Posting your rating...
Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year rum

Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Panama | Aged

7.7/10(80 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
20
28
19
3

Rate Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

80 Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small superstar

Posted 3 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

Cannot agree with all those superb ratings: this rum is very sharp in nose and palate, long afterburn too. Strong smell of alcohol. Did I get the wrong bottle or is this rum just highly overrated?

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 15 GPL. This is a really easy rum to sip if you like whiskey as it has a strong burn to it. Vanilla, charred wood, toffee, some spices and a touch of fruit like figs and a trace of orange. Well balanced rum which mellows with a drop of water. Actually you need a bit in it to cut the burn down. I would have rated it higher except for the harsh burn at the end of this.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 33 ratings

This rum is so smooth. Made by Carlos Esquivel and master blender Don Pancho himself. Most people will prefer this over his 30 year old rum, which for me personally is just as good or maybe even better. I am not going to bore you with the taste and smells etc, that you will have to find out for yourself! Trust me, go out and get one!

Small 20210106 185826

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

...said the friend who gave it to me. Not a bad description.

Stylish tall art deco-ish bottle
Cork stopper

Colour: dark amber
Nose: restrained wood and tobacco notes, understating what is to come
Mouth: a luscious - almost oily - feel with a slowly developing big aroma of dried fruits and figs turning over into gentle woody notes with very subtle vanilla
Sweetness 4/5 but underpins the flavours well without being to cloying, but could be too much for the RL Seale fans.
Burn: kicks in gently, makes itself known and fades slowly

Summary: a great full-on sipper, treading the sugar line carefully

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 23 ratings

YES!!! This was recommended by my local store manager who only got in 3 and held one for me because he knows I am a huge Rum aficionado! I was skeptical on the price because there are many other well renowned sipping Rums at this price point! And I have tried many of them. I keep going back to my old faithful: Plantation XO and El Pasador and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. HOWEVER... That being said, this rum right there: Don Pancho 18, is the most complex tasting in my bar/stable! It is also smooth and very tasty! The flavor profile is long: nuts, apricot, caramel, leather, spice. Everything a discerning palate can ever want in a sipper! Adding a cube or two opens up the nose to a tropical delight and reminds me of a sun setting over the ocean with a sea breeze and soft percussion instruments playing in the background... You must try it once! I'd like to see it priced @ $20 less to give it a perfect 10! ;-)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

I really enjoy that bottle is like a cuban rum. Great full flavor, very smooth, just at right level of sweetness. So easy to sip that I finished bottle sooner than I would like :)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 100 ratings

An authentic carribean rum with sweetness and strength. Beautifully round. Just missing a liitle touch of madness to be perfect

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomas Venturi from Sweden with 17 ratings

Har inte smakat så mycket på Origenes men den första smakprovningen gav mig en hint om att den är bra och inte så söt, men smakerna sitter där och jag tror jag defensivt kommer gilla denna mer och mer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 110 ratings

Since I don´t really remember the flavour, I just have to fill out 50 chars...

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2697 ratings

Tried the Don Pancho 18 year a few weeks ago in the best rum bar in Chicago and I was not that impressed with it at all. Surprisingly strong alcohol taste and smell and what a burn for an 18 year old aged rum. Life is too short to waste your time on something this mediocre. The Don Panchos 8 year old is only marginally worse than the much more expensive 18 year old, so better for you to skip both.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony from Sweden with 14 ratings

Fruit notes, soft aged taste. It is very well balanced. It is not too sweet, it is not too spicy.