Posting your rating...
Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year rum

Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Panama | Aged

7.7/10
81 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
20
29
19
3

Rate Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

81 Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 24 ratings

YES!!! This was recommended by my local store manager who only got in 3 and held one for me because he knows I am a huge Rum aficionado! I was skeptical on the price because there are many other well renowned sipping Rums at this price point! And I have tried many of them. I keep going back to my old faithful: Plantation XO and El Pasador and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. HOWEVER... That being said, this rum right there: Don Pancho 18, is the most complex tasting in my bar/stable! It is also smooth and very tasty! The flavor profile is long: nuts, apricot, caramel, leather, spice. Everything a discerning palate can ever want in a sipper! Adding a cube or two opens up the nose to a tropical delight and reminds me of a sun setting over the ocean with a sea breeze and soft percussion instruments playing in the background... You must try it once! I'd like to see it priced @ $20 less to give it a perfect 10! ;-)

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Glen from United States with 54 ratings

Fantastic aromas, very smooth, but nothing spectacular, especially for $60-$70 a bottle. There is a strange taste in there as soon as you swallow, it doesn't linger but it's not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 415 ratings

Eine sehr spezielle Flasche im Art déco Stil für diesen aussergewöhnlichen Rum.
Ein richtiges Meisterwerk vom Meister Don Pancho Fernandez persönlich !
Die Farbe im Glas, ein Übergang vom Bernstein zu Mahagoni, eine Augenweide.
In der Nase schwere Holznoten gepaart mit tropische Früchten etwas Gewürze und heller Tabak.
Im Gaumen exzellent ausbalanciert, am Anfang ein sehr starker Auftritt der die Geschmacksknospen aufweckt, danach entfalten sich wundervolle Aromen von Vanillegebäck, gebranntes Karamell, Trockenfrüchte, dunkles Holz, dunkle Schokolade, Toffee Noten ....
Im Abgang macht sich eine schwere Süsse breit die nochmals Holz und Leder aufleben lässt.
Ein wundervoller Rum auf höchstem Niveau, für spezielle Tage.

A very special bottle of art déco style for this extraordinary rum.
A real masterpiece by the master Don Pancho Fernandez personally!
The color in the glass, a transition from amber to mahogany, a feast for the eyes.
In the nose heavy wood notes paired with tropical fruits some spices and light tobacco.
The palate is well balanced, in the beginning a very strong appearance of the taste buds, afterwards, wonderful aromas of vanilla pastry, burnt caramel, dried fruits, dark wood, dark chocolate, toffee notes ...
In the finish is a heavy sweetness which once again wood and leather revived.
A wonderful rum at the highest level, for special days.

Small img 20160817 175205

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 76 ratings

Süss, aber nicht zu süss mit passender Würze. Frucht, Vanille, Karamell, Spuren von Holz. Lecker auf der Zunge und auch im (sehr langen) Abgang. Absolut ausgewogener und raffinierter Rum, super Balance! Kaufempfehlung

Small img 20160116 212313

Posted over 4 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 85 ratings

Made me think about the Angostura's No. 1 2nd batch (purple label), but not as good. However, would like to those two side by side.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chet from United States with 192 ratings

Very nice rum, great flavors of dried fruits, and tobacco with a touch of vanilla. Smooth over all but the esters up front are a bit heavy. Let the rum sit in a glass "covered" after pouring for 5 minutes and it mellows beautifully. Slight sweetness, beautiful bottle and worth the money spent.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

Bartender recommended this for me yesterday. I liked it, not overly sweet and felt a little bit more 'mature'. Hints of dark fruits, apple, caramel, nuts, oak, vanilla. I usually don't smoke cigars but I had a Padron to this rum and as expected it was a very pleasant combination.

Strong 7/10.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Provided in a good looking square bottle, this rum has a beautiful red amber color.
In mouth , it is sweet with inter alia vanilla aroma.
This is a good rum but not a special one for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Roughly a smoother version of the little brother. The aroma has notes of caramel, oak, figs and perhaps a little orange peel. It has nice body and unfolds in the mouth, with more pronounced orangepeel, caramel, wood, dates and figs. The somewhat lengthy finish is nicely warming and tingling. It's a nice rum but given the price difference, I would choose the 8 year over this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is indeed a very fine rum that appears to rather dry with hints of sweetness. The aroma is subtle in the bottle and the flavor is rather intense with what I consider a "bite" similar to how wasabi or horseradish hits (not implying at all that this rum tastes like wasabi or horesradish). Although dry I taste some vanilla essense. I have to agree with several others in that even though this is a very good rum it is not worthy of the price. There are many rums equally as good if not better that costs half as much as this. I suggest seeking those out and pass on this one. But if you must purchase a high-end rum, this one is not a bad one to get.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This is by no means a bad rum. It just doesn't have anything to make it stand out, and at it's price you would expect that.