Posting your rating...
Brugal XV rum

Rate Brugal XV

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


89 Brugal XV ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

commentaire a venir

Posted over 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

I really was surprised, not much alcohol taste, mild, imple but good, maybe a bit boring. You can´t go wrong with it but you want have any wow with it neighter

Posted about 5 years ago by Niels Lairitzen from Denmark with 11 ratings

The XV was a nice surprise to me. Brugal have tried to make a more smooth tasting rum, compared to their normal dry notes, and have done a nice job with this.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

I let the label and the name convince me that I was having a bargain. Hey, I thought. A 15 year old rum for that price? The screw-top should have been a warning. Barely any aroma, nice soft sweetish taste, very light after-burn. Not that I didn't like it, but definitely not a sipping rum. Nice with some ice and a splash of soda, though.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Only tried it with coke. Nice, but not exceptional.

Posted 16 days ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

This Rum replace Extra Viejo but it is smother so closer to Extra Viejo Reserva. The flavor of Brugal has some bite but an still be enjoyed Neat if you like some bite, The alcohol lingers less when drinking Neat, its an excellent for mixing, make a good Rum a coke or Rum and Coconut water when hydration is needed.

Posted 25 days ago by Limsn from Poland with 5 ratings

Rum worth trying, however I do not include this one in my favourites.

Posted about 1 month ago by KristofB from Belgium with 28 ratings

I dont know why Brugal does not get higher ratings in general. Believe me most people drunk rum with a bit of cola, and this one tastes especially good in that combo. And don't start with the "if you mix with cola any cheap rum will do" it's just not true!

Posted about 2 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

A friend who was born in the DR brought me back a bottle of this 4 or 5 years ago. I must say it exceeded my expectations. Granted it was DR bottling strength at 37.5%. But I must say I really enjoyed this rum. While yes it may lack some complexity it is a solid rum if you love sherry cask finishes.

Posted 4 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

Probably my favorite mixer. What you get for what you pay is excellent. I buy this by the case

Posted 6 months ago by CSG from United States with 23 ratings

This one starts out a bit heavy on the alcohol, including in the nose. But the finish is rich with balanced syrup, sweetness, oak, a touch of vanilla, and a perfect low intensity burn. Not super duper complex, and you have to down it to get to the good part, but it’s very sippable.

Posted 8 months ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

Hier in der Dom Rep. Probiert.
Kostet dort ca 15$ komischerweise kostet der anejo genauso viel.
Dafür ist dieser um einiges besser.
Für den Preis sehr mild im anbgang ohne größere andere Aromen.
Mit Cola eher unspektakulär. -> besser Limette und Eis oder Sprite.
Für den Preis aber echt in Ordnung. Kann durchaus Pur genossen werden.

Posted 9 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Denna gör rom och cola mycket smakrik, mycket bättre än Brugals anejo den ör fortfarande väldigt billig men bara som bland rom annars blir du besviken.

Posted 10 months ago by Stéphane from Canada with 8 ratings

Bon rhum a boire sec ou sur glace serai sacrilège de mélangé à du coke

Posted 11 months ago by Codogg81 from United States with 10 ratings

Nothing fancy. Good mixer. Actually decent on rocks. Drank tons of this in Punta Cana. It is very interesting that at 37%ABV compared to the normal mix ratio of a 40% can be increased and you get more rum body in your drink. The bottle also goes faster. lol. Enjoy

Posted 12 months ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

Another great Brugal product.
I have the Extra Viejo and 1888, all excellent

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

No nose (lol) and very sharp on the tongue when sipped. Ok with coke but will not be a keeper in my bar, no real depth, very flat.

Posted at La Posada Boqueteña about 1 year ago by RandolpthAscaris from Panama with 1 rating

Nice caramel color, smell like with touch of tobacco, oak and vanilla
Good aftertaste. Aged in a combination of ex-bourbon American white oak and European PX-seasoned casks, this is a spicy and rich rum.
Brugal XV is a blend of three to eight year old rums. It was launched in 2013 and replaces the Brugal Extra Viejo. It's made with a combination of rum aged in ex-bourbon casks, and rum aged in ex-Pedro Ximenez sherry casks. The casks are the same which The Macallan uses, showcasing some synergy within The Edrington Group, after its 2008 acquisition of Brugal.

Posted over 1 year ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Not bad, and while I prefer to sip my rhums, if I need some to mix, I choose this one, as it is not on par with other on the same price range. Not complex, not particularly pleasing.

Pas mal, et même si je préfère déguster mes rhums nature, si j'ai besoin d'un rhum pour un cocktail, je choisis celui-ci, car il n'est pas à la hauteur d'autres dans la même gamme de prix. Pas complexe, pas particulièrement agréable.

new packaging of the Brugal Extra Viejo

Posted over 1 year ago by Van Cauwenbergh from Belgium with 12 ratings

It is a sweet rum were you can tast honey. There is also a tast and smell of wood. Its decent but nothing fancy.

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Middenmoot, een 6,5 zou beter zijn maar het is geen heel indrukwekkende rum. Wellicht goed voor in de mix.

Posted over 1 year ago by Robhendriks from Belgium with 11 ratings

Good price foto a 15year rum... Not an exceptional good taste, but really not a bad one.

Posted over 1 year ago by Trelony from Russian Federation with 32 ratings

Among the others dominican rums Brugal is good. This XV is pretty dry and mild. It have sherry cask notes that makes it more interesting to drink neat. The good price for 25$ can made it one of my on-duty rum!

Posted over 1 year ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

Un rhum rond et avec de grande note de carame, pour les amateurs de melasse

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

A fairly bland and unremarkable rum. I would not say that it was a bad rum, but then again compared to most 15 year old rums, I'd probably use that very word. It's kind of off-dry...just a hint of sweetness, but there is very little flavour compared to the best sipping rums.