Posting your rating...
Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year rum

Rate Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


75 Origenes Reserva Especial 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Robin from United States with 4 ratings

750ml Bottle
Nice lacing on the glass. Smell is mildly sweet and alcohol. The taste is not too sweet, but not too hot like whiskey. Very easy to sip on ice. A little bit of vanilla, a little bit of smoke. Very well balanced. I'll keep a bottle around for an occasional drink. Goes well with a mild cigar.

Posted over 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Aroma brings mollases and tea. Taste is at first shaded by alcohol biteness later there are hints of oak and dried fruit. Finish is bitter and longlasting with tones of bourbon. Overally not bad, but character seems to be quite unmatured for 18yo rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

Just was offered this rum as an alternative to the Quorhum 30...was ok...but in my opinion not worth the price.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Fantastic aromas, very smooth, but nothing spectacular, especially for $60-$70 a bottle. There is a strange taste in there as soon as you swallow, it doesn't linger but it's not my favorite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Süss, aber nicht zu süss mit passender Würze. Frucht, Vanille, Karamell, Spuren von Holz. Lecker auf der Zunge und auch im (sehr langen) Abgang. Absolut ausgewogener und raffinierter Rum, super Balance! Kaufempfehlung

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Made me think about the Angostura's No. 1 2nd batch (purple label), but not as good. However, would like to those two side by side.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

Bartender recommended this for me yesterday. I liked it, not overly sweet and felt a little bit more 'mature'. Hints of dark fruits, apple, caramel, nuts, oak, vanilla. I usually don't smoke cigars but I had a Padron to this rum and as expected it was a very pleasant combination.

Strong 7/10.

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Provided in a good looking square bottle, this rum has a beautiful red amber color.
In mouth , it is sweet with inter alia vanilla aroma.
This is a good rum but not a special one for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Roughly a smoother version of the little brother. The aroma has notes of caramel, oak, figs and perhaps a little orange peel. It has nice body and unfolds in the mouth, with more pronounced orangepeel, caramel, wood, dates and figs. The somewhat lengthy finish is nicely warming and tingling. It's a nice rum but given the price difference, I would choose the 8 year over this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is indeed a very fine rum that appears to rather dry with hints of sweetness. The aroma is subtle in the bottle and the flavor is rather intense with what I consider a "bite" similar to how wasabi or horseradish hits (not implying at all that this rum tastes like wasabi or horesradish). Although dry I taste some vanilla essense. I have to agree with several others in that even though this is a very good rum it is not worthy of the price. There are many rums equally as good if not better that costs half as much as this. I suggest seeking those out and pass on this one. But if you must purchase a high-end rum, this one is not a bad one to get.

Posted over 4 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

This is by no means a bad rum. It just doesn't have anything to make it stand out, and at it's price you would expect that.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Smells of butterscotch, sugarcane, vanilla, and allspice. Taste is similar. It's a good rum, but pricey for what it is. I personally prefer the Ron Abuelo 12 (for example), which is less than half the price.

Posted 4 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 12 ratings

This is an excellent rum dark rich color, full bodied perfect for sipping and great with a cigar. Will buy again, great bottle shape.

Posted 2 months ago by Froxxy from Sweden with 5 ratings

It has so much richness to it but still neither too sweet or harsh.
A very smooth rum that i pref on the rocks!

Posted 3 months ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Received as a gift. Supposedly they paid $99 for the bottle. I'd have to agree... it is a good rum but a bit overpriced.

Posted 3 months ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

WAY too sweet, artificial.
Burnt twice in 1 month (Plantation 2oth Anniv), now this. $90.00 could have replenished some great rums.
The 8 year was better, thought this would be super. WRONG.
Older is not better in lots of Rums.
Maybe this site is not for me.
Many great reviews for rums experienced drinkers dismiss as sugar bombs or poor quality.
See ya, I'm out. My last rating.

Posted 4 months ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

First time trying this rum. Rich, smooth, hints of vanilla and caramel. Definitely will drink again!

Posted 6 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

Rich, sweetish, oaky, leathery with a hint of overripe dry fruit. Very well balanced and complex. Superb.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mipresser from United States with 11 ratings

Excellent for sipping. The sweetness does not overwhelm the complexity of the flavors.

Posted over 1 year ago by RoyalRum from Australia with 11 ratings

Definitely the stuff I look for with sipping rums. Smell: very nice, oak. Taste: very subtle mix of vanilla and oak, the latter being well pronounced (in a good way). I have no idea how much a full bottle costs (just had a couple of free glasses of it), so I can't comment on that.

Posted over 1 year ago by Railwayman from Poland with 10 ratings

Aroma some like apricots & honey, really nice! Taste also is nice, but only nice, nothings more. For that kind of rum isn't enough. Hope exceeded real feelings, that was little disapointed for me.

Posted over 1 year ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Nice Rum, but a Little top much Alkohol for my Sense.

Posted over 1 year ago by NickW. from Germany with 17 ratings

Quite good but no strong tastes or spectacular flavours, some hint of tea.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ievab from Denmark with 6 ratings

..................................................