Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Jamaica rum

Rate Plantation 2001 Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Plantation 2001 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

086fb3a08fe752fbfa48c815b54ef5f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I can now officially say that C. Ferrand's Plantation rum is one of my favorite brands (along with Diplomatico, El Dorado, Siesta Key, Clement, Kirk & Sweeney, and Vizcaya). This one is difficult to adequately describe. Definitely complex. The aroma is pungent and somewhat earthy. The alcohol is definitely present. Upon tasting it I am bombarded with several flavors well blended to create something unique. No specific flavor really jumps out at you. It is a bit sweet but counterbalanced well with an oakiness. It is extremely smooth with not a burn but an enveloping warmth that lingers for a bit with a tingle on the tongue then fading into....okay this is probably going to sound weird...a sort of cotton candy aftertaste. Not a strong cotton candy like at the county fair but a subtle version. I like it. This would make a wonderful sipping rum after a good meal at a top-of-the-line seafood restaurant (I'm biased...I live near the Gulf Coast in Florida) or any good restaurant equipped with a full bar (sadly most bars I encounter do not have premium rums).

361ed965ec9d58668d7ae9ad12489380.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Sa couleur acajou séduit au premier regard. Au nez, ce millésime 2001 exprime des effluves exotiques (ananas, mangue) et épicées (clou de girofle, muscade...). La dégustation révèle un rhum d'une belle rondeur, magnifié par la fraîcheur des notes de canne à sucre. Un rhum puissant qui exprime avec vigueur un caractère pleinement enraciné dans son île natale, la Jamaïque.

Bb42a4ca16db40f77d397163fb73a148.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

Smell: Honey and light oak? The smell has something I can't figure out, but I like it.

Taste: Going easy and slow with this and it changes on me. More honey and orange fruits with a finish that is foreign to me but delightful...possibly a vegetal or mint/basil note that stays only for a moment on the finish...is that the oak???? Well done.

Not on the sweet side either! Any spice that could be detected is going to be something like a coriander.

A truly great rum, that has managed to make me forget that it was aged in oak. I've been mixing other more expensive and extensively aged rums together to balance out problems with sweetness, over-oaking, and too much spice, but every drop of this rum will be enjoyed as it is in the bottle!

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Yet another success with this vintage 2001 Plantation Jamaica. Vegetable and floral notes on the nose with oak that harmonizes the whole. A nice complexity which demonstrates the quality of the Master Blender . A very sweet rum with fruity notes of banana and pineapple with a very long final .

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Sweetened, treated in cognac-casks...Ahh, I would never see through this anonymous nothing to identify its origin. Jamaica? Really? Nah....

3de2914d69dd8063735fea3fef760de2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Razia from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Dry and bad taste. Total disappointment after all of those great Plantation rums.

B46a244c578b8d3b67e5fb1ce79c70cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Nope dont like...
Taste like a cheap rum.
Rum who has nothing to offer.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

This is hogo with class - I want this rum neat in almost all situations. Its luscious, sexy, very well balanced, and with a lingering, spicy finish. The hogo doesn't hit you over the head, rather it invites you in, like the sounds of George Clinton from within some high-class bar. Recommended.

D32d104c7cb6a8c29c13e78575447d42.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Smell is ok.
Taste is good.
Aftertaste is ok.
;-)

D3ff4006d9f3a633c536aad3b5e770bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by casey from United States with 9 ratings

oak and Hugo on the nose! palate is fruity but not to sweet a lot of Hugo in Jamaican tradition. light oak with lottle to no burn going down