Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (236 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
7
34
62
90
36
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


236 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

187e7c94078e3650e0c50418d30f9cc0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Welander from Denmark with 32 ratings

Ikke den bedste i skabet. Men okay. Er lidt stærk i smagen.

A2a3b6564710167f18fa8021b9079031.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

I like this a lot. Spanish style, yes, but with the sweetness dialled down a bit, and very well rounded. The oaky falovurs are also there, in a balanced way, reminding me a bit of El Dorado 15 y. This is refined quality sipping rum.

3969afd5932be03dc7d6b79bd3b4222a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Raymond rodriguez from United States with 1 rating

This rum should be best enjoyed neat or with a small ice.

Complex, with the right balance between dry and sweet.

165804101807472fe290c504e205ca39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Bought this rum on a trip to punta cana to celebrate our anniversary. We visited the factory and left with this one.its nice not too sweet. And has a lovely golden colour Can be drunk straight or with coke. heavy glass bottle looks great in my home bar.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 3 to 5 gpl. This not an overly smooth rum but it is a strong tasting rum with aroma of spice, wood, coconut and vanilla in the glass and a nice burst of heat with a long finish. It has a touch of sweetness to counter the burning glow it has on the throat. It's a great mixing rum but I would pass on it as a sipping rum unless you like ice with your rum.

72075c153a9117247b58cd980ddf796c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by ManFly from Sweden with 19 ratings

This is a nice after dinner rum straight out of the bottle. Really really smooth, a bit dry, but the sweetieness is balancing out fine the dryness.

E3731de8f09e133a3c9a8f80a59c8775.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Shell from United States with 4 ratings

I very much enjoyed this rum. Notes of banana, coconut, and vanilla are primary while a hint of glue comes through (may sound weird but it is good). A very sweet and fruity rum, well balanced and smooth. Mixing would be a shame!

16030d40a95cf82be07f3755ddf178da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

It is the champ right now in my collection. But I am always looking for a new contender. Smooth caramel with a great finish

3d47552e1a3e6da6f980f4fc9d8295d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

This is a big favorite of mine to sip. You can taste the extra aging in the sherry casks. We love it and it is easily available on the east coast.

A98f150c10e6ead6f086b7c217653173.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Flurk from Belgium with 8 ratings

Firts it’s a chock, you get a strong alcohol dry taste. Then you begin to taste the wood and for 5 to 10 minutes u still enjoy the soft taste. If it wasn’t for the strong alcohol taste in the beginning it would be a 9 for me. Definitely a good longaftertasty rum!

C36065b815970fe3cb3f13719b27cdcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 14 ratings

This is the first rum I bought as a sipper. I have since learned to stay away from bourbon cask rums, but this one wasn’t too bad. It was smooth and wasn’t overwhelming with the whiskey like quality that some rums can get from bourbon barrels.