Posting your rating...
Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year rum

Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Panama | Aged

7.7/10
81 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
20
29
19
3

Rate Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

81 Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

Received as a gift. Supposedly they paid $99 for the bottle. I'd have to agree... it is a good rum but a bit overpriced.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 15 GPL. This is a really easy rum to sip if you like whiskey as it has a strong burn to it. Vanilla, charred wood, toffee, some spices and a touch of fruit like figs and a trace of orange. Well balanced rum which mellows with a drop of water. Actually you need a bit in it to cut the burn down. I would have rated it higher except for the harsh burn at the end of this.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 24 ratings

YES!!! This was recommended by my local store manager who only got in 3 and held one for me because he knows I am a huge Rum aficionado! I was skeptical on the price because there are many other well renowned sipping Rums at this price point! And I have tried many of them. I keep going back to my old faithful: Plantation XO and El Pasador and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. HOWEVER... That being said, this rum right there: Don Pancho 18, is the most complex tasting in my bar/stable! It is also smooth and very tasty! The flavor profile is long: nuts, apricot, caramel, leather, spice. Everything a discerning palate can ever want in a sipper! Adding a cube or two opens up the nose to a tropical delight and reminds me of a sun setting over the ocean with a sea breeze and soft percussion instruments playing in the background... You must try it once! I'd like to see it priced @ $20 less to give it a perfect 10! ;-)

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by lmaste from Panama with 17 ratings

A little on the expensive side for an 18 year old rum, but you quickly realize what you have and forget about the price. The aroma after opening the cork is waoo !!! The youngest rum in the blend has been aged for 18 years, so what you have is the real deal. Go ahead, dont hesitate and buy it

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 12 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

This is an excellent rum dark rich color, full bodied perfect for sipping and great with a cigar. Will buy again, great bottle shape.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robin from United States with 4 ratings

750ml Bottle
Nice lacing on the glass. Smell is mildly sweet and alcohol. The taste is not too sweet, but not too hot like whiskey. Very easy to sip on ice. A little bit of vanilla, a little bit of smoke. Very well balanced. I'll keep a bottle around for an occasional drink. Goes well with a mild cigar.

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted over 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Aroma brings mollases and tea. Taste is at first shaded by alcohol biteness later there are hints of oak and dried fruit. Finish is bitter and longlasting with tones of bourbon. Overally not bad, but character seems to be quite unmatured for 18yo rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 91 ratings

Just was offered this rum as an alternative to the Quorhum 30...was ok...but in my opinion not worth the price.

Small 20210106 185826

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

...said the friend who gave it to me. Not a bad description.

Stylish tall art deco-ish bottle
Cork stopper

Colour: dark amber
Nose: restrained wood and tobacco notes, understating what is to come
Mouth: a luscious - almost oily - feel with a slowly developing big aroma of dried fruits and figs turning over into gentle woody notes with very subtle vanilla
Sweetness 4/5 but underpins the flavours well without being to cloying, but could be too much for the RL Seale fans.
Burn: kicks in gently, makes itself known and fades slowly

Summary: a great full-on sipper, treading the sugar line carefully

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

I really enjoy that bottle is like a cuban rum. Great full flavor, very smooth, just at right level of sweetness. So easy to sip that I finished bottle sooner than I would like :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Glen from United States with 54 ratings

Fantastic aromas, very smooth, but nothing spectacular, especially for $60-$70 a bottle. There is a strange taste in there as soon as you swallow, it doesn't linger but it's not my favorite.