Posting your rating...
Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve rum

Rate Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Plantation Guatemala XO Extra Old Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

My colleague found a rare bottle of Plantation Guatemala XO and when trying it out, it was like cognac. Super dry, very good flavors though but the burn was bad. He seemed to like it a lot, whereas I was very honest about my disappointment with the Guatemala XO. Barbados XO 20th Anniversary is easily on my Top 10 rum list, whereas this one falls hopelessly short for a very good aged rum definition.

Posted about 4 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

Eventhough i wouldn't buy it again,it is a very nice ,strongly limited rum. I missed the famous Guadeloupe edition which sold out quick,ad i didnt want to make the same mistake. So i purchased a bottle of this single cask rum (16 casks only,450 bottles each) which matures in french sweet-wine casks at the end. Very fruiry,not extremely sweet. A wonderful rum

Posted over 1 year ago by 25RdR from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I've got bottle 128/150 in the Netherlands.
Very good rum with a long and delicious finish. Love the bottle design too

Posted about 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Purchased in Springfield, MA at Table & Vine for $39.99. Plantation is my favorite brand and I usually like everything they make. So here goes... color is a golden amber, a little lighter than other rums. Nose is light with that Plantation flair. Delicate taste, complex middle and easy finish. There is a slight fruit flavor, perhaps banana.

Posted over 2 years ago by Darrell from United States with 26 ratings

Very complex with a great aroma. Best finish of any rum I have had. Try this one, you won't be disappointed.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I have bottle No 428 out of 450! this needs to btief for at least 15 minutes! it is smooth and with body.

Posted 4 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

Very rarely does a new rum break into my top ten percent rated. Since this rum stated being aged in amburana casks for six months and I am big fan of Avua Amburana Cachaca, this was a no brainer to purchase at $50 US.

In the snifter, the amburana wood is very obvious in the aroma. I would call this one as semi-dry, since it has legs in the snifter and Plantation is well known for adding sugar. However, it is not over done. This one also beats the pants off the other Guatemalen rum that is easily available, Ron Zacapa. The final aging was in cognac casks, but the initial aging in amburana casks dominates the cognac casks. Very well done!!!! Truly harmonious!

For anyone unfamiliar with the taste of amburana wood aging, I will make a vague attempt to describe the flavor. Imagine a very exotic tropical hardwood like this one is, with slight hints of cinnamon and balsa wood. The rest of the tasting notes is like nothing else most of us have ever tried, which is what makes this rum totally unique. A mere six months of initial aging in amburana wood still dominates the taste profile, but it took years of aging in former bourbon barrels and cognac casks to tone it down. In other words, don't knock this rum just because you have never tasted spirits aged in amburana wood casks. You will either love it or hate it!

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

Plantation is one of my favorite brand, i tasted round about 25 differend one and only one i did not like. all others for me always good also this one is for me very tastefull

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

vůně velmi příjemná, vanilka, kokos, třešně, chuť nasládlá, ovoce, muškátový oříšek, konec dává znát sílu 50%

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

A very nice sipping rum that I really like. Sweet with nice taste of vanilla and honey.

Posted over 1 year ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Chaleureux et présence marquée de l'alcool (mais pas négativement). Barrique présente, épicé, touche de caramel. Très agréable, très bon !

Warm and marked presence of alcohol (but not negatively). Barrel presence, spicy, touch of caramel. Very nice, very good!

Posted over 1 year ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

An excellent, smooth choice on ice. Very easy to enjoy.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
Colour is light.
Smell is a bit weak.
Taste is ok.
Aftertaste is great.
;-)

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

That's about all there is to be said unfortunately. If you know, you know. If you want details, look at my review of Kaniche XO (both made by Maison Ferrand) and imagine a slightly sweeter and less potent version of that, with a little more alcohol burn. This is not bad rum by any stretch of the imagination, but for an older offering from one of my favorite brands, finished in the casks of one of my favorite wines, I feel like this could have been something much more special.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cornelius from Australia with 3 ratings

I preferred this as a sipping rum over Appleton Estate 21, Ron Zacapa XO, and El Dorado 15. And that's high praise because I loved those 3 also. I loved the flavour of this rum, sweet but not too sweet, and the bang after swallowing was just perfect - not too much, not too little.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dennis Kjer from Denmark with 33 ratings

Vild med Vin edition cask nr 11/25. Bottle 236/250. Dejligt glas. Ikke den store oplevelse ved duft, hvor en potentiel styrke kan føles. Behagelig smag, en styrke kan mærkes og tiltræder ganske roligt. Eftersmagen er lang. Noget banan, og en sødme kan smages. Kostede 449,- som nypris og i min optik alle pengene værd.

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

Zraje po sudech z bourbounu, je citit whisky a je pronikave ostry, 128 k

Posted over 3 years ago by pat from Switzerland with 7 ratings

Un rhum agréable pour sa douceur. Des arômes caramel et vanille avec une certaine longueur en bouche.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavelitti from Switzerland with 42 ratings

Molto buono, proprio qullo che ci si aspetta da un plantation maturo di alto livello. La proporzione di zucchero è perfetta e senza eccessi.

Posted over 3 years ago by deuf from France with 20 ratings

Nez exquis beaucoup d'arômes. Bouche doux fruité sans trop de caramel pour la région d'origine
.final doux et long. Magnifique avec un cigare. Tout le savoir faire de la maison plantation.

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Tento zajímavý rum zrál v sudech po ledovém vínu.
Sud 1/25, láhev číslo 409/450.
Alkohol: 41,2 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: První dojem je medicinální a působí také staře. Lakovost, exotické dřevo, do toho sirupovitá sladkost, sušené banány, kandované ovoce. Guatemalu bych nehádal, kvůli angosturovské medicinálnosti (hřebíček, dezinfekce) bych osobně hádal spíš Trinidad. (89 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý dojem na jazyku. Je velmi jemný a uhlazený, zároveň ale plný. V chuti dominuje staré dřevo, pražené ořechy. Je suchý (sladkost je tu opravdu jen minimální), v dochuti pak hřebíček. (87 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem díky českolipskému podniku Kavárna/bar Kocour, kde jsem zakoupil 60 ml vzorky pro další společnou degustaci v Hořicích u josého. Jde o velmi zajímavý rum, s netradičním finišem. Je tak nevšední, že by to chtělo spíš celou lahev, abych mu ještě více přišel na chuť. Z pěti ochutnaných rumů skončil tento v tvrdé konkurenci na 3. místě.

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

The nose is fabulous! More oak and cognac than the expected wine. Not that this is dry, but it is dryer than expected. The finish goes on forever! Cherries, plums, a hint of Jamaica, banana, and the perfect amount of heat too. Interestingly, I purchased this a few years ago, had 1 drink and it got pushed to the back. So now as I revisit an opened and almost full bottle, I think, damn! I should have bought 2!

Edit- Two years in, the sugar knocks it down a bit.
sugar test-17-20g

Posted over 4 years ago by Ivan Borrits from Denmark with 4 ratings

dejlig mild karamelagtig smag og duft, den kan bestemt godt anbefales

Posted over 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Apres avoir lu certain rating je suis en accord avec celle de knaky