Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 1671 rum

Rate Captain Morgan 1671

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


72 Captain Morgan 1671 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin Paquette from United States with 3 ratings

It is quite smooth, better than I would expect from a Captain Morgan product, while still maintaining the signature spicy finish of Captain. Definitely on to experiment with more.

Posted almost 5 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

Mixes great with coke and it's great to bring to a party. Doesn't have quite the bite that regular captain has.

Posted about 5 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

The main thing on this Rum is perception..
Regular Captain Morgan Rums are taking down this type of high standard ones.

Another important fact is probably misconception on purpose of this Rum..
This Rum is a really good fit to mix it with cola. Also doing surprisingly great drinking alone unlike other Captain Morgan Rums.

Color is nice caramel color.
Aroma is vanilla yes it is sweet but not super sweet and if you consider it is blended with caramel it is as sweet as it needs to be...
Taste is more like aroma you'll get what you smell... Caramel and Vanilla and some other fruits (i couldn't differentiate either it was cherry or blackberry) Which is good

Overall it is a high quality effort and surprisingly amazing price. Hope they'll continue to sell it because i feel like i find my everyday rum&coke rum..

Posted over 3 years ago by Laura from United States with 1 rating

I haven't been able to find this rum in my hometown of Longview, TX for over a year. I was told that it wasn't being produced anymore. Well, to my pleasant surprise, I'm spending the night in Ft. Worth and the liquor store across the street from my hotel has it! Woot woot! I am so excited. The guy there told me he had just ordered it a month ago and had no problem getting it. I had also found it in Austin last year so Idk why I can't find it near me.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bernard from United States with 5 ratings

This is my favorite rum. It has a hint of chocolate in the after taste and is very smooth. My friends and I drink it neat (sometimes I like to squeeze a little lime into it). Its getting hard to find around here and I wish they would start offering it again.

Posted almost 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

Normally I am not a fan of Captain Morgan, even private stock is not really enjoyable. However this rum really surprised me. Smooth and mixes quite well with coke. I will definitely be getting this again.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

One of my absolute favorites. Very smooth caramel flavor. Delicious easy drinking. Inexpensive but hard to find. Unfortunately I believe its a limited edition.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I think most people who have tried this agree. It was better than expected. I was surprised how smooth it was.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

Finally this rum is available at a liquor store near. I really like the bottle, and I would classify this rum in the "flavored" category.
Very sweet, fruity with very distinct aromas, It reminds me a lot of Legendario Élixir de Cuba. A favorite.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 22 ratings

I'm going to go out on a limb here. My family tradition is to take a shot to start a football game. For my wife that's whiskey, and this bottle finally gave me a satisfying counter.

This rum is more complex than your standard mixer bottle, but isn't so fussy to stop me from getting the shot glass.

It's VERY sweet and dangerously smooth. Don't get the cola (or Dr Pepper in my case) out, or you will regret the morning. But for what I enjoy it for, it's perfect.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jack from United States with 10 ratings

Thu USC satisfaction with a fine blend of spices and very smooth! Aromatics of dried fruit and spices with a finish of vanilla and chocolate. Definitely full bodied...

Posted almost 3 years ago by Wrongrider from United States with 18 ratings

Normally I keep a bottle of original Captain around the house for a quick drink with some cola so when I grabbed this I was quite happy. It mixed very well, and was smooth on its own.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I started what would be my Summer of Rumn with 1671. This offering was well balanced, not to sweet, not to tangy. I am not sure they will produce it again, I wish I could find another bottle. As an artist I really liked the packaging, very nice looking bottle compared to the others on the shelf which surly influenced my choice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Clint from United States with 12 ratings

I was born 300 years too late. My name should be on this bottle. I love the dark caramel and I taste chocolate notes.

Posted over 4 years ago by Todd from United States with 1 rating

This 1671 is one of the best made. I wish I could find it near me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 40 to 45 gpl. I was pleasantly surprised by this rum and admit that I bought it for the bottle plus this rum was on clear out pricing as it's been discontinued by the LCBO in Ontario. The 1671 has more spice and flavour than the Captain's Private Stock, plus it is not as sweet. Goes down quite easily and has a nice warm afterglow. It matches up with other spiced rums in the market and in my opinion is better than the Barcardi line. I might have to get another bottle before it's gone.

Posted about 5 years ago by jgreen8883 from United States with 3 ratings

Love this rum, smooth as silk, great vanilla finish on the rocks, can't be beat as a sipper.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Actually not a bad rum. Ok to sip but more of a mixer with coke. Smooth taste straight and was good with coke.

Vanilla taste, no throat burn, and pretty long after taste.

Was selling out quickly in eastern Pennsylvania so I had local State Store transfer 2 bottles in for me. $19.99 a bottle here in PA

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

Nice bronze color. Slightly sharp with a cherry/sherry finish on it that really grows on you. Not as sweet and caramely as Zaya, but definitely an interesting finish.

Posted over 5 years ago by John crow from United States with 5 ratings

Amazing to mix with coke And another one of my favorite mixing rums

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris from United States with 21 ratings

This rum has a great flavor with nice legs and beautiful aroma. Strong hints of vanilla and spice. One of my favorite sipping rums

Posted 3 months ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Glad I tried it. Probably wouldn’t drink it again.

Posted 7 months ago by cmpopp1 from United States with 12 ratings

I’m not a real “regular” Captain Morgan fan, but will occasionally have a Captain and Coke when I’m out. I went to my local package store to buy my regular go-to rum because we were hosting a bunch of friends for a party but they were sold out. There was a single dusty bottle of this left at a very inexpensive $20 price tag so I gave it a try. What a pleasant surprise. I drank half the bottle in rum & cokes, but spent the rest of the weekend drinking the rest on the rocks. So smooth & tasty. I’d never do that with regular Captain Morgan. Buy with confidence (but save me a bottle lol).

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 98 ratings

I am not a Captain Morgan hater though I prefer Sailor Jerry's at the bar. Not the Captain Morgan most know, it has a much smoother taste and nose though not a sipper, There is a dominant taste that is different than most spiced rums, pleasant but better in coke than citrus. Will keep it in my bar for that unique taste but believe Bacardi Black Oak is more rounded overall.




#