Posting your rating...
Bacardi 1909 Superior Heritage Limited Edition rum

Bacardi 1909 Superior Heritage Limited Edition

Puerto Rico | Aged

Bacardi 1909 Superior Heritage Limited Edition rum is based on the original design from 1909. It was produced by Bacardi Y Compañia S.A. de C.V. at the Destileria la Galarza in Mexico under the close supervision of José Sanchez Gavito, Maestro de Ron Bacardi. It has been certified as meeting the flavour profile of the first blending in 1862.

7.0/10 (16 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
2
2

Rate Bacardi 1909 Superior Heritage Limited Edition

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Bacardi 1909 Superior Heritage Limited Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Slightly firmer due to the higher proof. This is great to add to cola and a slight improvement over the bar classic.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

If this is the white bacardi from 1909 i truly wonder what mistakes they made to make it into what white bacardi is now.. you can drink this straight, oke still not the best white rum but way better than the regular white nowadays! Please read this bacardi 😜 and make more of this!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Hecho en Mexico, not Puerto Rico, this rum has a nice flavor composition that has mimicked as close to the original recipe from the early 1900’s. With a strong Cuban influence, this rum has a fairly complex flavor that can be sipped neat, though mixing would be your best bet.
I like that this is a limited edition from Bacardi without having to pay $100 for its Reserva Limitada.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 48 ratings

Although this still has that iron like, signature Bacardi flavor, it is much smoother and better than the regular line. The higher percentage is also nice to see. Unlike the regular Bacardi, you can even drink this neat if you so choose and like others have said, it makes a nice Daiquiri. There are many better rums out there but this is actually fairly decent for a Bacardi!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Sheff Ma Zi from Russian Federation with 13 ratings

This sample is unique for bacardi family because of it's pear, smooth aroma, smooth, sweet and fruity taste.
Everything seem to be nice and strong 7, except Bacardi's gasoline aftertaste, that spoils everything. Trust me, I love, when it burns, but burnes with funky cool aromas. This aftertaste kills the whole complexity and heritage intrest. I'd rather put more dense Jamaican dark sample with oaky flavor to my fruity daiquiri coupe, neither experience weird gas station in my mouth.

But on the other hand, if you are into classic daiquiri, you use lime juice, you dissolve sugar in it, you avoid the water, etc - this is your joice. Handy on the budget, but really hard to find. This is probably the best from Bacardi family, but definetly not the best "white" option, if it's not about daiquiries. It created only and for the prohibition cocktail. Nothing more

Avoid sipping it neat

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 142 ratings

Нейтральный запах как у мороженого, привкус чего-то хвойного, сладковатый с горечью. Очень питкий и конечно обязательно с закуской, потому как недесертные 44,5%. Наутро состояние собранное , но остатки алкоголя выводятся некомфортно долго.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

It was very hard to track this bottle down.
This is significant jump above the typical Bacardi Superior. Really love the mouthfeel, which is far more velvety. I would almost go as far as to say this is medium bodied, complimented by a very pleasant fragrance.
I could sip this all day, and would happily use this as my primary daquiri rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

44.5% ABV. Plenty of rubbing alcohol on the nose. It's hard to get past that. Fortunately, it dissipates after 10 or 15 minutes, but still pops its head up periodically (I even got an ammonia note from it at one point). Very sweet on the palate. A bit cane-y. Fruity, mango-like finish. Grapefruit as well.

Based on reviews I'd seen, I had higher hopes for this one, and it's a bit of a let-down. The nose reveals a lack of care for the distillation process, and it is rather sweet. The flavor itself isn't bad, though, and I bet it'd make a killer Daiquiri. It's really not a terrible package, and could be attractive at the right price (if it were still being made). At the end of the day I think Bacardi accomplished what they set out to create, and it kicks the pants of anything else they're currently making, but it's still not a "great" rum.

6+

P.S. Curiously, doesn't say 1909 anywhere on the bottle...says 1888. There must have been some external marketing around this.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

Love this in a mojito or daiquiri.
I use this rum when making the barcardi recipes for the mojito or daiquiri and it blends in great.
The little extra alcohol percentage gives it a nice kick.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Bacardi as it was originally made, or as close as modernly possible. A bit more going on than the Silver tastewise. Clean, crisp, smooth, citrusy, and dry. From Mexico (not Puerto Rico) where the 8 is also made. It's over-filtered like all of their rum, but this one has retained a bit more than usual.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay from United States with 4 ratings

I was pleased to find a stash of the limited edition at regular Superior prices at my local store. It's been my go-to for daiquiris and I think it provides a great quality flavor with a nice kick of alcohol. The bottle also has a great look to it that impresses guests.