Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (265 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
39
69
103
38
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


265 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

A lot of people are rating this high then me. So I need to try again to see what I am missing. This had oak, grass and earthy tones.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc from Canada with 4 ratings

What I like about the whole Brugal lineup is that they are drier than the average rum.1888 takes a dry Rum and finishes it in Macallan Sherry Casks. The result is a well balanced Rum that I could Sip on all night!

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

First time I had Brugal Extra Dry, I vowed never to drink a Dominican rum every again in life. I was so disappointed until I had Brugal 1888. I was at Rumfest in Miami a few years ago, when I tried Brugal 1888 for the first time. I had it on the rocks and in a simple daiquiri. Surprisingly it was delicious. It still had those extra dry notes, but it is more complex then it's mediocre / Bacardi like little brother, that white Brugal liquor. I like it in a daiquiri, but it would also be good in a mixed drink, just don't over work it.

Now for the price, it costs about $50 in New York, that's about $5-10 more than Ron Zacapa. I'm not sure if that 10-20% difference makes sense but even in Dominican Republic it is expensive. Bite the bullet, buy 1888 as soon as possible, because every time I turn around, it's winning a rum award and pushing up the price a buck or two here and there.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 11 ratings

Very nice. Smooth up front with a nice finish. Very calm on the nose

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by SmashedBottle from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Great dark smell. The barrel is in great marriage with the spirit.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

As a sipping rum I like it but there's nothing very special that leaps out to really make it generate taset fireworks in the mouth. Very easy to drink, like that it is relatively dry.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Greengator25 from United States with 4 ratings

I've always liked Brugal, there's just that flavor in their younger rums that comes out when I mix it with ginger beer, coke , or just lime. So when I found the 1888 on sale at Total Wine I had to give it a go. This was my first sipping rum in awhile at the time and its really smooth. It goes down well, it just has a dry finish that I didn't notice as much until I tried it back to back with another sipper I had just purchased. All in all I would buy it again, its great- but not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jörgen from Sweden with 28 ratings

personally to much taste from bourbon oaks
Good for wisky lovers
Mix between rum taste and wisky taste

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

I had a glass of this sitting outside at the Four Seasons, very nice :-) Excellent dry sipping rum, with a bit of sweetness and a bit of burn.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 47 ratings

Had this during dinner, served neat. Nothing too great to write about, but nothing horrible. Not sweet. But not overly burning at the end. Good for the price, but nothing I would keep available at home.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by cogliatem from Italy with 10 ratings

personally to much taste from bourbon oaks
Good for wisky lovers
Mix between rum taste and wisky taste