Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


236 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Raymond rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

This rum should be best enjoyed neat or with a small ice.

Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

This took me by surprise. Great flavor profile. Smooth, oaky flavor with subtle hints of sweetness. I would highly recommend this if you enjoy an aged rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

With a limited selection of rums where I live it is nice to see this stuff pop up for sale at the government liquor store. It goes for $33 USD. Easily the best rum in the price category for me personally.

Brugal is a Dominican brand with a rich history. Their master distillers know what they are doing! the cheap rums from them are unfortunately quite woody, but the 1888 is very rich and sweet from the sherry casks! I suspect added sugars as well though.. None the less I have an older edition bottle saved in my cellar for my senior years.

nose is soft and sweet, vanilla citrus and ocean spray. maybe bit of maple and plum?
nice light caramel coloration, and the nose matures in a cognac glass nicely.

flavor is sweet cherry and plums with spices, citrus and caramel.. very pleasant.

A nice sweet option from the Dom. Rep.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Good sipper, nice finish. Didn’t buy this one so I don’t know if it’s a good value. Need to try again.

Posted over 1 year ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Reasonable price, good sipper. Tried it in New York. 7.5/10, rounded up to 8.

Posted over 1 year ago by Haemonculi from United States with 46 ratings

This was definitely more sweet than expected but I enjoyed the smoothness of the flavor.

Posted over 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Jasný rukopis, musím uznat, že verze 1888 je mnohem lepší než anjeo, ale stále je to Brugal. Už to není lak na rakve, je víc zakulacený, ale lihovost je tam stále. Dávám 7+ protože vůně je na 9 bodů.

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

I wasn't sure what to expect after opening the bottle and taking a sniff. It was unlike most rums that I've had. I could sense it's dryness and oak aromas and was curious as to how they would come across. Once poured and sampled. I tried this 3 different ways. Neat, chilled with a touch of water, old fashioned. I liked all three ways. The rum by itself is not overwhelming or harsh in any way. The oak cuts the sweetness without leaving it too dry. The mouthfeel reminds me of what roasting a marshmallow over an open flame smells like, except in liquid form. Very engaging, very impressed!

Posted over 1 year ago by Jim from Canada with 5 ratings

Has an interesting floral notes, some sugary caramel but not much else. Short finish to boot. But easily drinkable and still enjoyable. Try it before you buy it

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

Having rated Brugal Anejo as the only rum worthy of a 1 star rating, I was curious about this one after reading so many rave reviews. Being that I do not like my rums aged in sherry or port or Madeira casks, I figured that I would not like this one. So I went to a well stocked rum bar today and ordered 5 pours of a half ounce each. This one is light years better than that awful Brugal Anejo, but the smooth taste going down is almost ruined by the sherry after taste. It is not quite enough to be annoying, but it is just not to my liking. I did finish my entire pour on this one, but it landed in the exact middle of the five rums that I tried. I won't be wasting money on an entire bottle of this one, but if you like sherry finish on your rums, then by all means go for it.

Posted over 1 year ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

Extremely smooth, a bit more oaky than many of its compatriots. Was able to get 2 bottles for under $30/each (Canadian) before the LCBO went dry. At that price it was a ridiculous bargain and if/when it comes back it’ll likely cost $50 or more. And it would be worth it! One of the best sippers I’ve had the good fortune to try...

Posted over 1 year ago by Matt59 from France with 10 ratings

J'ai acheté ce rhum au duty-free lors d'une déplacement, je ne connaissais pas et je n'avais pas internet pour avoir un avis dessus. Pas du tout déçu, j'aime les rhum pas sucré et celui-ci ne l'est pas.

Posted over 1 year ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

Rum oh rum! Not a fan of brugal, but 1888 definitely has its place in the rum shelf! Complex journey of tastes through the sip. First rather bity and industrial but that mixed with the sweet vanilla and bitter sugary aftertaste has something special about it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is ok.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert from United States with 8 ratings

Deep amber color with notes of peaches and caramel.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Brugal 1888 is a brainteaser for me in the sense that during the first testing at the best rum bar in Chicago it tasted very good, strong vanilla but not over powering and sweet enough without being just loaded with sugar, and hardly any burn. Then the following day I got a bottle of it and tried it several times during the next 3 days and it was not that good at all. Strong unpleasant flavor and a strong burn, so it felt to be a very different rum to me altogether. I have to give it another chance in the future.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 22 ratings

Bought for me but my wife from Spain...glad she did. Easy drinking and smooth on the palate...bottle finished:(

Posted almost 2 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Only a bit sharp at the beginning, but smooths out. Notes of vanilla and cinnamon.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 51 ratings

Has flavors of caramelized sugar, toffee, and sticky dried fruits. Good for whiskey drinkers

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

Circumstances play a lot, just left my barber , great place, nice haircut and beardsculpture .quite some nice rums (and other spirits too). Tasted the Brutal 1888. Not bad, not bad at all, u set the circumstances but won't run to the liquor shop to buy me a bottle. No distinct taste or nose. Just ok...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

De cuerpo sedoso con sabor profundo y con un final largo. Con notas avanilladas y miel de manera espectacular en boca con un retrogusto impecable

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Jedna z klasik. Za ty penize super piti. Trochu ostrejsi. Nic pro cubky

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Fink from United States with 10 ratings

Pleasant enough with dried leafy, raisiny flavors with a hint of caramel.
A mild spice on the tongue and a sight burn in the nose it makes a fair sipper.

Posted almost 2 years ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

8 με 9 ..... Ωραίο ρούμι !!!!! Τόσο γλυκό όσο πρέπει με μακρυά επίγευση καραμέλας χωρίς όμως να είναι πολύ γλυκό όσο άλλα ρούμια. ( θετικό) και ωραία μύτη. Σίγουρα πάνω από 8 ........ Άπλα ίσως να έχω επηρεαστεί από την πολύ ωραία χτεσινή παρέα που μπορεί να απογειώσει τις αισθήσεις αλλά και οποιοδήποτε ποτό πίνεις. !!!!!! Επιφυλάσσομαι για διόρθωση της βαθμολογίας (προς το καλλίτερο) !!!!!!!!!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Nice sipper over ice. A slight burn without ice but totally smooth with ice no need to ruin it with a mixer. It's a nice dominican blend aged for 8 years in ex bourbon in brick house and a second aging in ex-sherry casks for 6 years in brick houses. Nice fruity and slightly sweetened, can taste the flavours from both barrels coming through a slight smoky smoothness from the bourbon and a fruity raisin caramel finish. Wonderful