Posting your rating...
Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year rum

Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Panama | Aged

7.7/10 (77 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
20
28
18
2

Rate Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


77 Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by krasnal from Poland with 39 ratings

Takie 5-6 niby fajne. Ale bukiet słabszy. Smak ... Im dłużej się pije tym lepsY

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robin from United States with 4 ratings

750ml Bottle
Nice lacing on the glass. Smell is mildly sweet and alcohol. The taste is not too sweet, but not too hot like whiskey. Very easy to sip on ice. A little bit of vanilla, a little bit of smoke. Very well balanced. I'll keep a bottle around for an occasional drink. Goes well with a mild cigar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 165 ratings

Aroma brings mollases and tea. Taste is at first shaded by alcohol biteness later there are hints of oak and dried fruit. Finish is bitter and longlasting with tones of bourbon. Overally not bad, but character seems to be quite unmatured for 18yo rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 86 ratings

Just was offered this rum as an alternative to the Quorhum 30...was ok...but in my opinion not worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 53 ratings

Fantastic aromas, very smooth, but nothing spectacular, especially for $60-$70 a bottle. There is a strange taste in there as soon as you swallow, it doesn't linger but it's not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Süss, aber nicht zu süss mit passender Würze. Frucht, Vanille, Karamell, Spuren von Holz. Lecker auf der Zunge und auch im (sehr langen) Abgang. Absolut ausgewogener und raffinierter Rum, super Balance! Kaufempfehlung

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Made me think about the Angostura's No. 1 2nd batch (purple label), but not as good. However, would like to those two side by side.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

Bartender recommended this for me yesterday. I liked it, not overly sweet and felt a little bit more 'mature'. Hints of dark fruits, apple, caramel, nuts, oak, vanilla. I usually don't smoke cigars but I had a Padron to this rum and as expected it was a very pleasant combination.

Strong 7/10.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Provided in a good looking square bottle, this rum has a beautiful red amber color.
In mouth , it is sweet with inter alia vanilla aroma.
This is a good rum but not a special one for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

Roughly a smoother version of the little brother. The aroma has notes of caramel, oak, figs and perhaps a little orange peel. It has nice body and unfolds in the mouth, with more pronounced orangepeel, caramel, wood, dates and figs. The somewhat lengthy finish is nicely warming and tingling. It's a nice rum but given the price difference, I would choose the 8 year over this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is indeed a very fine rum that appears to rather dry with hints of sweetness. The aroma is subtle in the bottle and the flavor is rather intense with what I consider a "bite" similar to how wasabi or horseradish hits (not implying at all that this rum tastes like wasabi or horesradish). Although dry I taste some vanilla essense. I have to agree with several others in that even though this is a very good rum it is not worthy of the price. There are many rums equally as good if not better that costs half as much as this. I suggest seeking those out and pass on this one. But if you must purchase a high-end rum, this one is not a bad one to get.