Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron rum

Rate Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 16 gpl. Surprisingly good white rum! Citrus and apple and pear notes in taste and aroma. Very smooth taste without the harsh burn or chemical tastes of the lower end white rums from Bacardi. This is one of the few white rums that could be a sipping rum as well as a high end mixer.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

As far as column distillates go, this is nice. Definitely mellow, with a classy quality that is hard to describe. It flows very eloquently across the palate, and fades with a pleasant toasty aftertaste. Overall very mild for my taste, but nice to have on hand, and nice to taste every once in a while. A classier daiquiri or Mary Pickford, maybe?

Posted over 3 years ago by Maarten Jan from Netherlands with 6 ratings

An OK rum for a light rum.
Much better than most Bacardi products. But that's not very hard

Posted 4 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

I actually don’t mind the standard Bacardi white rum, but I bought this expecting a step up and was let down pretty heavily. Doesn’t feel special at all

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

I remember seeing lots of good reviews on here when this first was released, but the $26 price tag kept me away. So, as I was walking through a newly opened wine and spirits clearance store near me, I saw plenty of these bottles going for only $13. Many of you already know that I absolutely hate Bacardi, but I also cannot pass up a good bargain when recommended by fellow reviewers.

I poured an ounce into the snifter and let it breathe for about 15 minutes. No burn at all. The aromas were minimal. Super smooth tasting. Then I noticed lots of legs in the glass from being very viscous. I later found out that it has 16 gpl of added sugar. This is just one teaspoon shy of this rum being classified as "Sweet". This was obviously created to compete with the ever popular Plantation 3 Star Artisinal, which has 13 gpl of added sugar. Both rums are very similar. However, the Plantation is still a better value for a full liter. If you see a bottle of this rum for $17 or less, give it a try. I would not buy it again because I am getting away from rums with added sugars. However, the taste is good enough to sip neat, and not many white rums are capable of this. For those that hated this one, you must have gotten bottles from a bad batch.

This rum got me to thinking that once a company creates a bad reputation for itself, there is not much they can do to bring that reputation back up. No one is buying this effort of a rum, which is why lots of it is on clearance. Also, it is now apparent that it takes a fair amount of added sugar to improve a bad rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Billy from United States with 1 rating

Bacardi makes a decent clean drink - good neat and a terrific mixer. Price point is right and the corked special edition is a nice addition to your bar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Audun Kvinnesland from Norway with 1 rating

Bought the bottle to use for mixing drinks that should have white rum. Was surprised that the taste was smoother and cleaner than I had expected. Think there is some good rums comming from Bacardi even if they are doomed by a lot of people.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

A step up from their normal white rum. Still not really special but not a bad choice, would go for something else if i was looking for white rum and had a choice!

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Si quieres darle categoría a tu cockteles, este es el ron que te hará parecer un barman profesional.
Un sabor peculiar acompañado de la frescura de un buen ron Bacardi.
100% para el luau de verano

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

Offering subtle notes of plum, spice, caramel and vanilla. The palate is smooth with a well-balanced and clean finish. Great for mixing or sipping on its own. Slow filtered and aged for three years for added complexity and smoothness. From the many rums that I own ,this is the one my wife will drink.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Bought a bottle of Bacardi Gran Reserva Maestro de Ron with interest, but the reality was quickly obvious, this is not a neat sipping rum and far away from the labels disclaimed "extra smooth sipping rum". There is a tiny improvement over the traditional silver Bacardi, but both of them are to be mixed with Coke.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Shadowman from United States with 1 rating

Tasted while smoking a cigar and it is perfect. Very smooth to and gentle to sip while smoking a good cigar. wish I can get a hold of another bottle.

Posted about 3 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

Don't buy their crap. Thank me later. It said I needed to write more text before posting this comment. So I did :-\ 50 characters I guess. Well this should be more then enough...

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Ok as a general sipping rum, but there are lots better...

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Quede un poco decepcionado de esta selección de Maestros definitivamente no llegó a llenar expectativas

Posted almost 4 years ago by alex from United States with 1 rating

Light with smooth taste , it can be mix with any thing
excellent for cocktails

Posted almost 4 years ago by Hauleyboy from Puerto Rico with 16 ratings

Smooth start, sweet flavor and aroma but finishes with the clasic bacardy burn. Good enough to sip for a bit.

Posted about 4 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

A very nice white rum sipper. I find it works better than the plain white in cocktails and is nice just with a little bit of ice. Very smooth with light coconut and vanilla and a hint of oak. Very good in a Famous captain cocktail with pineapple, sweet vermouth, lime and cinnamon syrup.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...I respect what others' opinion on this may be but I must vehemently disagree with the reviews saying this is a smooth rum and a sipping rum. In my humble opinion it's far from either.

Straight up alcohol aroma in the bottle and snifter. Flat out harsh on the tongue. Instant tongue tingler. And a big burn. Don't know how they managed to get such a burn from only 80 proof but they did. The finish has a bitter chemical taste. Too harsh for a sipping rum. Definitely needs the sweet from fruit drinks and colas to counter it. So it's a solid mixer but completely unremarkable. Plenty of better white rums available for about the same price. A little more will get some exceptional white rums. Bacardi could have done better.

Posted over 4 years ago by Reg from Canada with 2 ratings

I'm not usually one for white rum but this on the rocks works pretty well.

Posted over 4 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Smooth enough to be sipped, but i thing is much better for mixed drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

Great for a white rum, so extremely smooth it just disappears into mixed drinks. I thought for a moment it was hiding behind the ice cubes so I blended the entire concoction and received nothing but rave reviews from all my guests.

Posted over 4 years ago by Passie from Netherlands with 46 ratings

More smooth as standard Bacardi, but it is too expensive for what you get.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

this is for sure a Nice step up from Bacardi superior. Smooth enough to be sipped, but best for high end mixes. Sweet fruity flavour