money on an entire bottle of this one, but if you like sherry finish on your rums, then by all means go for it.

5a2d1a7f9beae1d0a7df6bda89946a9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

Extremely smooth, a bit more oaky than many of its compatriots. Was able to get 2 bottles for under $30/each (Canadian) before the LCBO went dry. At that price it was a ridiculous bargain and if/when it comes back it’ll likely cost $50 or more. And it would be worth it! One of the best sippers I’ve had the good fortune to try...

Ff1df9c1e8c20a9cb9aa35be149fdf71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Matt59 from France with 10 ratings

J'ai acheté ce rhum au duty-free lors d'une déplacement, je ne connaissais pas et je n'avais pas internet pour avoir un avis dessus. Pas du tout déçu, j'aime les rhum pas sucré et celui-ci ne l'est pas.

15c7f4c5caf9da98976ef316da0ae3ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Zane from Norway with 48 ratings

Rum oh rum! Not a fan of brugal, but 1888 definitely has its place in the rum shelf! Complex journey of tastes through the sip. First rather bity and industrial but that mixed with the sweet vanilla and bitter sugary aftertaste has something special about it.

D32d104c7cb6a8c29c13e78575447d42.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is ok.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)

Dfb9dd8ffe4fb8f7a8536435a6c18162.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert from United States with 8 ratings

Deep amber color with notes of peaches and caramel.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Brugal 1888 is a brainteaser for me in the sense that during the first testing at the best rum bar in Chicago it tasted very good, strong vanilla but not over powering and sweet enough without being just loaded with sugar, and hardly any burn. Then the following day I got a bottle of it and tried it several times during the next 3 days and it was not that good at all. Strong unpleasant flavor and a strong burn, so it felt to be a very different rum to me altogether. I have to give it another chance in the future.

E01b06b72404540ebb6c5fa3bd73049e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 22 ratings

Bought for me but my wife from Spain...glad she did. Easy drinking and smooth on the palate...bottle finished:(

1c6488ee1589ac2651db079b802e06d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Only a bit sharp at the beginning, but smooths out. Notes of vanilla and cinnamon.

75480129464dbf2fb8bb7702340611a5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 53 ratings

Has flavors of caramelized sugar, toffee, and sticky dried fruits. Good for whiskey drinkers