Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10
305 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
10
40
80
122
42
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

305 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

A lot of people are rating this high then me. So I need to try again to see what I am missing. This had oak, grass and earthy tones.

Small 64116897081  11377d8f 03cf 48d5 8ae5 15a58aab2d5e

Posted 7 months ago by Golden Age Timothy from United States with 2 ratings

This is a shelf standard for me. I have no problem sipping it over a rocks cube or using it in cocktails. Just a solid lower-sugar tasty rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 59 ratings

This is a typical Cuban-Dominican rum....not sweet but spice and oak...just a bit too thin and alcohol after taste to put it in the easy sipping category.

I would really like to get my hands on some better tier Brugal rum.

Small j868gn

Posted 7 months ago by liviuhorgos from Romania with 18 ratings

Very balanced rum and fine sipping, adding pleasant aromas, not too high, not low on the nose, but also having great ones on the taste: caramel, cocoa, cinnamon and liquorice, dark chocolate and some cigar and lots of spice along with the interminable finish. On of the best tasted so far.

Small pe13li mince

Posted 7 months ago by Pe13Li from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

12 years of elegance - not too sweet, yet not heavy or sharp

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by monnich from United States with 7 ratings

I like this rum. I can taste the sherry. The nose has some candy and cake. A little bit of yeast on the finish.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Gabe from Canada with 5 ratings

Lovely rum, not too sharp but not too mellow either. Love the touch on the palet vailla, butterscotch, citrus. Amazing rum, straight up, and a decent price.

Small 49897d37 4ace 499e a67a 91d354ebedeb

Posted 7 months ago by Trotinete from Romania with 44 ratings

Schöne Bernsteinfarbe.
Im Geruch absolut unauffällig, ein wenig Karamell mit ganz wenig Alkohol.
Im Geschmack Vanille Karamell/ brauner Zucker im Abgang ein wenig Süße und Alkohol mit Holznote.
Gefälliger, guter Rum, kann man genießen,
aber nichts was einem vom Hocker wirft.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 50 ratings

Good burn to start. Dry, not sweet. Not very complex.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 34 ratings

En nariz cascara de naranja, chocolate, cuero, pasas, vainilla, en boca vainilla, caramelo y almendras tostadas,se siente picante agradable, bastante balanceado,y un final medio-corto.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by BigMarcus from United States with 24 ratings

Here we have a complex Rum that IMO should satisfy even the "Rum Snobs".
It is smooth but with some heat. Mildly sweet with notes of dried fruit, mild spices and brown sugar. Nice sipper. Beautiful presentation in and outside of the bottle. A definite must try. 😉