Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10
305 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
10
40
80
122
42
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

305 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Nerl from Canada with 11 ratings

I really like this one. With just one large ice cube. A bit of tongue tang at the start, but a nice lingering smooth finish that begs for another sip.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

Reminds me of a smooth whiskey. Not for mixing. Not sweet. Smooth sipper. Nice bottle and a pleasing addition to any collector's bar

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

This is a nice, smooth sipping rum. It's not too sweet and almost complex enough to justify the price. I say "almost" because there is a little something flat in the finish. It's not as noticeable a hole as in their Extra Viejo, but it's still a letdown considering I can get RL Seale's 10-year for cheaper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Sebastian I from Sweden with 14 ratings

A nice sipper, finding it difficult to decide if i like it more than siglo de oro. A little dry, oak, spice, licorice and maybe even a little salty.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by cK from Canada with 65 ratings

A very tasty rum to sip, especially for a Dominican rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

un nez tres doux
Une entree en bouche tres delicate, du velours...
Aromes de fruits secs, agrumes, caramel....tres subtil melange, une belle reussite
Une longueur en bouche tres appreciable pr un rhum typé espagnol
A recommander vivement à tous ceux qui aiment les rhums doux, sucrés (mais pas ecoeurant) et complexe.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

You can find far better Domincans.I recognized its origin at a blind tasting but i know like 5 other Domincans which give u more in this price-class. It simply lacks depth and the finish is watery

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Troels from Denmark with 7 ratings

This rum is a very decent sipping rum and it also fares well in drinks.

It is not the sweetest of rums but it has a round and smooth finish.

I would recommend som finnish liquiroce to accompany the rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Fairly hard to find. The flavors are weak, and could benefit from some sweetness. Mor oak than I like to have in a rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by DR Rum from Dominican Republic with 8 ratings

Great rum. A dry and less sweet dark rum that resembles a Scotch. It is also a bit dry. One of my favorites. I do find it a bit pricy but worth it. This one I only share with special guests.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Niels Lairitzen from Denmark with 11 ratings

This 100 anniversary edition is good, and not as dry as most of their range.