Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10
290 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
40
75
116
40
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

290 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Sly from Canada with 44 ratings

2nd best brugal after siglo di oro love the color

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

As a sipping rum I like it but there's nothing very special that leaps out to really make it generate taset fireworks in the mouth. Very easy to drink, like that it is relatively dry.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Greengator25 from United States with 15 ratings

I've always liked Brugal, there's just that flavor in their younger rums that comes out when I mix it with ginger beer, coke , or just lime. So when I found the 1888 on sale at Total Wine I had to give it a go. This was my first sipping rum in awhile at the time and its really smooth. It goes down well, it just has a dry finish that I didn't notice as much until I tried it back to back with another sipper I had just purchased. All in all I would buy it again, its great- but not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jörgen from Sweden with 28 ratings

personally to much taste from bourbon oaks
Good for wisky lovers
Mix between rum taste and wisky taste

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by carl from United States with 53 ratings

I had a glass of this sitting outside at the Four Seasons, very nice :-) Excellent dry sipping rum, with a bit of sweetness and a bit of burn.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

Had this during dinner, served neat. Nothing too great to write about, but nothing horrible. Not sweet. But not overly burning at the end. Good for the price, but nothing I would keep available at home.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by cogliatem from Italy with 10 ratings

personally to much taste from bourbon oaks
Good for wisky lovers
Mix between rum taste and wisky taste

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

If you smell this rum, you instantly reconize that it is not a light one. Vanille and alcohol. The taste is really distinctive. Full body, dominates all of your tastebuds and gives you a nice smokey flavour. The afterburn is really present but not unpleasant, it will make sure you will not forget this rum. Nice kick in it, good rum if you are looking for something dryer and less sweet, without sacrificing good flavours.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 357 ratings

Ve vůni příjemný, v chutí částečně sherry, sice není nasládlý typu Oliver, ale i tak zajímavý

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

You can order this at a good bar and sip on it. It does the job. It has a nice presentation of toffee and woody flavors. Unfortunately it is simply far too dry to be considered in the top echelons of rum sipping goodness. This this more like Tennessee whiskey labeled as rum. It’s by no means a bad choice, but there are better rums in the category for the price.

Nose: 7
Palate: 6
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 5
Versatility: 7
Price: 6

Total: 6.1

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by gdtrfb from United States with 32 ratings

A bit pricier than other more complex rums or those with dimension. Good in general, but not great. Not a ton of dimension and a tad bit drier for an aged option, but works well neat or with a single cube of ice. Glad i tried it, but it is not on the go to list. ymmv