Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (251 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
38
64
96
37
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


251 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by max from Canada with 27 ratings

Brugal 1888 Gran Reserva Familiar
Origine : République Dominicaine
40 %
750ml
Nez : Vanille, caramel, cannelle
Bouche : Vanille, caramel, bois brûlé
Un goût trop simpliste pour un rhum ayant passé du temps en fût de bourbon et xérès. Les notes de xérès sont presque inexistantes. Pas mauvais mais décevant.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 201 ratings

Nice dark colour , very astringent nose , smells like Airfix glue ? Still quite strong after 10 minutes in the glass. Fortunately its better than it smells , dry with a bit of a bite , can definitely taste caramel. A very smooth finish with very little burn. Quite a nice sipper but very good with cola , it seems to help bring more flavours out.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Some will be put off by the oak - it is prominent - or lack of 'smoothness' (aka 'distiller adds large quantities of sugars'), but this moderately priced rum borders on excellence. I suspect it is unadulterated; good. Quite distinctive with leather, tobacco and dark tea notes (pu erh-ish), some dark fruit encroaches just slightly with very dark chocolate tones...very satisfying. Considering how easily one can misspend money on 'premium' rums, this is accurately priced. A real switch-hitter from other standbys in the cabinet when you get bored. Reminds me of Appleton 12, and (less so) of Barbancourt 15.

As a scotch whisky fiend, I recommend to similarly addicted drinkers.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

Is de beste brugal die ik heb gedronken .heel zachte na smaak deze mag zeker niet ontbreken in mijn collectie 👍👍👍👍. Een aanrader

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

rarely find a sipping rum that i rate under 7. and most people seem ok with this one. but the taste at star and finish don't do it for me or the guys at tasting night. just sayin'.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Brugal 1888 is Nice and smooth rum .
Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rick357 from Canada with 4 ratings

OK, good, but a bit on the 'average' side. It tries to cover all the bases yet ends up with no distinctive notes. A great sipping rum which won't upset many palates.

Like fine scotch, every fine rum going into my mouth does so without hindrance from mixes, water or ice. Neat cant be beat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

I like this a lot. Spanish style, yes, but with the sweetness dialled down a bit, and very well rounded. The oaky falovurs are also there, in a balanced way, reminding me a bit of El Dorado 15 y. This is refined quality sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Raymond rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

This rum should be best enjoyed neat or with a small ice.

Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Bought this rum on a trip to punta cana to celebrate our anniversary. We visited the factory and left with this one.its nice not too sweet. And has a lovely golden colour Can be drunk straight or with coke. heavy glass bottle looks great in my home bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 3 to 5 gpl. This not an overly smooth rum but it is a strong tasting rum with aroma of spice, wood, coconut and vanilla in the glass and a nice burst of heat with a long finish. It has a touch of sweetness to counter the burning glow it has on the throat. It's a great mixing rum but I would pass on it as a sipping rum unless you like ice with your rum.