Posting your rating...
Penny Blue XO Batch 001 rum

Penny Blue XO Batch 001

Mauritius | Aged

7.7/10 (41 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
22
7
1

Rate Penny Blue XO Batch 001

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Penny Blue XO Batch 001 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Vibrant oak and caramelized portobello mushrooms! Bitter chocolate and orange citrus! Bourbon vanilla! The nose is HUGE. The drink is dry and sharp almost stringent and bottled at 43.2 the heat numbs and lingers. I paired Blue Penny with Kiwi, black cherries, raw almonds, dried turkish apricots and extremely tart green just about to start blushing gravenstein apples. Fight fire with fire it's said and my oh my these acidic mates really brought out the warm smokey qualities of this rum.
I'm a fan and though pricey I have found a place that out the door lessens my wealth by $53.99 which is great because I have seen it around the $70.00 mark at a so called 'mega store'. Would I spend $70.00 for this rum? The competition is fierce at that mark and not just for rum!! Options are a plenty why not spend a little more and drink with the angels!? Well Penny Blue skies shine bright and life is good as is. At half a century this is top of the peak sipping rum for the Scotch whiskey and dry rum lovers.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 0 GPL. This is pure classic rum. No sugar or additives. Similar to the Mt Gay 1703 XO, but this rum has a natural sweetness with a trace of citrus from aging in cognac barrels. The wood, tobacco, honey,fruit, and vanilla are all present and balanced quite well in this mix. This rum has a strong flavour but is quite smooth with some bite. For those that don't like sweetened rum, this is a good one to purchase.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Very tasty, very smooth sipping rum with fragrant oak, toffee and spice. Similar flavor profile to top-tier Bajans. It has a natural sweetness despite zero added sugar, color or filtering. My bottle is from Batch #1, distilled at 88 proof. Eager to try Batch #2, which is supposed to be even better, though I can't imagine how...

Update Nov. 2016...Just tried Batch #4. Excellent. 9/10.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by IKEDA JUNICHI from Japan with 19 ratings

If you like agricole rhum and cognac, I reccommend this.

Nose: floral, gorgeous, orange, light oak

Taste: honey, brown cane suger, but not too sweet,

Finish: apricot,

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by foufvious from United States with 6 ratings

even my whiskey friends enjoy sharing this rum with me.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

According to the label this is Single Estate Mauritian rum. Since geography was never my strong suit I have to look up where Mauritius is. It turns out to be an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 1200 miles off the African coast. From some of the photos I've seen, it looks like a wonderful place to take a vacation. Now if I could only win a big lottery.

But I digress...

I have to say from the outset that I find this rum delightful. It has a beautiful light amber hue and has an equally wonderful aroma. Swirling it in my snifter reveals excellent legs. My bottle is from Batch #1. I've seen Batch #4 reviewed online. I haven't a clue as to how they all differ. I'd love to find out. Maybe they'd send me some to compare? Oh well...one can dream.

Once again I digress...

There is an oiliness to it that keeps in on the tongue long enough to enjoy the flavors. There is a distinct vanilla/caramel combination along with an oak buzz from the barrels in which the rum is aged. There's a slight pepperiness as well. Although it is 88.2 proof (44.1% ABV) there really isn't much of a burn. Rather there is an appreciative warmth in the back of the throat which lingers a bit before fading. It is quite smooth with just an appreciable tad of sweetness. I personally do not detect any sweetening with this rum. This is an excellent sipping rum and I recommend it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Ordered a shot of this at a local rum bar. (Twice.) Holy cow—this is some good stuff. Only slightly sweet, no added sugar, and very, very smooth. Slightly smokey from the barrel-aging. If only it wasn't so darned hard to find in my area...

8+ (original rating 9-)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 26 ratings

Smooth with with a lasting aftertaste. Easy drinking. Pleasant fresh aroma. Worth a trip to Mauritius to buy a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

Batch #001
Beautiful light yellow color.

Trying this neat and I am having a hard time placing the aromas. I will try with a few drops of water soon.

Mouth feels is what I would expect from a 44% ABV. Maybe the little water will change that.

Batch #002

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kim from Australia with 53 ratings

I taste vanilla and oak with bourbon at the back. Reminds me strongly of Mount Gay. Will have to get a bottle of the XO Mount Gay to compare side to side. Nose is quite strong. Sweet with a dry finish. After some dark chocolate a mouthful tasted a bit like acetone so that was a pairing that did not work!!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

Batch 001.

This is definitely a cognac aged rum, with a little whisky aging as well. I like it, but I think the cognac/whisky have a little too much influence. I generally prefer straight rum.

Smells and tastes of cognac, whisky, and a touch of vanilla and honey. Nice at 44%abv, but not enough rum flavor for me to rate it higher.