Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (280 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
8
40
71
114
38
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

280 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

A lot of people are rating this high then me. So I need to try again to see what I am missing. This had oak, grass and earthy tones.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

you would think the top tier product of any rum brand's portfolio would offer so much... but time and again i've reminded myself not to have any expectations of the liquid until after tasting it.

as packaging itself is very clean and premium, you would expect some quality anyhow.

it's not bad nor is it great. but it's good and won't easily disappoint yourself or your guests... but pricing can be a sensitive issue.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Nose: Vanilla, Caramel, very mild
Body: Pleasant and smooth with caramel tones, not so over-sweetened.
Tail: Balanced, mild, nicely,slowly developing
Bottle: under-average for a Rum of this age

I like this one, first Brugal which Ive had, but definitely an interesting one! I'm gonna have a bottle of this one

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by AC from United States with 28 ratings

Did not enjoy the aftertaste at all. It has a rough barrel finish.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Hank from United States with 17 ratings

This is definitely the best of the Brugal rums I have had but that said it doesn't hold up against the Zacapas or Centanario's. Not as creamy, no real legs, nowhere as smooth. It was also pricey so I won't be buying another.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Brugal 1888 er en rom uden den store eftersmag, sødmen er lige ved at gøre den tør. Ikke min favorit.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

Reminds me of a smooth whiskey. Not for mixing. Not sweet. Smooth sipper. Nice bottle and a pleasing addition to any collector's bar

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

This is a nice, smooth sipping rum. It's not too sweet and almost complex enough to justify the price. I say "almost" because there is a little something flat in the finish. It's not as noticeable a hole as in their Extra Viejo, but it's still a letdown considering I can get RL Seale's 10-year for cheaper.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Sebastian I from Sweden with 14 ratings

A nice sipper, finding it difficult to decide if i like it more than siglo de oro. A little dry, oak, spice, licorice and maybe even a little salty.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 64 ratings

A very tasty rum to sip, especially for a Dominican rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Goutlar2013 from France with 24 ratings

un nez tres doux
Une entree en bouche tres delicate, du velours...
Aromes de fruits secs, agrumes, caramel....tres subtil melange, une belle reussite
Une longueur en bouche tres appreciable pr un rhum typé espagnol
A recommander vivement à tous ceux qui aiment les rhums doux, sucrés (mais pas ecoeurant) et complexe.