Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Jamaica rum

Plantation 2001 Jamaica

Caribbean | Aged

7.1/10 (54 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
2
6
16
20
6

Rate Plantation 2001 Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Plantation 2001 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Pas un grand rhum, mais reste qu'il se boit bien. Assez typique de Plantation

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robin Norberg from Sweden with 8 ratings

It’s a lot of fruit in the taste. A bit strong in the first zip for me

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Umberto from Italy with 16 ratings

Forte nota di tabacco, ottimo col cioccolato fondente. Notevole

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Drinking it this christmas and i'll get another bottle for sure! Really nice drink!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

I had a chance to try out the Plantation Jamaica 2000 and 2001 back-to-back and they both have a very weird rubber smell to them. Maybe it's the Jamaica Glue which other reviews are referring to. It is offputting to start with and the taste test does not convince me either. There is surprisingly strong burn at the end, which the Plantation Jamaica 2001 did not have at all. Jamaica 2000 deserves a 5, and it's only marginally worse than the Jamaica 2001 which scores a low 6.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

A little less on the nose than le reunion but doesn’t disappoint. The sweetness hits the tongue and is very smooth. Similar characteristics of reunion to me but a little dull in comparison but definitely great. A little fruit and minimal heat combined with those candy flavors comes together well

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Purchased for $34.99 at Total Wine. I have always liked Plantation rums, and consider their 20th Anniversary version as my all time favorite. So i decided to try this 2001 edition Jamaica rum. The nose is a bit different, can't put my finger on it - similar to their Original Dark - I think they call it a "funk". Not my most favorite rum, but a decent one. Adding a splash of water helps soften the finish. Would I buy it again? Probably not.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Jeremy from France with 3 ratings

Sympa, assez fort en bouche. Pas mal avec un bon cigare

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Full. lifted moisture of ripe tropical fruits, peach, plum, raisin and prunes. Also toffee, dark caramel, liquorice and whiff of leather, soft charred notes. Elegantly spicy, soothing mint and chocolate. Some grass develop with off tune musky brine lurking. (20/25)

P- Solid mouthfeel, medium to full body with tard pomerol peels, sweet coats of syrupy sugar with strong mineral at the tails. Get salty overtimes, which in opinion it make the taste gone a wee weird. (18/25)

F- Medium, much fruit driven with cinnamon, nutmeg and sweet spices, which is all fine, but the underlay touch of brine doesn't seems to gel with the sweetness. (18/25)

Balanced:- The disturbing touch of musky brine amplify the sweetness, and make the finishing a wee cloying (17/25)

Weighted Rate:- 73pt

The Rum Bar KL

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

A lot of spice, brown sugar, oak?

I have to admit I'm not familiar with the other Jamaican distilleries besides Appletons but to me, this is flagrant. Wheres the funk?

I feel that the distinctive syrupiness of many Plantation rums are becoming signature for me.

It's flavorfull nonetheless and maybe I have to keep trying more spirits but the impression I have is that this rum feels tainted.