Posting your rating...
Selvarey Cacao rum

Selvarey Cacao

Panama | Flavored

8.2/10 (25 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
10
5
5

Rate Selvarey Cacao

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Selvarey Cacao ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 36 ratings

The first time I took a sip (over ice in a whiskey glass) the Coco flavor was over powering and I wasn't sure what to think. Didn't hate it, but wasn't expecting it either. Had one glass, but couldn't get the flavor out of my mind the rest of the night. Next day poured another glass knowing what to expect and fell in love with this stuff. Unique and goes down soooo easy with zero burn. Drinks like wine in that sense and definitely very dangerous as you can find yourself half gone in no time. Quality all around and I highly recommend. Not sweet, not bitter, but like an amazing rum highlighted by a very natural Coco flavor. Great stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 463 ratings

I'm generally not a huge fan of flavored rum, but this is surprisingly good. Tastes of a really nice cacao. Smooth, but like most flavored rums, a bit light at 35%. Still, one of the much better flavored rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Who knew this combination would be so enticing? Typically rum is associated with vanilla flavor but the chocolate is unique and special. This is very smooth and complex and is perfect for after dinner. So far have only seen it in California, but will pick some up next time I am there.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I love the taste of this rum. It’s so chocolaty and smooth. It makes a great Cold Brew Martini

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by frankypoo from United States with 5 ratings

Brought this to my friends house. He's a scotch/bourbon snob - gotta be cask strength, single malt, yada yada. He was skeptical but this rum blew him away. We drank almost half the bottle after dinner. Great digestif. You can taste the aging/woody notes. Chocolate is spot on, not overpowering or too sweet. Loved it!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by RobbieS from United States with 5 ratings

This rum works for me. Great a a dessert rum, with the hint of chocolate.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Holdfasthope87 from United States with 1 rating

Smooth cacao front with a nice soft vanilla/cane sugar finish. Perfect sipping rum when you’re in the mood for desert

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight’s Rum, Selvarey Cacao from Panama. Selvarey starts off rich with a raw chocolate bouquet, perhaps with a bit of vanilla and pineapple. The first hit on the tongue is sweet, not bitter at all, it’s almost like chocolate milk. In the mouth, at rest, It remains mild. Only after you take it in do you notice that it’s actually a Rum and spirit, the sugar cane backing is very hidden. The finish is likewise mild, over notes of chocolate is everywhere. Crème de Cacao comes to mind, but not as strong. Hints of nutmeg, are also noticed. There is little in the way of fruity notes, save for a bit of orange or apricot. That’s good or bad depending on your personal preference. There’s no harsh burn at all in the finish. It’s is a nice mild Rum, and from what I tell, it is best served neat, no ice to dilute the flavor. That’s the way I’ll be fashioning my bottle. Yum. 8 out of 10, #162 or my 500 Rum target.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Ken from Canada with 1 rating

Flavorful. Like the taste of the cacao. Good straight. Added flavor with a little coke. Smooth going down. Definitely has the Caribbean, Central or South American flavour .

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Dave Talkington from United States with 4 ratings

This is some seriously good “flavored” rum! It is great neat, on the rocks, and surprisingly good with a Pepsi. Not too sweet at all, but all that amazing chocolate aroma and flavor. I was hesitant to purchase it, but it was only $26, so I figured I’d give it a shot. I was not disappointed, and neither was my wife, who is only a rum drinker when it’s mixed. She liked the smooth flavor with only a slight lingering burn, but long lasting cacao taste.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2664 ratings

Rum tasting in New York City started with Selvarey Cacao. Unique bottle and label design with a tiny gorilla in the middle, cute. Light golden color. I was expecting plenty of chocolate flavors, but all you get is a massive amount of cocoa beans. Not bad at all, not just what I expected. Mild alcohol burn at the taste buds, but no burn at the end at all.