Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Jamaica rum

Rate Plantation 2001 Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Plantation 2001 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I can now officially say that C. Ferrand's Plantation rum is one of my favorite brands (along with Diplomatico, El Dorado, Siesta Key, Clement, Kirk & Sweeney, and Vizcaya). This one is difficult to adequately describe. Definitely complex. The aroma is pungent and somewhat earthy. The alcohol is definitely present. Upon tasting it I am bombarded with several flavors well blended to create something unique. No specific flavor really jumps out at you. It is a bit sweet but counterbalanced well with an oakiness. It is extremely smooth with not a burn but an enveloping warmth that lingers for a bit with a tingle on the tongue then fading into....okay this is probably going to sound weird...a sort of cotton candy aftertaste. Not a strong cotton candy like at the county fair but a subtle version. I like it. This would make a wonderful sipping rum after a good meal at a top-of-the-line seafood restaurant (I'm biased...I live near the Gulf Coast in Florida) or any good restaurant equipped with a full bar (sadly most bars I encounter do not have premium rums).

Posted almost 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Sa couleur acajou séduit au premier regard. Au nez, ce millésime 2001 exprime des effluves exotiques (ananas, mangue) et épicées (clou de girofle, muscade...). La dégustation révèle un rhum d'une belle rondeur, magnifié par la fraîcheur des notes de canne à sucre. Un rhum puissant qui exprime avec vigueur un caractère pleinement enraciné dans son île natale, la Jamaïque.

Posted almost 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

Smell: Honey and light oak? The smell has something I can't figure out, but I like it.

Taste: Going easy and slow with this and it changes on me. More honey and orange fruits with a finish that is foreign to me but delightful...possibly a vegetal or mint/basil note that stays only for a moment on the finish...is that the oak???? Well done.

Not on the sweet side either! Any spice that could be detected is going to be something like a coriander.

A truly great rum, that has managed to make me forget that it was aged in oak. I've been mixing other more expensive and extensively aged rums together to balance out problems with sweetness, over-oaking, and too much spice, but every drop of this rum will be enjoyed as it is in the bottle!

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Yet another success with this vintage 2001 Plantation Jamaica. Vegetable and floral notes on the nose with oak that harmonizes the whole. A nice complexity which demonstrates the quality of the Master Blender . A very sweet rum with fruity notes of banana and pineapple with a very long final .

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Sweetened, treated in cognac-casks...Ahh, I would never see through this anonymous nothing to identify its origin. Jamaica? Really? Nah....

Posted over 1 year ago by Razia from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Dry and bad taste. Total disappointment after all of those great Plantation rums.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Nope dont like...
Taste like a cheap rum.
Rum who has nothing to offer.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

This is hogo with class - I want this rum neat in almost all situations. Its luscious, sexy, very well balanced, and with a lingering, spicy finish. The hogo doesn't hit you over the head, rather it invites you in, like the sounds of George Clinton from within some high-class bar. Recommended.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is good.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)

Posted about 2 years ago by casey from United States with 9 ratings

oak and Hugo on the nose! palate is fruity but not to sweet a lot of Hugo in Jamaican tradition. light oak with lottle to no burn going down

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Pas un grand rhum, mais reste qu'il se boit bien. Assez typique de Plantation

Posted over 2 years ago by Robin Norberg from Sweden with 8 ratings

It’s a lot of fruit in the taste. A bit strong in the first zip for me

Posted over 2 years ago by Umberto from Italy with 16 ratings

Forte nota di tabacco, ottimo col cioccolato fondente. Notevole

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Drinking it this christmas and i'll get another bottle for sure! Really nice drink!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I had a chance to try out the Plantation Jamaica 2000 and 2001 back-to-back and they both have a very weird rubber smell to them. Maybe it's the Jamaica Glue which other reviews are referring to. It is offputting to start with and the taste test does not convince me either. There is surprisingly strong burn at the end, which the Plantation Jamaica 2001 did not have at all. Jamaica 2000 deserves a 5, and it's only marginally worse than the Jamaica 2001 which scores a low 6.

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

A little less on the nose than le reunion but doesn’t disappoint. The sweetness hits the tongue and is very smooth. Similar characteristics of reunion to me but a little dull in comparison but definitely great. A little fruit and minimal heat combined with those candy flavors comes together well

Posted over 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Purchased for $34.99 at Total Wine. I have always liked Plantation rums, and consider their 20th Anniversary version as my all time favorite. So i decided to try this 2001 edition Jamaica rum. The nose is a bit different, can't put my finger on it - similar to their Original Dark - I think they call it a "funk". Not my most favorite rum, but a decent one. Adding a splash of water helps soften the finish. Would I buy it again? Probably not.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jeremy from France with 3 ratings

Sympa, assez fort en bouche. Pas mal avec un bon cigare

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Full. lifted moisture of ripe tropical fruits, peach, plum, raisin and prunes. Also toffee, dark caramel, liquorice and whiff of leather, soft charred notes. Elegantly spicy, soothing mint and chocolate. Some grass develop with off tune musky brine lurking. (20/25)

P- Solid mouthfeel, medium to full body with tard pomerol peels, sweet coats of syrupy sugar with strong mineral at the tails. Get salty overtimes, which in opinion it make the taste gone a wee weird. (18/25)

F- Medium, much fruit driven with cinnamon, nutmeg and sweet spices, which is all fine, but the underlay touch of brine doesn't seems to gel with the sweetness. (18/25)

Balanced:- The disturbing touch of musky brine amplify the sweetness, and make the finishing a wee cloying (17/25)

Weighted Rate:- 73pt

The Rum Bar KL

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

A lot of spice, brown sugar, oak?

I have to admit I'm not familiar with the other Jamaican distilleries besides Appletons but to me, this is flagrant. Wheres the funk?

I feel that the distinctive syrupiness of many Plantation rums are becoming signature for me.

It's flavorfull nonetheless and maybe I have to keep trying more spirits but the impression I have is that this rum feels tainted.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

Big fan of the aged Plantation line in general, this one is definitely fun to sip on but was really expecting it to wow me a bit more. Still a great price for a rum of this quality so can't complain too much.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

This rum, while touting it's Jamaican origin, is much more sophisticated than anything I've tasted from Appleton.
You'll get a good note of molasses with an almost pineapple like tang. Let this one out sit out in w glass for a few minutes for a really mind blowing sip.

Posted about 3 years ago by CatO9Tails from United States with 2 ratings

Pleasing gold color, good rum scent, and the flavor...mmmmm! Very strong notes of pineapple (and I love pineapple) along with banana, brown sugar and a touch of molasses. Super-smooth, not harsh at all, no alcohol burn. Body is a touch on the light side for a rum. Sweetness is perfect for me. Just sweet enough to be a treat, but not cloying or syrupy. Aftertaste is a sustain of the original flavor, which is a good thing. Great sipper.

The boutique retailer I bought it from described it as a bit funky. I thought so too at first, which I attributed to the touch of molasses flavor. Halfway through the bottle, I don't really notice it so much, to be honest. Anyway, funky or not, this one's a winner in my book. At its price point, it won't be an everyday rum for me, but more of an occasional special bottle.

In fact, I think I'm gonna pour myself an extra splash right now...

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .




#