Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10
305 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
10
40
80
122
42
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

305 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Nerl from Canada with 11 ratings

I really like this one. With just one large ice cube. A bit of tongue tang at the start, but a nice lingering smooth finish that begs for another sip.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

Although my bottle was corked there were still notes that showed impressive complexity and depth. But unfortunately the corkiness (the only time that I have found with a spirit) completely ruined things. I really should buy another bottle, but.....

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

At first it seems quite good. But the taste doesn't last very long nor is it very complex. But if you are looking to serve decent cocktails, the Brugal 1888 will do the job just fine.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Great nose. Light color.

This rum seams to be a great divider of opinion due to the very dry taste. I like it. (The lowest score seems to have voted twice which has pulled down the average)

Caramel, sherry and a very, very light spice.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Tør rom. Lidt sødme. Ok til prisen.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

Very balanced flavor from start to finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Kevin from United States with 18 ratings

By far, Brugal's best rum. Very high quality reserve for a high yielding producer. Deep bananna, oak, and cherry flavors. A little abraisive on the tounge at first. I prefer it on the rocks, but can be straight up. Bordrline very dry.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

This a very good complex dry rum, with no added sugar and so none of the sweet doctored-up taste of so many of the "Z" rums (Zaya, Zacapa, Zafra). This is what rum should taste like - woody, smoky, leathery. A little on the pricey side and not one I would drink every day, but a nice bottle to own if you like that flavor profile.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Chuck from United States with 10 ratings

Amber color, vanilla, creme brûlée, light spice. Opened up with 1 ice cube

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Having had a multitude of Brugal's offerings, I must say Brugal 1888 is hands down the best I've ever had from Brugal. The sherry cask finish gives it a great rounded finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Very nice rum.