Posting your rating...
Selvarey Cacao rum

Selvarey Cacao

Panama | Flavored

8.2/10 (21 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
9
3
4

Rate Selvarey Cacao

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Selvarey Cacao ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

I'm generally not a huge fan of flavored rum, but this is surprisingly good. Tastes of a really nice cacao. Smooth, but like most flavored rums, a bit light at 35%. Still, one of the much better flavored rums.

D883c200dfc20db1f7f23f28a04f431a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Who knew this combination would be so enticing? Typically rum is associated with vanilla flavor but the chocolate is unique and special. This is very smooth and complex and is perfect for after dinner. So far have only seen it in California, but will pick some up next time I am there.

Ac7ce484a2d53bd1f8b1bad1588d87a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 13 days ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight’s Rum, Selvarey Cacao from Panama. Selvarey starts off rich with a raw chocolate bouquet, perhaps with a bit of vanilla and pineapple. The first hit on the tongue is sweet, not bitter at all, it’s almost like chocolate milk. In the mouth, at rest, It remains mild. Only after you take it in do you notice that it’s actually a Rum and spirit, the sugar cane backing is very hidden. The finish is likewise mild, over notes of chocolate is everywhere. Crème de Cacao comes to mind, but not as strong. Hints of nutmeg, are also noticed. There is little in the way of fruity notes, save for a bit of orange or apricot. That’s good or bad depending on your personal preference. There’s no harsh burn at all in the finish. It’s is a nice mild Rum, and from what I tell, it is best served neat, no ice to dilute the flavor. That’s the way I’ll be fashioning my bottle. Yum. 8 out of 10, #162 or my 500 Rum target.

Cd400e8953928efbc36f5843364cd549.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 23 days ago by Ken from Canada with 1 rating

Flavorful. Like the taste of the cacao. Good straight. Added flavor with a little coke. Smooth going down. Definitely has the Caribbean, Central or South American flavour .

3e674679aa6ac2d055860aced2720ac8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Dave Talkington from United States with 4 ratings

This is some seriously good “flavored” rum! It is great neat, on the rocks, and surprisingly good with a Pepsi. Not too sweet at all, but all that amazing chocolate aroma and flavor. I was hesitant to purchase it, but it was only $26, so I figured I’d give it a shot. I was not disappointed, and neither was my wife, who is only a rum drinker when it’s mixed. She liked the smooth flavor with only a slight lingering burn, but long lasting cacao taste.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Rum tasting in New York City started with Selvarey Cacao. Unique bottle and label design with a tiny gorilla in the middle, cute. Light golden color. I was expecting plenty of chocolate flavors, but all you get is a massive amount of cocoa beans. Not bad at all, not just what I expected. Mild alcohol burn at the taste buds, but no burn at the end at all.

930906d9c2d0c4cd57886b879bd99f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

My review is low because this is a rum rating site. I don’t consider this a rum. It is a liqueur that is ok. I dont get the high ratings. Is it better than a low end chocolate liqueur? Yes. But it is what it is.

10b773ae2d4b77664904c807d113e2d5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by frankypoo from United States with 5 ratings

Brought this to my friends house. He's a scotch/bourbon snob - gotta be cask strength, single malt, yada yada. He was skeptical but this rum blew him away. We drank almost half the bottle after dinner. Great digestif. You can taste the aging/woody notes. Chocolate is spot on, not overpowering or too sweet. Loved it!

263c980652ee097ee64c3dd1d3d0258c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

5 years in a bourbon cask in Panama. Blended with cacao by a master blender. The bottle states: To be sipped and savored, mixed, neat or on the rocks. Yes to all. Have not met a lady, nor many men who refuses. No burn. It is an apertif for me with a good dessert. Have it to pull out when needed.

31cb2bd11a09b9c9b0178d294defd589.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

My highest rated rum yet! Very smooth and practically no alcohol burn. However, the strong cacao smell and flavor would limit this to more of a 'dessert' drink for me. But because it goes down so easy, I'd have a very long dessert...