Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (280 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
40
71
114
38
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

280 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Clasat Rum. One can feel the rich cask taste from the moment the bottle is opened. Aromatic, matured rum, the woody white oak makes its presence felt throughout the sip, taste and aftertaste. Didn' t expect much from it but it really impressed me.

Small download

Posted 6 months ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 260 ratings

More subdued than XV, but the whole rum is buried under very unpleasant wooden flavor. The whole brand seems to be riddled with it, from the cheapest to Leyenda, and I did not dare to try more expensive Brugals with this reputation.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Nielf from Denmark with 152 ratings

En jævnt kedelig rom, der olle har særlig meget at byde på.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 122 ratings

Havde regnet med mere, men blev ret skuffet. Ikke decideret dårlig bare ikke god

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Flurk from Belgium with 10 ratings

Firts it’s a chock, you get a strong alcohol dry taste. Then you begin to taste the wood and for 5 to 10 minutes u still enjoy the soft taste. If it wasn’t for the strong alcohol taste in the beginning it would be a 9 for me. Definitely a good longaftertasty rum!

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 8 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 25 ratings

This is the first rum I bought as a sipper. I have since learned to stay away from bourbon cask rums, but this one wasn’t too bad. It was smooth and wasn’t overwhelming with the whiskey like quality that some rums can get from bourbon barrels.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I had the liquor store here bring it in. It’s very tasty but again I mix it. It’s good but has that twang that I don’t like but mixed with coke it’s amazing.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 25 ratings

Wow, this is a smack on your lips. The nose is strong, full of spices, chocolate and wood. Although this is 40 ABV, it feels warmer than that. The palate is more dark tones, wood, spices, burn sugar (maybe) and the finish is long. Even after 15 seconds, my tongue continues to spark like fireworks, dry. If you like bourbon, this could be a good try, as this rum seems to have a strong influence from the ex-bourbon casks.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This is a nice Rum, but I expected more. Its not sweet enough and a bit too dry for my taste. Its more like a whisky than a rum. Interesting enough the barrels used for this particular rum then go one to be used on The Mcallan 17, Brugal is known for a particular taste and style, but for this price I would have expected much more. Can be enjoyed Neat.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

Excelente ron, gran calidad, no es un ron dulce como Zacapa o zaya, en Boca el doble añejamiento es notorio, se detectan sabores amaderados, a melasa, frutos como duraznos, nectarinas, nispero. Es muy suave, el golpe alcohólico es muy agradable y fácil de beber. Pará tomarse derecho, en las Rocas o con unas gotas de agua.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This review is for the 2011 bottling batch 1. I must say this is an amazing rum. Granted I love brugal and Dominican rums in general. This rum is so smooth its like drinking water, the only very minor detectible alcohol is on its exit. It have a very good overall mouth feel and a good oaky spice and sweetness on its long finish. There is a strong earthy mineral characteristic to this rum. I must say this is a very strong rum. It also is the only rum I can recall that has such a heavy solid metal stopper at the top of the bottle. Beware though the cork on mine broke in half when opening this bottle so tip it for a bit if you have a dusty one laying around.