Posting your rating...
Tiburon Small Batch rum

Tiburon Small Batch

Belize | Gold

6.0/10
15 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
5
2
1

Rate Tiburon Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

15 Tiburon Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Swisslet from United Kingdom with 28 ratings

Initially, I wasn’t in the least bit impressed by the nose as it seemed too alcohol-y, but that first impression was hasty. A quick sip revealed a depth of light, fruity flavour. It’s still a bit harsh, but it’s growing on me with every sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by CSG from United States with 32 ratings

Really oaky, smokey, etc. Lots of awesome aged bourbon flavor, not so much on the rum at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

My friend owns a second home in Belize and brought me a bottle of this as a gift. The packaging is very nice, with a shark tooth hanging on the neck of the bottle. The nose is rich and sweet, and the taste is sweet molasses, albeit a bit rough on the edges, like the finish. Maybe this one would benefit from a bit more time in oak? Nonetheless, a very nice dram!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Todd Trader from United States with 2 ratings

This rum brought me back to exploring rums.

Not sold in Florida anymore, but I would love to always have two bottles on hand. One for sharing and one to offer up as a gift.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

A clean and fresh flavour with subtle vanilla notes but not exactly memorable.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Belize isn’t well known for its rum, and the Tiburon offering is no exception. The price is on the high side for a rum that really doesn’t do well on its own as a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Tried the Tiburon Small Batch rum at the Traveller's Distrillery in Belize City and this is no neat sipper, far from it. Very strong alcohol smell and taste and the burn is just awful. Mix it with Coke and you have a small hope left.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by James Outman from United States with 6 ratings

It's Friday night and it is time for the rum review. There be a shark swimming in me bottle lads and lasses, but that's the way these guys roll, and seeing that Tiburón even means shark in Spanish. The tribal emblem is even a shark, not to mention the from what i believe a plastic sharks tooth attached to a cord around the neck of the bottle. So no ill fate befell any innocent sharks in the production of the packaging. Tiburón is a brand of the Shark Bait Company in which is owned by Travelers Liquors Company, 80 proof and distilled n aged in Belize nearest the beaches of the southern Carribean. Fermented from a molasses base it is aged in Kentucky Oak Bourbon casks in the warm tropical breezes, for a minimum of 4 years is then blended and bottled for the next run ,their first being a whole 9000 bottles and with the American run being only a few thousand more. It is made in small batches and put stilled in copper.
The color is a golden wheat and
heather. It leaves quite a number of teardrop ending legs as the sheen slowly retreats back to the remaining spirits.
To the nose my main impression is butterscotch and vanilla, yet subtle cinnamon are present as well.
The entry is quite astringent while neat or even over ice is hard to make out any other flavors in the rum there is a very low level of cinnamon and vanilla bean. To be honest I'm thinking this is better suited for mixing than for sipping so on that here is what I'd recommend. Dirty Mojito, Tiburón and Cranberry or most clear fruit juices with a squeeze of lime. Even a Tiburón and cola or lemon/lime soda, even a ginger based soda would be good. From the mountain top of North Ga. Stay safe, stay alert, stay alive, and drink responsibly. Till the morrow down the hatch.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marcelo from United States with 10 ratings

Tiburon is a Belizean rum that is aged for 4 years. It's a decent rum mixer, but not enjoyable for sipping. The major issue with this rum is the price point of $35-$43. For rums in this price class (Diplomatico RE, Dos Maderas 5+5, Ron Abuelo 7 yr), this rum does not deliver an exceptional flavor that is up to par with other rums and is too harsh. I find most positive reviews are enamored by the bottle or that they travelled to Belize. Unfortunately, the good rum of Belize (Caribbean Rum) is not distributed outside of Belize, and costs a fraction of Tiburon.

I don't recommend this rum and would not purchase again. However, if you must, I recommend as a mixer only, not for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

En mi visita a este país disfrute De este ron color ámbar brillante y de sabor fuerte en nAriz notas de caramelo y vainilla deben de probarlo con coca cola