Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (251 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
38
64
96
37
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


251 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Welander from Denmark with 32 ratings

Ikke den bedste i skabet. Men okay. Er lidt stærk i smagen.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

An old batch of this series. Double-distilled and matured in American oak before a second maturation period in sherry casks.

N- Caramel and stewed fruits, herbal tea with layer of earthiness to keep it authentic. Soft breezy oak, and floral, again touch of feint from this multiple distilled spirits. White raisin, sour plum and dried fruit intertwined. (84/18)

P- Thin body, sweet kiwi, young banana and oak smokes, Easy on palate with touch of dusty oak, which is not a bad thing in this case. (83/18)

F- Medium, plums, clean oak with semi dry finish, touch of bitter sweet herbs. (85/19)

B/B- 84/18, having same issue to term with the low strength that restricted any profound flavours of the rum to come thru.

Weighted Rate- 73pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 176 ratings

Brugal 1888 GR
barva světlejší mahagon
vůně silnější
chutově nevyraznější dominikansky rum
celkově očekáváný výsledek u rumu z dominikany
6,5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AntonioNunez from United States with 10 ratings

Very well structured and balanced, wood and full bodied Dominican rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Vegard0 from Norway with 1 rating

Smells great, but dull after taste. Makes me wanna try something else.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

This was best at Top of the Market in San Diego. A little rough - a lime smoothed it out some.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Roberto Magadan from Dominican Republic with 4 ratings

Smooth Rum, not to strong.. sweet good for a neat drink without ice

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Interesting nose with a slight burn. The sip is not diverse and the burn continues beyond the initial taste yet I will stock it, not as a sipper but as a mixer. Coke, ginger ale, citrus all created a wonderful flavor well beyond the normal mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dmitrov from Belgium with 9 ratings

Hint of spices, coffee and dried fruit. Matured in White oak casks and sherry oak casks

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

apparently this was aged in Sherry casks for duration of time. Accordingly, it has a slight orange liqueur flavor to it. Overall, a pretty solid rum. However, the finish is not nearly as smooth as some of the premium rums I have tried. Has a little alcohol bite to it and is a little too hot.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

This was on the back shelf of our resort stay in Punta Cana. Deep, amber colour with mild aromas of honey, herb and alcohol. Decent body with little alcohol burn. Would have enjoyed the chance to savour from glass and time, but only had access to a plastic shot glass. I have a sealed bottle in the collection, so now I know it's at least worth the shelf space.