Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 rum

Brugal 1888

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal 1888 is 'double aged', first aged up to 8 years in American oak barrels followed by Spanish oak sherry casks for up to 6 years.

7.5/10 (265 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
39
69
103
38
5

Rate Brugal 1888

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


265 Brugal 1888 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

A lot of people are rating this high then me. So I need to try again to see what I am missing. This had oak, grass and earthy tones.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Interesting nose with a slight burn. The sip is not diverse and the burn continues beyond the initial taste yet I will stock it, not as a sipper but as a mixer. Coke, ginger ale, citrus all created a wonderful flavor well beyond the normal mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dmitrov from Belgium with 9 ratings

Hint of spices, coffee and dried fruit. Matured in White oak casks and sherry oak casks

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

apparently this was aged in Sherry casks for duration of time. Accordingly, it has a slight orange liqueur flavor to it. Overall, a pretty solid rum. However, the finish is not nearly as smooth as some of the premium rums I have tried. Has a little alcohol bite to it and is a little too hot.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

This was on the back shelf of our resort stay in Punta Cana. Deep, amber colour with mild aromas of honey, herb and alcohol. Decent body with little alcohol burn. Would have enjoyed the chance to savour from glass and time, but only had access to a plastic shot glass. I have a sealed bottle in the collection, so now I know it's at least worth the shelf space.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Randeroo43 from United States with 2 ratings

Hints of wood and vanilla. Not flavorful enough for my tastes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc from United States with 1 rating

Well it was Grand Reserve which surprised me. It is pleasant enough to drink but lacks complexity and long finish. Mild oak with some sweetness but that is about all.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...personal taste, but also not bad at all. I’ll buy another bottle when time comes. The new design with the net around the bottle and the waxed closure is pretty cool!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Harsh burn to the nose. Quite sweet, almost sour scent. The sherry comes through strong. Very smooth, little light in flavour. Vanilla and a mild whiskey taste, likely from the casks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Backwatertech from United States with 11 ratings

Bought a dusty bottle off a shelf at a local liquor store. First tasting was very smooth with nice vanilla, caramel, orang and banana notes. Fairly long spicy finish. I’d buy it again

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Zoomer from Canada with 5 ratings

Found to be smooth with a well rounded taste that is not overly sweet. Nice sipping rum or mixed with Coke....